Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2016, 10:43 PM
Maelith
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 26
Default Connecting to server issues

I am currently trying to find how to make this not a lan server, I see all of the guides have only one login not a second one like Akka's repack which I am currently using. I am just not sure where to put the IP address of my server host.

I do have my server running off of 1 of 4 servers, and it is also on a NLB? I think that is what it is called, it is where two network cards share a virtual drive. He also have the servers in the DMZ and not behind the firewall.

If anyone can help me that would be greatly appreciated, also it is now staying locked consistently after I changed the IP's
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2016, 12:34 AM
cannon
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 128
Default

IP address usually goes in the eqemu_config file. Here is mine it might help, I run the server from a second box on my network with ports forwarded.
Code:
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<server>
	<world>
		<shortname>TEST</shortname>
		<longname>A Testing Server {Bots/Merc/All Drop}</longname>

		<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to.  (read: You don't) -->
		<!-- <address>173.90.81.xxx</address> -->
		<!-- <localaddress>192.168.0.xx</localaddress> -->

		<!-- Loginserver information.  Defaults shown -->
		<loginserver>
			<host>login.eqemulator.net</host>
			<port>5998</port>
			<account>cannon</account>
			<password>xxxxxx</password>
		</loginserver>

		<!-- Server status.  Default is unlocked -->
		<!--<locked/>-->
		<!-- <unlocked/> -->

		<!-- Sets the ip/port for the tcp connections.  Both zones and console (if enabled).  Defaults are shown -->
		<tcp ip="192.168.0.xx" port="9000" telnet="disable"/>

		<!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
		<key>aealkfj23xxxxx</key>

		<!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service.  Defaults are shown -->
		<http port="9080" enabled="false" mimefile="mime.types" />
	</world>

	<!-- Chatserver (channels) information.  Defaults shown -->
	<chatserver>
		<host>192.168.0.xx</host>
		<port>7778</port>
	</chatserver>

	<!-- Mailserver (in-game mail) information.  Defaults shown -->
	<mailserver>
		<host>192.168.0.xx</host>
		<port>7778</port>
	</mailserver>

	<zones>
		<defaultstatus>0</defaultstatus>

		<!-- Sets port range for world to use to auto configure zones -->
		<ports low="7000" high="7100"/>
	</zones>

	<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini.  Defaults shown -->
	<database>
		<host>127.0.0.1</host>
		<port>3306</port>
		<username>root</username>
		<password>xxxxxxx</password>
		<db>peq</db>
	</database>

	<qsdatabase>
		<host>127.0.0.1</host>
		<port>3306</port>
		<username>root</username>
		<password>xxxxxxx</password>
		<db>peq</db>
	</qsdatabase>

	<!-- Launcher Configuration -->
	<launcher>
		<!-- <logprefix>logs/zone-</logprefix> -->
		<!-- <logsuffix>.log</logsuffix> -->
		<!-- <exe>zone.exe or ./zone</exe> -->
		<!-- <timers restart="10000" reterminate="10000"> -->
	</launcher>

	<!-- File locations.  Defaults shown -->
	<files>
		<!-- <spells>spells_us.txt</spells> -->
		<!-- <opcodes>opcodes.conf</opcodes> -->
		<!-- <logsettings>log.ini</logsettings> -->
		<!-- <eqtime>eqtime.cfg</eqtime> -->
	</files>
	<!-- Directory locations.  Defaults shown -->
	<directories>
		<!-- <maps>Maps</maps> -->
		<!-- <quests>quests</quests> -->
		<!-- <plugins>plugins</plugins> -->
	</directories>
</server>
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2016, 12:36 AM
Maelith
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 26
Default

Awesome thanks man, but there are two login servers to go with so this is the example.

<!-- Loginserver information. DO NOT EDIT -->
<loginserver1>
<host>login.eqemulator.net</host>
<port>5998</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver1>

<loginserver2>
<host>120.0.0.1</host>
<port>5998</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver2>
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2016, 12:38 AM
cannon
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 128
Default

I think that example you show is for allowing both lan and public. i haven't messed with that yet. If you just want public server i would remove the second one.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-18-2016, 12:41 AM
Maelith
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 26
Default

I will give that a try! but also it is staying locked as well even with unlocked.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-18-2016, 12:45 AM
cannon
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 128
Default

is the server showing up in the eqemulator login?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-18-2016, 12:47 AM
Maelith
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 26
Default

It does, but it is locked even when put as unlocked.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-18-2016, 12:51 AM
cannon
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 128
Default

any experience i had with the server being locked is the the zones were not booted up or unreachable. provided you have all of your ports forwarded correctly and your zone window is up and no firewall blockage, i would start there first. can you post your eqemu config file xx out the passwords and stuff. i can look at it. also make sure the internal ip address for the server machine is correct
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-18-2016, 01:05 AM
Maelith
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 26
Default

Well they're not behind the firewall they're right before it, the ports are also forwarded.

