Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Bug Reports

Development::Bug Reports Post detailed bug reports and what you would like to see next in the emu here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2006, 10:47 AM
eq4me
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 166
Default tradeskill.cpp and stat modifiers

Sorry for being brief but its rather late and I am a bit tired %-)

I just started to have a close look at the tradeskill system and doing some enhancements and changes based on the info from eqtraders.com.

I noticed that calculating the chance modifiers for skillup and success are way off.

m_pp.INT and m_pp.WIS gives you the base score not the modified stat score with equipment and spells!

GetWIS() and GetINT() would be more correct.

Otherwise I noticed that the stat values shown in the Inventory window and reported by eg. GetWIS() are not allways the same. I hadn't time to test it throughoutly but it only seems to happen when the stat value goes over 300. I'll get back to this tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2006, 12:34 PM
CrabClaw's Avatar
CrabClaw
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Plane of Knowledge
Posts: 191
Default

Good job, I worked all my characters on my private server skills to 250-300+ (yes the hard way, tons of combines, an all the tradeskills except pottery). I do notice skill ups get very scarce and my buffed stats seem to have little effect on success. So there may be something here and it's not just me.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2006, 02:40 PM
fathernitwit
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 773
Default

Good catch, the change has been made.

Yea, there are issues with the emu when abilities get too high, very few of the formulas have been updated since 60 was the level cap with the gear at the time... so really high stats/skills/modifiers tend to be a bit off.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-09-2006, 12:16 PM
John Adams
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,552
Default

Indeed. I've found a handful of skills that cap out well below 252 that literally vomit all over the log files when they still attempt to be raised - sense heading, for one - maxes at 200, but using #setskillall 252, it starts barking that some of my skills are too high. If I understood the code better, I could come up with a way that if a skill increase encounters a skill > than it's possible max, it'll correct and save out the skill data and stop trying.

However, I am scared of Emu source. If I go in there and learn something, my life is over.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-10-2006, 01:45 AM
eq4me
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 166
Default

Yes, I saw this too.

A sanity check build into #setskill and #setskillall would do the trick.

Something like:
Code:
if (new_skill_value > GetMaxPossibleRank(skillid) {
                     Message(13, "ERROR: Value %d to high for %d ! Setting it to %d", new_skill_value , GetSkillName(tradeskill) ,  GetMaxPossibleRank(skillid);
                     new_skill_value = GetMaxPossibleRank(skillid);
                    }
The variables are only for example, I didnt look in the code.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:35 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3