Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2017, 08:05 PM
Xenuite
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Default Configuring My First Server

I'm having some trouble following the guide for configuring the eqemu_config.xml file.

Here's what I have:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<server>
	<world>
		<shortname>Castaway</shortname>
		<longname>Project Castaway</longname>

		<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to.  (read: You don't) -->
		<!-- <address>some.server.com</address> -->
		<!-- <localaddress>192.168.0.5</localaddress> -->

		<!-- Loginserver information.  Defaults shown -->
		<loginserver>
			<host>login.eqemulator.net</host>
			<port>5998</port>
			<account></account>
			<password></password>
		</loginserver>

		<!-- Server status.  Default is unlocked -->
		<locked/>
		<!--<unlocked/>-->

		<!-- Sets the ip/port for the tcp connections.  Both zones and console (if enabled).  Defaults are shown -->
		<tcp ip="127.0.0.1" port="9000" telnet="disable"/>

		<!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
		<key>rugmywlvrdc67wsp18pt</key>

		<!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service.  Defaults are shown -->
		<http port="9080" enabled="true" mimefile="mime.types" />
	</world>

	<!-- Chatserver (channels) information.  Defaults shown -->
	<chatserver>
		<host>channels.eqemulator.net</host>
		<port>7778</port>
	</chatserver>

	<!-- Mailserver (in-game mail) information.  Defaults shown -->
	<mailserver>
		<host>channels.eqemulator.net</host>
		<port>7778</port>
	</mailserver>

	<zones>
		<defaultstatus>20</defaultstatus>

		<!-- Sets port range for world to use to auto configure zones -->
		<ports low="7000" high="7100"/>
	</zones>

	<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini.  Defaults shown -->
	<database>
		<host>127.0.0.1</host>
		<port>3306</port>
		<username>eq</username>
		<password>eq</password>
		<db>xampp\mysql\data\peq</db>
	</database>

	<qsdatabase>
		<host>127.0.0.1</host>
		<port>3306</port>
		<username>eq</username>
		<password>eq</password>
		<db>eq</db>
	</qsdatabase>

	<!-- Launcher Configuration -->
	<launcher>
		<logprefix>zone-</logprefix>
		<logsuffix>.log</logsuffix>
		<exe>zone.exe</exe>
		<timers restart="10000" reterminate="10000">
	</launcher>

	<!-- File locations.  Defaults shown -->
	<files>
		<!-- <spells>spells_us.txt</spells> -->
		<!-- <opcodes>opcodes.conf</opcodes> -->
		<!-- <logsettings>log.ini</logsettings> -->
		<!-- <eqtime>eqtime.cfg</eqtime> -->
		<!-- <plugin.pl>plugin.pl</plugin.pl> -->
	</files>
	<!-- Directory locations.  Defaults shown -->
	<directories>
		<!-- <maps>Maps/</maps> -->
		<!-- <quests>quests/</quests> -->
		<!-- <plugins>plugins/</plugins> -->
		<!-- <lua_modules>lua_modules/</lua_modules> -->
		<!-- <patches>./</patches> -->
		<!-- <shared_memory>shared/</shared_memory> -->
		<!-- <logs>logs/</logs> -->
	</directories>
</server>
I think my problem lies with the <database> section. I created my databases as directed in the Windows server setup guide, but I'm not sure how to direct the config file to that location. Also, what username and password should I be using? I recall creating a password when I created the database, but not a username. Is there a default?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2017, 08:18 PM
Toony's Avatar
Toony
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 85
Default

default user should be "root" without quotes
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2017, 12:05 AM
Xenuite
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Default

What about the database location? Do I need a drive letter? Do I need to move the database into the EQEmuServer folder?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2017, 02:04 AM
jia_jacky's Avatar
jia_jacky
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenuite View Post
What about the database location? Do I need a drive letter? Do I need to move the database into the EQEmuServer folder?
Not need a drive letter. And this line in your configure file would be incorrect.
<db>xampp\mysql\data\peq</db>
You should fill the database's name here, not a path. Why don't you install your eqemu using eqemu_server.pl with "New Server" option if you are not sure about many things.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:44 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3