<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
<world>
<!-- Set the shortname to ONE word. The longname is what shows up on server list -->
<shortname></shortname>
<longname></longname>

<!-- DO NOT EDIT ANY LINES BETWEEN HERE AND THE DATABASE SECTION -->
<!-- <address>104.205.XXX.XXX</address> -->
<!-- <localaddress>192.168.1.XX</localaddress> -->

<!-- Loginserver information. DO NOT EDIT -->
<loginserver1>
<host>login.eqemulator.net</host>
<port>5998</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver1>

<loginserver2>
<host>127.0.0.1</host>
<port>5998</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver2>


<!-- Server status. Default is unlocked DO NOT EDIT RIGHT NOW -->
<!--<locked/>-->
<!-- <unlocked/> -->
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-18-2016, 01:07 AM
cannon
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 128
Default

you are missing a lot of the data that is needed. try to copy my config file and replace the ip addresses with yours. you have no reference to zones, or your database.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-18-2016, 01:09 AM
Maelith
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 26
Default

<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
<world>
<!-- Set the shortname to ONE word. The longname is what shows up on server list -->
<shortname></shortname>
<longname></longname>

<!-- DO NOT EDIT ANY LINES BETWEEN HERE AND THE DATABASE SECTION -->
<!-- <address>104.205.xxx.xxx</address> -->
<!-- <localaddress>192.168.1.xx</localaddress> -->

<!-- Loginserver information. DO NOT EDIT -->
<loginserver1>
<host>login.eqemulator.net</host>
<port>5998</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver1>

<loginserver2>
<host>127.0.0.1</host>
<port>5998</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver2>


<!-- Server status. Default is unlocked DO NOT EDIT RIGHT NOW -->
<!--<locked/>-->
<!-- <unlocked/> -->

<!-- Sets the ip/port for the tcp connections. DO NOT EDIT -->
<!-- <tcp ip="127.0.0.1" port="9000" telnet="disable"/> -->
<tcp ip="127.0.0.1" port="9000" telnet="enable"/>

<!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
<key>somelongrandomstring12345asdfffff</key>

<!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service. Defaults are shown -->
<!-- <http port="9080" enabled="false" mimefile="mime.types" /> -->
<http port="9080" enabled="true" mimefile="mime.types" />
</world>

<!-- Chatserver (channels) information. DO NOT EDIT -->
<chatserver>
<!-- <host>192.168.1.x</host> -->
<!-- <port>7778</port> -->
<host></host>
<port>7500</port>
</chatserver>

<!-- Mailserver (in-game mail) information. DO NOT EDIT -->
<mailserver>
<!-- <host>192.168.1.x</host> -->
<!-- <port>7778</port> -->
<host></host>
<port>7500</port>
</mailserver>

<zones>
<!-- The defaultstatus is what status the new toons will have on your server -->
<defaultstatus>0</defaultstatus>

<!-- Sets port range for world to use to auto configure zones DO NOT EDIT RIGHT NOW-->
<!-- <ports low="7000" high="7100"/> -->
<ports low="7000" high="7400"/>
</zones>

<!-- Set username to root and password is your MySQL password and db to peq -->
<database>
<!-- <host>127.0.0.1</host> -->
<!-- <port>3306</port> -->
<!-- <username>root</username> -->
<!-- <password>xxxxx</password> -->
<!-- <db>peq</db> -->
<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>root</username>
<password>eqemu</password>
<db>peq</db>
</database>

<qsdatabase>
<!-- <host>127.0.0.1</host> -->
<!-- <port>3306</port> -->
<!-- <username>root</username> -->
<!-- <password>xxxxx</password> -->
<!-- <db>peq</db> -->
<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>root</username>
<password>eqemu</password>
<db>peq</db>
</qsdatabase>

<webinterface>
<port>9081</port>
</webinterface>

<!-- Launcher Configuration DO NOT EDIT-->
<launcher>
<!-- <logprefix>logs/zone-</logprefix> -->
<!-- <logsuffix>.log</logsuffix> -->
<!-- <exe>zone.exe</exe> -->
<!-- <timers restart="10000" reterminate="10000"> -->
</launcher>

<!-- File locations. DO NOT EDIT -->
<files>
<!-- <spells>spells_us.txt</spells> -->
<!-- <opcodes>opcodes.conf</opcodes> -->
<!-- <logsettings>log.ini</logsettings> -->
<!-- <eqtime>eqtime.cfg</eqtime> -->
</files>
<!-- Directory locations. DO NOT EDIT -->
<directories>
<!-- <maps>Maps</maps> -->
<!-- <quests>quests</quests> -->
<!-- <plugins>plugins</plugins> -->
</directories>
</server>

Thats the entire file
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-18-2016, 01:14 AM
cannon
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 128
Default

you need a <shortname>server</shortname>
<longname>server name</longname>
and change this
<tcp ip="127.0.0.1" port="9000" telnet="enable"/> to <tcp ip="192.168.0.x" port="9000" telnet="enable"/>
your internal ip

also not sure if spaces in this line matter or not <!--<locked/>--> to <!-- <locked/> --> might be why server is locked
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-18-2016, 01:24 AM
Maelith
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 26
Default

The moment I changed them it totally locked it. I changed it back and boom its still locked.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-18-2016, 01:26 AM
cannon
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 128
Default

what operating system?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-18-2016, 01:27 AM
Maelith
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 26
Default

Windows Server 2012, RS standard
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:15 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3