Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Server Code Submissions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2013, 12:04 AM
demonstar55
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,165
Default Language Skill Ups

Clients were not being updated when they got a skill up, this fixes it (no idea why it was the other way, this at least matches live now and works right)

Code:
Index: EQEmuServer/zone/client.cpp
===================================================================
--- EQEmuServer/zone/client.cpp	(revision 2493)
+++ EQEmuServer/zone/client.cpp	(working copy)
@@ -2348,7 +2348,7 @@
 		Chance = (Chance * RuleI(Character, SkillUpModifier)/100);
 
 		if(MakeRandomFloat(0,100) < Chance) {	// if they make the roll
-			SetLanguageSkill(langid, LangSkill+1);	// increase the language skill by 1
+			IncreaseLanguageSkill(langid);	// increase the language skill by 1
 			_log(SKILLS__GAIN, "Language %d at value %d successfully gain with %.4f%%chance", langid, LangSkill, Chance);
 		} 
 		else
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2013, 11:49 AM
joligario's Avatar
joligario
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,490
Default

Since SetLanguageSkill() doesn't update client, perhaps we should add it to that function.

EDIT: Interesting... looking at it, the two functions differ for the language skill - 25 vs. 26
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2013, 05:32 PM
joligario's Avatar
joligario
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,490
Default

Update: This is going in soon with some other fixes as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2013, 05:22 PM
demonstar55
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,165
Default

Also, while you're changing some stuff around here, on live you can totally master a language with just a merc in the group, so you should be able to skill yourself up, something we can't do on here.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-11-2013, 06:23 PM
sorvani
Dragon
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 966
Default

interesting, wonder if live always let you skill yourself up in a group and it was not noticed until mercs came out. Since prior to that if one person was spamming, usually someone else was too.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-2013, 06:47 PM
demonstar55
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,165
Default

When I was playing live me and my friends would just each spam one language each (so different languages) and still get skill ups.

EDIT: I should clarify, I would also get skill ups with the language I was spamming
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-11-2013, 07:38 PM
joligario's Avatar
joligario
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,490
Default

I remember leapfrogging, but never self-improving. That's an interesting thought.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-11-2013, 10:06 PM
gibroni
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: glendale
Posts: 193
Default

I dont belive you could self improve your language. me and wife would group up and skill each other up by spamming each other. i would learn language she spammed, and she would skill up language i spammed. never could you skill yourself up. unless that is something they changed in the last couple years.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:43 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3