Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Quests > Quests::Q&A

Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2013, 02:52 PM
provocating's Avatar
provocating
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,175
Default LUA vs PERL

Since LUA is now functional, I have a few questions. Are all of the original functions for PERL active in LUA now? If I am creating a custom quest would there be a compelling reason to use LUA vs PERL? Is LUA faster, or is it just aesthetical? I know people complain about PERL readability.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-12-2013, 03:11 PM
Vexyl
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 197
Default

It's Lua and Perl; all caps aren't necessary.

http://www.lua.org/about.html under "What's in a name?"
and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Perl under "Name".

It might be petty to point this out, but it's simply annoying to see.

As to the title of the thread, I prefer Perl for some tasks and Lua others.
In my opinion, Perl is better for general administrative tasks and Lua for embedded scripting languages.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-12-2013, 03:13 PM
provocating's Avatar
provocating
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,175
Default

Sorry for the caps. I have seen people upper case them, and sometimes lower case.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-13-2013, 12:45 AM
KLS
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,348
Default

Lua is faster and has some advantages for more advanced users: such as direct manipulation of spawns and inventories (and soon packets) that aren't easy to do with Perl and encounter quest types which aren't supported at all in Perl. Also as of this moment you can only interact with the npc special ability system just added using legacy API functions on Perl; the new ones are only exported to Lua.

For most quests you can basically use whatever you would like though as they'll both do the job.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-04-2013, 02:28 AM
rencro
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: So. California
Posts: 219
Default

For me the functions being different from perl slowed me down a bit, for example this quest in perl:

Code:
sub EVENT_WAYPOINT_ARRIVE {
	if ($wp==1) {
		quest::say("Im at the waypoint on perl.");
		quest::creategroundobject(30619, 809.6, -795.86, -4.23, 0, 30000);
		}
}
When converted to lua I had to use the underscores, which I didnt figure out until looking in the source, so a slight learning curve for me..
Correct Lua Version:
Code:
function event_waypoint_arrive(e)
	if(e.wp == 1) then
		e.self:Say("Im at the waypoint on lua.");
		eq.create_ground_object(30619, 809.6, -795.86, -4.23, 0, 30000);
	end
end
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-04-2013, 11:46 AM
sorvani
Dragon
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 966
Default

Since the wikia is hosed, we have all the new Lua stuff on the built in github wiki.

https://github.com/EQEmu/Server/wiki/Lua-API
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-04-2013, 06:05 PM
wolfwalkereci
Discordant
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 435
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sorvani View Post
Since the wikia is hosed, we have all the new Lua stuff on the built in github wiki.

https://github.com/EQEmu/Server/wiki/Lua-API
Explain that statement please.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-04-2013, 07:22 PM
NatedogEZ's Avatar
NatedogEZ
Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sorvani View Post
Since the wikia is hosed, we have all the new Lua stuff on the built in github wiki.

https://github.com/EQEmu/Server/wiki/Lua-API


Can the SpecialAbility stuff be used in perl? (guessing no)
Don't have time to test it right now.


Code:
Integer GetSpecialAbility(Integer ability);
Integer GetSpecialAbilityParam(Integer ability, Integer param);
Void SetSpecialAbility(Integer ability, Integer level);
Void SetSpecialAbilityParam(Integer ability, Integer param, Integer value);
Void ClearSpecialAbilities();
Void ProcessSpecialAbilities(String str);
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-04-2013, 07:28 PM
Robregen
Developer
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 108
Default

as noted in changelog:

Quote:
The old API functions that worked with letters still exist for backwards compatibility reasons but wont be updated further.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-04-2013, 07:55 PM
sorvani
Dragon
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 966
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfwalkereci View Post
Explain that statement please.
go try and log in to the wikia.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-04-2013, 08:07 PM
KLS
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,348
Default

I didn't add the functions for the new special attack stuff to Perl so it's limited to the old API atm. Someone could if they want I just didn't take the time to do it.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-04-2013, 08:31 PM
wolfwalkereci
Discordant
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 435
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sorvani View Post
go try and log in to the wikia.
I'm logged into the wiki at this link. http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=HomePage

I've even been making small changes here and there.
If you can not log in for some reason then yes I agree there is a serious issue there but I would gladly take the time to input everything to the wiki.

Thanks for responding sorvani, is it safe to assume its borked for new accounts?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-04-2013, 11:15 PM
sorvani
Dragon
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 966
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfwalkereci View Post
I'm logged into the wiki at this link. http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=HomePage

I've even been making small changes here and there.
If you can not log in for some reason then yes I agree there is a serious issue there but I would gladly take the time to input everything to the wiki.

Thanks for responding sorvani, is it safe to assume its borked for new accounts?
New accounts are borked yes. Additionally, when I attempt to log in, I a presented with a blank white screen. Not a login dialog. This is the result of clicking on your link, then on login.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-05-2013, 02:19 AM
wolfwalkereci
Discordant
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 435
Default

I noticed that as well. Is this not something that can be addressed by the admin staff?
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:49 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3