Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::General Support

Support::General Support Post all topics here having to do with errors while trying to connect to an EQEMu server but not about the setup/running of the Server itself.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2016, 12:19 PM
jaspen
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 107
Default PEQ Editor error assistance.

I realize this is probably more proper to post on the PEQ forums but I feel comfortable with the community here. If you feel it is out of place, let me know.

I am trying to set up PEQ editor on my server. I downloaded from https://github.com/ProjectEQ/peqphpeditor using git bash. I followed the instructions in the readme, which were the same as the website's, and get the following error.

Fatal error: Call to undefined function mysql_connect() in C:\xampp\htdocs\peqedit\classes\mysql.php on line 6

This is what I have for my index.php setting that has to do with mysql logging in. It is the same information in my eqemu_config.xml

Code:
// Database Information:
$dbhost = '127.0.0.1'; (I have tried the actual IP and even localhost here.)
$dbuser = 'root';
$dbpass = 'mypassword';  ( I have omitted the actual password.)
$db = 'peq';
$mysql_class = 'mysql'; // Use mysql or mysqli
Here is an exert from the mysql.ini it is referencing.

Code:
class mysql {

  function mysql($username, $password, $database, $host) {
    mysql_connect("$host", "$username", "$password") (This is actually line 6)
      or die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());
    mysql_select_db("$database")
      or die('Could not select database');
  }
Feel free to point out my newbish mistake.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2016, 12:37 PM
NatedogEZ's Avatar
NatedogEZ
Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 515
Default

Go into Xampp and open the php.ini




Search for... "php_mysql.dll"

and make sure it doesnt have a ; in the front.

If that was the problem .. save the file and restart Apache.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-19-2016, 01:07 PM
jaspen
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 107
Default

That was it. It actually had two ;. Seems there was extra hate for that one!

Interestingly enough after logging in I presume it wants me to upgrade. It says don't panic, Project Everquest Online Editing Interface, PEQ Official Revision and has a link to 30 March 2016. That link resolves to https://github.com/ProjectEQ/peqphpeditor. That link is the same as you will see in the example below from where I downloaded the files originally. In the upper right it says Version 1.0 in the banner

I used the following command to pull, what I thought to be, the new files. Perhaps, I made a mistake here.

Code:
git clone git://github.com/ProjectEQ/peqphpeditor .
EDIT: Made a correction.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2016, 01:30 PM
NatedogEZ's Avatar
NatedogEZ
Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 515
Default

The github version is the most up to date peq editor so if you have that you should be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-19-2016, 01:40 PM
jaspen
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 107
Default

This is the screen I get after logging in. Perhaps I am missing where to go or what to click to get to the editor itself.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-19-2016, 02:55 PM
wirepuller134
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 17
Default

go through the steps on the read me that was downloaded with the editor. That looks to me like you missed step 2.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-19-2016, 03:17 PM
jaspen
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 107
Default

I did read and follow part two. I searched again in the ini file and found that there are two sections that mention the short_open_tag = On. Below, the first part is where I added it. The second part is further down where there was another version that I missed that was already there. I am sure there is a good reason why there are two sections for the same thing. This is what threw me off. Thanks for the help everyone.

Code:
; short_open_tag
;   Default Value: On
;   Development Value: Off
;   Production Value: Off
short_open_tag = On


; used regardless of this directive.
; Default Value: On
; Development Value: Off
; Production Value: Off
; http://php.net/short-open-tag
short_open_tag=Off
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-19-2016, 05:18 PM
NatedogEZ's Avatar
NatedogEZ
Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 515
Default

Glad you got it working it is a great tool for server devs.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-19-2016, 07:42 PM
jaspen
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 107
Default

I have been fooling around in the different sections and a couple of spots I have found an error in the page. Most everything appears to be fine. Below are two examples. One is creating a new item. You will see two errors along with the corresponding line code to the right. The other is when I go to tradeskills. You will see a large error at the top of the page and one near the bottom. I also have the corresponding line code for that as well. I know the images are large but I wanted to try and show everything for you.

If this is part of the recommended suppressing NOTICE and WARNING messages under error_reporting, let me know. I looked around and couldn't find a clear example of what to type to do that.







Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-19-2016, 09:10 PM
NatedogEZ's Avatar
NatedogEZ
Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 515
Default

Go back inside the php.ini and search for "display_errors" and make sure it is set to Off

Then restart apache and you shouldn't see those warnings anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-19-2016, 10:47 PM
jaspen
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 107
Default

Thanks. So those errors are not anything to worry about then? I didn't want to risk corrupting my database.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-06-2019, 10:46 AM
Xanathol
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 52
Default

Hate to ressurect an old thread but the error I am getting with the latest pull is the same as the start of this thread:

Code:
Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Call to undefined function mysql_connect() in 
C:\xampp\htdocs\peqeditor\classes\mysql.php:6 Stack trace: #0 C:\xampp\htdocs
\peqeditor\classes\mysql.php(74): mysql->mysql(NULL, NULL, NULL, NULL) #1 C:\
xampp\htdocs\peqeditor\index.php(5): require_once('C:\\xampp\\htdocs...') #2 
{main} thrown in C:\xampp\htdocs\peqeditor\classes\mysql.php on line 6
Thing is, I do not have a "php_mysql.dll" anywhere in my php.ini.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-06-2019, 01:02 PM
joligario's Avatar
joligario
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,490
Default

The latest pull should default to mysqli. Check your editor config to make sure.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-06-2019, 04:36 PM
Xanathol
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 52
Default

Thanks - turns out I only though I was on the latest. I wasn't and once I was, it did not have that set but setting it resolved that issue.

Edit: ran into undefined errors after that but had missed a supression so that's gone now too. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:47 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3