Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-2017, 06:47 AM
The_Beast
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Under a rock
Posts: 221
Default BOT Distance Crashing Zones

With current source, myself and couple other players tested this all out. Whenever a player is grouped with one
or more bots and the player runs too far ahead, the zone crashes. It never seems to happen, otherwise.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2017, 10:40 PM
Bremmen
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 7
Default

I haven't been able to trace it back to a root cause but I can confirm from what I've tested that there is a correlation between the distance from a bot and the server crashing. I have been able to crash the server at will by increasing my run speed. This is with the RoF2 client. I haven't tried it with an earlier client yet. I'm using source cloned from the GIT repository on 9/4/2017. git describe --long returns v1.0.1-5830-g240f04e.

Sorry... I don't post all that often but have been playing with EQEMU for years and am a huge fan of this effort. Since I was trolling looking for a possible solution to this I thought I would post that I'm seeing a similar issue.

Cheers,

Bremmen
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2017, 11:15 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,243
Default

I haven't been keeping up with code changes..so, I'm not sure what the repo is up to.

If you can post crash logs associated with this particular crash, it would make it easier for someone to trace down the issue.

(Current source would be preferable..but, older may work if it's in a segment that hasn't changed in a while.)

Also, any info you can provide on the make-up of the group/bots.
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-10-2017, 02:00 AM
The_Beast
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Under a rock
Posts: 221
Default

There was a fix for this recently. Just update your source code.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2017, 12:24 PM
Bremmen
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 7
Default

Awesome... thank you! Hey Ferb, I know what were going to do today.

Bremmen
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:01 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3