Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Bug Reports

Development::Bug Reports Post detailed bug reports and what you would like to see next in the emu here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2009, 03:16 PM
Zeice
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 92
Default More issues with scribespells

I have a quest turn in for lvl 66 spells, lvl 67 spells, etc.

Just those levels, here is the script.

Code:
sub EVENT_ITEM {

#level 66 spells - trakanon
if (plugin::check_handin(\%itemcount, 1267 => 1)) {
quest::scribespells(66,66);
$client->Message(7, "Zelus says, 'This is most interesting, and most ancient. Well I can show you how to read this and you will be on your way in no time!'");
}

#level 67 - gukb
if (plugin::check_handin(\%itemcount, 1270 => 1)) {
quest::scribespells(67,67);
$client->Message(7, "Zelus says, 'This is most interesting, and most ancient. Well I can show you how to read this and you will be on your way in no time!'");
}

#level 68 - mire
if (plugin::check_handin(\%itemcount, 1267 => 1)) {
quest::scribespells(68,68);
$client->Message(7, "Zelus says, 'This is most interesting, and most ancient. Well I can show you how to read this and you will be on your way in no time!'");
}

else {
 	    plugin::return_items(\%itemcount);
	}
}
Players are reporting that when they do the turn in for the lvl 66 spells, it's deleting many older spells. In the case of a cleric it's scribing their 66 spells but deleting Complete Healing..which is a big hurt lol. I don't have anything set up for traindiscs yet so I'm not sure if it's having the same issues still. Anyway would anybody be able to look into this please?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-12-2009, 03:32 PM
Shendare
Dragon
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: California
Posts: 814
Default

It appears that the scribespells command starts enscribing spells at slot 0 in the character's spellbook.

As a temporary workaround, you could instruct players to move their spells out of the first couple of pages of their spellbook before using the spell scribing NPC to keep from losing them.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-12-2009, 05:55 PM
steve
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 305
Default

Yeah spellscribe (even on Live during Beta) overwrites everything in the spellbook, starting at page 1.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-13-2009, 02:34 PM
Randymarsh9
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 658
Default

is there anyway we can change it to instead just place it after the last spell in the spell book?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-13-2009, 06:52 PM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

That would be the best way to do it, but that would require a change to the source code. What we would need it to do is:

1. Check each spell being scribed to see if it is already in the player's spell book before doing anything. If it is already in the spell book, it does not rescribe it. This would stop it from repositioning spells if people have re-organized their spell book.

2. For each spell that gets scribed, it would search the Player Profile for any free slots and scribe each spell in the first available slot.

If we could get it to work like that, it should be perfect. Though, I think it might be tricky to have it look through the Player Profile like that. I really don't know how to make it do that correctly, or I would attempt to fix this issue myself.
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-16-2009, 12:34 AM
Randymarsh9
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 658
Default

anyone looking into this yet?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-22-2009, 01:35 PM
AndMetal
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 648
Default

I think I may be able to work on & implement a fix today, along with some other commits I've been working on.
__________________
GM-Impossible of 'A work in progress'
A non-legit PEQ DB server
How to create your own non-legit server

My Contributions to the Wiki
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-26-2009, 05:16 AM
AndMetal
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 648
Default

I just added the fix in Rev 830.
__________________
GM-Impossible of 'A work in progress'
A non-legit PEQ DB server
How to create your own non-legit server

My Contributions to the Wiki
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-09-2009, 01:13 PM
Randymarsh9
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 658
Default

I finally got around to testing it out and I have to say you did a great job fixing it. I couldn't find any problems.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:15 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3