Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Development > Archive::Quests

Archive::Quests Archive area for Quests's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-02-2003, 01:58 PM
Bigpull
Discordant
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 305
Default New quest format

It doesn't sem to like me =(

If i hail the npc ones i get
Code:
Parser::Event(1, 119963, 'Hail, Iala Lenard', mob=1, client=1)
Parser::LoadScript(119963, 'qeynos') LoadAttempted(): 1
The second time i get
[code]
About to parse: if($1==Hail&&$2==Iala)say(Hail there $name, how may I assist you
?)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-02-2003, 06:10 PM
just_add_water
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: //say $network
Posts: 138
Default

.. well it would help if you posted the quests, cause it looks like your missing a bunch of stuff.

(best shot)
Code:
EVENT_SAY {
if($1 == "Hail") { say("Hail there $user, how may I assist you?") }
}
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2003, 03:35 AM
ElNounch
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 7
Default

Try to compare to "Hail," not just "Hail" (the comma does count here), and I found commas in Say() are to avoid as of now.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2003, 08:34 AM
killspree
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 776
Default

Nm I see what you mean. I have problems with commas in say as well.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-04-2003, 03:14 AM
Bigpull
Discordant
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 305
Default

Ok everyone is missing the point i think.

I shouldn't have to hail the npc twice for it to attempt to parse the script/quest. There shouldn't be an Umlauted Y tacked onto the end, it's not in the file, so it must be reading more than is there.

I also know $1 is "Hail," when you (H) someone, it's also not at all relevent When i'm manualy typeing "Hail Iala". Does it matter what the client said when the NPC isn't parseing the script right, didn't think so.

What ya should have said was Gee i dunno Big they work just fine here.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-04-2003, 05:35 AM
Edgar1898
Senior Member
Former EQEmu Developer
Current EQ2Emu Lead Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,065
Default

the y is just a special character that Wes used in his code.
__________________
Lethal Encounter
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-04-2003, 06:25 AM
a_Guest03
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,693
Default

You said hail npc ones, not once. The wording was misleading.
__________________
It's never too late to be something great.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-04-2003, 10:42 AM
Bigpull
Discordant
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 305
Default

Linux output Parser_DEBUG 10
[code]
Parser::LoadScript(121108, 'qeynos2') Loaded: quests/all/121108.qst
New Event: EVENT_SAY - Index: 0
New Command: if($2-=~$npc)shout(Hail $user got any thing for a noobie?)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-04-2003, 10:51 AM
just_add_water
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: //say $network
Posts: 138
Default

Try
Code:
EVENT_SAY { 
if($1- =~ "Hail") { say("yo") } 
}
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-04-2003, 11:15 AM
Bigpull
Discordant
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 305
Default

Quit looking at me like that!
Ok i got my script fixed now he shouts in both windows and linux, in windows he even shouts what he's supposed to, but linux he shouts '' =(
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-04-2003, 11:19 AM
killspree
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 776
Default

What's the reason for the npc returning NULL instead of the username or zonename when using those commands? Anyone know?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-04-2003, 03:45 PM
Bigpull
Discordant
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 305
Default

Well because there is no $npc or $user, it's all god 'cept the linux issues hope to hammer thoe out tomarrow.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-04-2003, 08:48 PM
TheOne
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 47
Default I found it

the NPC will return NULL if you type in $user because for some reason the variable $user doesn't exist , if you search in parser.cpp you can see that $name = client->GetName(). try $name instead of $user

Quote:
if (client) AddVar("userid", itoa(client->GetID(),temp,10));
if (client) AddVar("ulevel", itoa(client->GetLevel(),temp,10));
if (client) AddVar("name", client->GetName());
if (client) AddVar("race", GetRaceName(client->GetRace()));
if (client) AddVar("class", GetEQClassName(client->GetClass()));
if (client) AddVar("mobid", itoa(mob->GetNPCTypeID(),temp,10));
if (client) AddVar("mlevel", itoa(mob->GetLevel(),temp,10));
if (client) gClient = client;
if (client) fac = client->GetFactionLevel(client->GetID(), mob->GetID(), client->GetRace(), client->GetClass(), DEITY_AGNOSTIC, mob->CastToNPC()->GetFactionID(), mob);
if (fac) AddVar("faction", itoa(fac,temp,10));
if (zone) AddVar("zonesn",zone->GetShortName());
if (zone) AddVar("zoneln",zone->GetLongName());
__________________
Good, bad ... I'm the guy with the gun.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:21 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3