Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > General > General::General Discussion

General::General Discussion General discussion about EverQuest(tm), EQEMu, and related topics.
Do not post support topics here.

Old 11-05-2016, 12:38 PM
Kingly_Krab
Administrator

Default Perl/Lua Development.

Hello everyone, I'm making this post as a way of seeing what people would like to see in Perl/Lua, by this I mean things like updating the zone header or world-wide marquee messages. Just miscellaneous things that would be nice for server owners to have at their disposal or things that would be highly beneficial. It's hard to know what to do without people telling me what they would like to see. If you have any questions, feel free to ask. I will do my best to monitor this thread and reply as soon as possible. Thanks!
Old 12-09-2016, 10:49 PM
rawfullemayo
Fire Beetle

Hi there. I'm pretty new to this, used a combo of Akka's self-installer and some manual work to get a currently private server and login running that seems to be doing pretty well so far, and worked on some custom scripts in both Perl and Lua. Here's what I've run into as far as what I'd like to see as a newbie. Keep in mind I might have just missed how to do some of this stuff as I'm fairly new, but I did search for all of it:

Lua:
  • Built in DB functionality, or an easy way to integrate LuaRocks or something to install other modules. I spent a while trying to get a MySQL module working, but eventually gave up in frustration and ported my global_player file to Perl
  • More documentation on how to use packets/opcodes would be fantastic!