Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Database/World Building

Development::Database/World Building World Building forum, dedicated to the EQEmu MySQL Database. Post partial/complete databases for spawns, items, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-06-2016, 02:05 AM
superemu
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 79
Default Auto generate grid points

I notice that there are a lot of animal spawns in Qeynos Hills that are not assigned to grids. I want to make them wander. Now, I know how to build grids and assign mobs to them, but I am wondering if there is a way to auto create grids with large numbers of randomly placed points. Doing this manually is pretty tedious.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-06-2016, 02:50 AM
DanCanDo's Avatar
DanCanDo
Discordant
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Above Hell
Posts: 400
Default

If I am not mistaken, not too long ago, someone posted a "random roam" script to put
on npc's and set the distance they roam. It's on the forums here somewhere.
__________________
Project Insect Completed
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-06-2016, 03:08 AM
Shin Noir's Avatar
Shin Noir
Legendary Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by superemu View Post
I notice that there are a lot of animal spawns in Qeynos Hills that are not assigned to grids. I want to make them wander. Now, I know how to build grids and assign mobs to them, but I am wondering if there is a way to auto create grids with large numbers of randomly placed points. Doing this manually is pretty tedious.
RandomRoam.
https://github.com/EQEmu/Quests-Plug.../path_tools.pl

https://github.com/EQEmu/Quests-Plug...k_o_lantern.pl
Code:
sub EVENT_SPAWN {
my $min = 1;
my $range = 4;
my $randomspawn = int(rand($range)) + $min;
	plugin::RandomRoam(250, 250);
	quest::settimer(1,$randomspawn);
}
	
sub EVENT_TIMER {
	plugin::RandomRoam(250, 250);
}

For more granular control, would need to create an array with boundaries and other clever tactics, I don't think there's a builtin feature for that.
__________________

~Shin Noir
DungeonEQ.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-06-2016, 01:47 PM
Robregen
Developer
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 108
Default

you can also add roambox in the database for max xy and min xy. distance, and pause timer as an alternative to scripting.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-06-2016, 05:34 PM
superemu
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robregen View Post
you can also add roambox in the database for max xy and min xy. distance, and pause timer as an alternative to scripting.
I just found a thread about that option. I'll play around with it. I assume that the mobs will still walk through tress and stuff. Thank for all the suggestions, all.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:24 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3