Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Server Code Submissions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2011, 05:59 AM
Zothen
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 163
Smile COMMITTED: UCS crash fix

Okay, I think it makes sense to post my fix here, since my UCS isnt crashing anymore.

Quote:
I think I found the bug in UCS that is causing a crash.

Debugging showed up a halt in DBCore::Open() after a call of mysql_real_connect() using an uninitialized mysql struct.

The struct gets uninitialized whenever theres a connection error of some sort, because mysql.close() makes it invalid. Without another call to mysql.init() all following sql connects/commands will fail, resulting in a crash.

So we just need to enter a single line of code... :

(May need some more testing, but mine is running stable now for 20 hours.)

Code:
bool DBcore::Open(int32* errnum, char* errbuf) {
	if (errbuf)
		errbuf[0] = 0;
	LockMutex lock(&MDatabase);
	if (GetStatus() == Connected)
		return true;
	if (GetStatus() == Error)
	{
		mysql_close(&mysql);          // <- Makes struct 'mysql' invalid!
		mysql_init(&mysql);        //   <- Initialize structure again
	}
	if (!pHost)
		return false;
	/*
	Quagmire - added CLIENT_FOUND_ROWS flag to the connect
	otherwise DB update calls would say 0 rows affected when the value already equalled
	what the function was tring to set it to, therefore the function would think it failed 
	*/
	int32 flags = CLIENT_FOUND_ROWS;
	if (pCompress)
		flags |= CLIENT_COMPRESS;
	if (pSSL)
		flags |= CLIENT_SSL;
	// crashed here, because 'mysql' wasnt valid after an error followed by mysql.close() 
	if (mysql_real_connect(&mysql, pHost, pUser, pPassword, pDatabase, pPort, 0, flags)) { 
		pStatus = Connected;
		return true;
	}
	else {
		if (errnum)
			*errnum = mysql_errno(&mysql);
		if (errbuf)
			snprintf(errbuf, MYSQL_ERRMSG_SIZE, "#%i: %s", mysql_errno(&mysql), mysql_error(&mysql));
		pStatus = Error;
		return false;
	}
}
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-03-2011, 06:23 AM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

Sounds good to me. I will give it a shot and commit it when I have a few minutes. Thanks for the submission!
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2011, 06:30 AM
Zothen
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 163
Default

Sure thing, happy to contribute to this project.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-03-2011, 11:42 AM
sorvani
Dragon
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 966
Default

My UCS has been running for 24+ hours now after this change. (Windows server)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-03-2011, 03:23 PM
Secrets's Avatar
Secrets
Demi-God
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: b
Posts: 1,450
Default

Shouldn't you just return false, then initialize the mysql connection after that if it is false? That makes more sense to me.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-04-2011, 02:19 AM
Zothen
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 163
Default

I guess youre right regarding the return false. With my quick and dirty fix you may not get any database error messages again (some may think thats a good thing though LOL).
But on the other hand that way its possible that the UCS will just quit clean after it encounters a database error. I am not sure about that.

I would leave init where it is, since its the only place where the mysql struct gets closed (except in the destructor), so theres no reason to call it elsewhere.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-04-2011, 08:55 AM
joligario's Avatar
joligario
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,490
Default

I think what he may be saying is that instead of closing mysql, return false instead? Then the connection wouldn't need to be re-initialized.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-04-2011, 11:54 AM
sorvani
Dragon
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 966
Default

came down to my office and looked at the PC running my test server and noticed that UCS crashed over night. :(
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-04-2011, 02:40 PM
Zothen
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 163
Default

Were any players on during that time?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-04-2011, 03:29 PM
sorvani
Dragon
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 966
Default

Not when i came down no. It is mainly just used by me to test things.
I had toons in and out yesterday most of the day and it was running.
Went to bed early and when i came down to my office this morning UCS was crashed.

UCS only crashes on a new log in that I've noticed, but then the times that I've seen it actually crash were when I logged in a toon after being offline for hours and no one else had logged in during the interim.

I restarted the UCS right when I seen it crashed this morning and I have had a couple toons in and out of my server this afternoon and it hasn't crashed again yet.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-04-2011, 03:52 PM
Zothen
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 163
Default

My UCS is running in visual studio debug mode all of the time. Got a database error actually today, but no crash.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-05-2011, 02:34 AM
Zothen
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 163
Thumbs up

I analyzed the UCS code a bit further and I am now 99.99% sure that my fix is the way it is supposed to be.

When the function dbcore::RunQuery() results in a connection/database error, it is calling itself again for exactly 1 retry, but on that 2nd call it checks for the status. If pStatus = error then dbcore::Open() is called.

Open() calls mysql_close() on any error status and is supposed to reconnect in the same call, but will definitetely fail without mysql_init(). So placing a FALSE after the "close" or "init" would prevent Open() to reconnect.

All that is missing now is a confirmation message, that the recovery of the encountered error was successful.

Code:
bool DBcore::RunQuery(const char* query, int32 querylen, char* errbuf, MYSQL_RES** result, int32* affected_rows, int32* last_insert_id, int32* errnum, bool retry) {
	_CP(DBcore_RunQuery);
	if (errnum)
		*errnum = 0;
	if (errbuf)
		errbuf[0] = 0;
	bool ret = false;
	LockMutex lock(&MDatabase);
	if (pStatus != Connected)
		Open();
#if DEBUG_MYSQL_QUERIES >= 1
	char tmp[120];
	strn0cpy(tmp, query, sizeof(tmp));
	cout << "QUERY: " << tmp << endl;
#endif
	if (mysql_real_query(&mysql, query, querylen)) {
		if (mysql_errno(&mysql) == CR_SERVER_GONE_ERROR)
			pStatus = Error;
		if (mysql_errno(&mysql) == CR_SERVER_LOST || mysql_errno(&mysql) == CR_SERVER_GONE_ERROR) {
			if (retry) {
				cout << "Database Error: Lost connection, attempting to recover...." << endl;
				ret = RunQuery(query, querylen, errbuf, result, affected_rows, last_insert_id, errnum, false);
				if ( !ret )
					cout << "Reconnection to database successful." << endl;
			}
			else {

...
...
...
Unfortunetely, that doesn't explain the latest crash of yours, sorvani. This may be an other error I have not encountered yet.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-05-2011, 09:50 AM
sorvani
Dragon
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 966
Default

Looked at my server this morning and the chat service was still running. Looked at the character_ table and it look like only a single random toon signed on after the last time I was on.
I started my client and connected. As soon I clicked enter world the UCS crashed. With the standard WIndows XP please report dialog box.
In the command window:
Code:
Database Error: Lost connection, attempting to recover....
Code:
Character	TimeLastOn
TestBeasti	1304535868 <- working
GMSorvani	1304535876 <- working
XXXXXX		1304540215 <- working
TestBeasti	1304602955 <- crashed at enter world
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-05-2011, 09:54 AM
Zothen
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 163
Default

Aye, thats the error I encountered last time, but for me it doesnt crash, it actually recovers now.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-05-2011, 10:12 AM
sorvani
Dragon
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 966
Default

Looked at my build again and found an error on my side. When I added the mysql_init I had a syntax error. Rebuilt and restarted.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:27 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3