Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Linux Servers

Support::Linux Servers Support forum for Linux EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2020, 08:37 AM
unhing3d
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 7
Thumbs up Blank server list, Not Connecting Etc. How to fix!

I've had issues myself with EQEmu and getting my client to connect to my private loginserver.

I even forgot how to do it again after I had to reinstall my server from fresh so as much as anything this is just incase I forget again and don't have to bug people in discord for help!

Firewall
Here is what your firewall should look like (it works for me anyway, if anyone has any suggestions of what not to include please let us know!):


eqemu_config.json

Things edited are highlighted in red, please note, I also removed the loginserver2 entry as I am only running one loginserver:

Code:
{
   "server" : {
      "chatserver" : {
         "host" : "",
         "port" : "7778"
      },
      "database" : {
         "db" : "db name here",
         "host" : "localhost",
         "password" : "db passwd here",
         "port" : "3306",
         "username" : "db username here"
      },
      "mailserver" : {
         "host" : "",
         "port" : "7778"
      },
      "qsdatabase" : {
         "db" : "db name here",
         "host" : "localhost",
         "password" : "db passwd here",
         "port" : "3306",
         "username" : "db username here"
      },
      "webinterface" : {
         "port" : "9081"
      },
      "world" : {
     "address" : "Your servers external IP here",<-----added this, can't remember why now but it didn't seem to work without it.
         "http" : {
            "enabled" : "false",
            "mimefile" : "mime.types",
            "port" : "9080"
         },
         "key" : "your random key here",
         "loginserver" : { <------Removed the 1 after loginserver as just using a single one.
            "account" : "",
            "host" : "server external ip here",
            "legacy" : "0",
            "password" : "",
            "port" : "5998"
         },
         "longname" : "server longname here",
         "shortname" : "server shortname here",
         "tcp" : {
            "ip" : "server external ip here",
            "port" : "9001"
         },
         "telnet" : {
            "enabled" : "true",
            "ip" : "0.0.0.0",
            "port" : "9000"
         }
      },
      "zones" : {
         "defaultstatus" : "0",
         "ports" : {
            "high" : "7400",
            "low" : "7000"
         }
      }
   }
}
Hopefully that will help anyone stuck with their own private login server. If you still need help post up and see if we can sort it out!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-08-2020, 09:59 PM
RedVapor
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
Default

I have the identical problem.

My post is here.
http://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=42993

I tried a duplicate of your eqemu_config.json and still a blank list.

What distro of Linux are you using? You sure there was nothing else you had to change?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-09-2020, 01:56 AM
natronkeltner
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: OK
Posts: 1
Default

It may be this line:

Code:
     "address" : "Your servers external IP here",<-----added this, can't remember why now but it didn't seem to work without it.
The documentation says this is:

Quote:
Not required, but binds the server to this address, default is to listen on all addresses
When that is set, it will try to only listen on that IP Address, which may or may not work the way you want. Remove that line and it'll bind to all addresses and may fix your problem.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-09-2020, 11:36 AM
RedVapor
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
Default

FYI this ended up being a bug in the code!

Worth noting, if you run "ps -ef | grep ./loginserver" there should only be one process and one log file! I submitted this to the devs so it should be fixed but if anyone is on the older code and battling this open your ~/server/server_launcher.pl and change a value on line 174.

Code:
#  Change this two...
for ($i = $loginserver_process_count; $i < 2; $i++) {

# To one...
for ($i = $loginserver_process_count; $i < 1; $i++) {
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
blank, linux, loginserver, server

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:30 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3