Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::General > Archive::General Discussion

Archive::General Discussion Archive area for General Discussion's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-03-2004, 08:02 AM
tkd1991a
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 65
Default Newbie Question?

Is it typical in all the servers for mobs to not move and to respawn as soon as killed. No aggro range etc? just curious played on a non legit server and that was how the mobs where in all the planes and most zones.

I'm very new to this all and didn't know if some servers had roaming mobs or if I started a server only for me if that was the default or not.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-03-2004, 08:19 AM
wize_one
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: LasShithole, NV
Posts: 520
Default

try playing on shawn319's server, the database is currently being worked on and should have better movement of mobs and less instant repawns.

it is always work in progress..
__________________
Perfect quote from another site: it's immature pricks who refuse to read the numerous stickies in every forum pointing out what to do and what not to do that get flamed. Grow up and learn to do your fucking homework before opening your cake hole, junior. EQEmu doesn't like you anymore, and that's why you're getting errors. So go away.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2004, 08:22 AM
Monrezz's Avatar
Monrezz
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: #loc
Posts: 745
Default

To fix instant respawns go into mysql and type in:
UPDATE spawn2 SET respawntime=1000 WHERE respawntime=0;

To fix aggro (for mobs that have faction set) go into mysql and type in:
UPDATE npc_types SET aggroradius=50 WHERE (level <= 50);
UPDATE npc_types SET aggroradius=55 WHERE level=51;
UPDATE npc_types SET aggroradius=55 WHERE level=52;
UPDATE npc_types SET aggroradius=55 WHERE level=53;
UPDATE npc_types SET aggroradius=55 WHERE level=54;
UPDATE npc_types SET aggroradius=65 WHERE level=55;
UPDATE npc_types SET aggroradius=65 WHERE level=56;
UPDATE npc_types SET aggroradius=65 WHERE level=57;
UPDATE npc_types SET aggroradius=65 WHERE level=58;
UPDATE npc_types SET aggroradius=65 WHERE level=59;
UPDATE npc_types SET aggroradius=70 WHERE level=60;
UPDATE npc_types SET aggroradius=75 WHERE level=61;
UPDATE npc_types SET aggroradius=80 WHERE level=62;
UPDATE npc_types SET aggroradius=85 WHERE level=63;
UPDATE npc_types SET aggroradius=90 WHERE level=64;
UPDATE npc_types SET aggroradius=100 WHERE level=65;


I posted an sql file that contains a few database updates you can source in to fix a few issues:
http://www.eqemulator.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=12711

As for movement, the MW Alpha database has a lot of movement in, but most of the outside zones are pretty bare.

Monrezz
__________________

kRPG Profile
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2004, 09:10 AM
samandhi's Avatar
samandhi
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,056
Default

Quote:
To fix instant respawns go into mysql and type in:
UPDATE spawn2 SET respawntime=1000 WHERE respawntime=0;
You are right but when you go into MySQL you will first have to tell it what DB to use by:
Code:
USE eq;
Then you can type in that update. BTW thanks for some of those fixes, saved me a lot of time messing with them (not like I know TOO much about SQL anyhow hehe)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2004, 02:55 PM
farce
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 126
Default

not if you run mysql like this:

mysql -u eq -p eq eq


where the last eq is your chosen database.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-03-2004, 07:20 PM
Monrezz's Avatar
Monrezz
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: #loc
Posts: 745
Default Self-Explanatory

Quote:
You are right but when you go into MySQL you will first have to tell it what DB to use by:
Code:
USE eq;
I figured that part was self-explanatory :P
__________________

kRPG Profile
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2004, 07:43 PM
samandhi's Avatar
samandhi
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,056
Default

Quote:
I figured that part was self-explanatory
Yes it is if you have run it many times, but YOU know as well as I do that when someone lables their subject NEWBIE anywhere in the title, better assume they dont know so it will save the ole' fingers from typing another post to answer the post that says "Why cant I type in this command..... UPDATE spawn2 SET respawntime=1000 WHERE respawntime=0;.... my database wont let me... <smile>

Quote:
mysql -u eq -p eq eq
And you are right too, but I got tired of typing in all that ... I just made two batch files on desktop that will log me in as root and connect me to one of my two db's screw it... hehe
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-04-2004, 10:33 AM
Scorpion360
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 139
Default

Monrezz......

Why do you have 21 butts?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-04-2004, 11:01 AM
Monrezz's Avatar
Monrezz
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: #loc
Posts: 745
Default

Because I'm an arsehole :P









Just my avatar, nout special.
__________________

kRPG Profile
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-04-2004, 11:59 AM
Scorpion360
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 139
Default

haha you tricked me with it :P
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:49 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3