Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Feature Requests

Development::Feature Requests Post suggestions/feature requests here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-26-2008, 04:45 AM
Richardo
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mattmecks Basement
Posts: 546
Default Send/Receive

Would it be simple to request more/send more packets of player positions to and from the server in order to make players move around more smoothly?

When a player enters a zone and you're looking at him, they pretty much warp all over the place whenever they're moving. If they strafe, they don't move left and right but simple disappear slightly to the left and right. Perhaps it could be introduced as a variable in the database (send/request) limits?

Sorry I don't know how to properly explain this in 'l33t c0d3 sp3@k'.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2008, 02:18 AM
EvoZak
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Midwest
Posts: 72
Default

Yeah, it's not just the PCs, it's pretty much everything that paths. Very odd and annoying. If I come across a setting I'll post it up.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2008, 03:20 AM
paaco
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 320
Default

Forgive me if I'm wrong. I suck at C++ but this looks like the piece of code you are looking for.
Client_process.cpp
Line 475

Code:
SendPosUpdate(2);

                        // Send a position packet every 8 seconds - if not done, other clients
                        // see this char disappear after 10-12 seconds of inactivity
                        if (position_timer_counter >= 36) { // Approx. 4 ticks per second
                                entity_list.SendPositionUpdates(this, pLastUpdateWZ, 500, target, true);
                        /* if (position_timer_counter >= 3) { // Send every 750ms?
                                //Image (2k5): The trick of stopping MQ map without screwing up client updates, shorter distances, faster updates, however if its an admin we can send further updates
                                if(Admin() > 80)
                                        entity_list.SendPositionUpdates(this, pLastUpdateWZ, 450, 0, true);
                                else
                                        entity_list.SendPositionUpdates(this, pLastUpdateWZ, 150, 0, true);
                                }
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2008, 06:24 AM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

It is pretty easy to adjust how often the updates are sent, but I would be very careful if you are trying to tune it at all. Position updates make up a large percentage of the total traffic being uploaded to clients from the server, so it can use up your bandwidth extremely fast. There is a rule for adjusting the zone wide updates, but you definitely don't want those coming in too fast as it would lag out the server quickly. Currently, anyone within a certain distance of you should get very frequent updates if they are close. If they are within a range of 50 from you, you get quite a few updates every second already.
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2008, 10:32 AM
Richardo
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mattmecks Basement
Posts: 546
Default

Well, bandwidth really isn't an issue on my part. Neither is hardware. I am aware of the impact of performance it can cause. I'd love to have smooth running characters rather that jagged warpy player movement you see so frequently.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-28-2008, 10:44 AM
paaco
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 320
Default

What I am wondering is just how low you can you go without a noticeable performance hit? How long ago was this piece of code written? When the project first started servers were much slower than they are now. What we are currently running on is dual Opteron 250's and a 100mbit connection with 3TB's of monthly bandwidth. Unless we get a huge playerbase I can't see us using 3TB in a month even if we half the update ratio. I guess what I am asking is, on current available hardware, or something close to my servers stats. Will halving the update ratio have a noticeable impact on the server with say...100 players online.

Server stats Exactly are:
Dual Opteron 250's
Windows 2003 Server Enterprise Edition
4 Gigs of Ram
10k RPM SCSI HD
100 Mbit Connection. ( Speed Tests I have run are roughly about 40000 kbit Down and 50k-60k kbit up on average )
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-28-2008, 11:52 PM
EvoZak
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Midwest
Posts: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trevius View Post
Currently, anyone within a certain distance of you should get very frequent updates if they are close. If they are within a range of 50 from you, you get quite a few updates every second already.
I find that interesting. If an NPC walks right by me it is still jumpy as all hell. Not saying you're wrong, just that it still seems "not enough".
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-29-2008, 12:16 AM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

Maybe I am not understanding what you are saying. I see no jumpiness or lag on my server at all. Your server may be having another issue. Have you tried playing on other servers? Also, could you describe the jumpiness? It sounds like you might have a z-axis issue or something from what you guys are describing.

As for the code to do position updates, yes it is old, but it is also much bulkier than it should be. If anything, position updates need to be tuned down (less often) in some situations. I have looked into optimizing position updates, but I haven't had time lately to really work on it at all. It would probably take someone above my code level to really optimize them properly.

I know that one of the revision of code releases included something that basically broke spawn updates, so if you guys are running that revision, you need to update your revision to stop it from happening. I don't recall exactly what release it was, but it was a little before revision 150.
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-29-2008, 12:21 AM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

If update manager is being used on your server, you should be able to edit this code:

updatemgr.cpp
Code:
//squared distances for each level
//these values are pulled out of my ass, should be tuned some day
const float UpdateManager::level_distances2[UPDATE_LEVELS]
	= { 50*50, 250*250, 500*500, 800*800 };
	
//delay between sending packets in each level, in ms
//its best if they are all multiples of UPDATE_RESOLUTION
//these values are pulled out of my ass, should be tuned some day
const int32 UpdateManager::level_timers[UPDATE_LEVELS+1]
	= { UPDATE_RESOLUTION,		//.3s
		2*UPDATE_RESOLUTION, 	//.6s
		3*UPDATE_RESOLUTION,	//.9s
		9*UPDATE_RESOLUTION,	//~2s
		34*UPDATE_RESOLUTION	//~10s
	  };
Try something like this for highly increased updates:

Code:
//squared distances for each level
//these values are pulled out of my ass, should be tuned some day
const float UpdateManager::level_distances2[UPDATE_LEVELS]
	= { 250*250, 450*450, 800*800, 1200*1200 };
	
//delay between sending packets in each level, in ms
//its best if they are all multiples of UPDATE_RESOLUTION
//these values are pulled out of my ass, should be tuned some day
const int32 UpdateManager::level_timers[UPDATE_LEVELS+1]
	= { UPDATE_RESOLUTION,		//.3s
		2*UPDATE_RESOLUTION, 	//.6s
		3*UPDATE_RESOLUTION,	//.9s
		4*UPDATE_RESOLUTION,	//~2s
		12*UPDATE_RESOLUTION	//~10s
	  };
I really don't know why you would possibly need more than 3 position updates per second. I have to guess that your issue is related to something completely different than position updates, unless you are running that bad revision version. If you try this, don't complain when your server performance sucks :P
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!

Last edited by trevius; 12-29-2008 at 08:23 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-29-2008, 12:59 AM
MNWatchdog
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 179
Default

You would probably get much better performance running on a Linux system too.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:09 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3