Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Development

Development::Development Forum for development topics and for those interested in EQEMu development. (Not a support forum)

Old 01-17-2008, 10:34 PM
AndMetal
Developer

Default Crazy idea for spells...

It seems like there have been several posts recently about spells, and trying to make easy ways to modify them, and it got me thinking... Why aren't the spells in the DB yet? Config files && hard coded variables == bad, database == good

I'm no programming expert, but it looks like somewhere the spells_us.txt file is parsed into an array (spells[]) using Separator, I think (from common/seperator.h). In theory, it should be relatively easy to change how it is loaded from a file to loading it from the database. I'd take a stab at this, but I'm having some trouble finding where in the source the spells file is actually loaded.

Does anyone know where that can actually be found?

My Contributions to the Wiki
Old 01-18-2008, 05:15 AM
ChaosSlayer
Demi-God

I am not a developer, but...
it may something to do with the fact that spell_us is loaded from BOTH sides, client and server. And since client cannot be altered, my best guess that spells format will have to stay the way they areat least on the client end.

Thought a fetaure where spels could be stored/edited in server db, and then dumped into txt file and given to players would be nice
Old 01-18-2008, 08:05 AM
AndMetal
Developer

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosSlayer View Post
Thought a fetaure where spels could be stored/edited in server db, and then dumped into txt file and given to players would be nice
That's exactly the end result I'm looking for