Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Development

Development::Development Forum for development topics and for those interested in EQEMu development. (Not a support forum)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-25-2015, 11:09 AM
laxative
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 115
Default Very simple attack.cpp question (adding crit)

Hi

Been away for a LONG time. I just want to remember if I get the jist of things here...

Let's say I want to add a base crit chance to paladins(ok shd too). (I know it's humorous)

From all that I understand (which is very little) .. modify the attack.cpp and add some new rules.

modify this:
Code:
		if (((GetClass() == WARRIOR || GetClass() == BERSERKER) && GetLevel() >= 12)  || IsBerskerSPA) {
			if (IsBerserk() || IsBerskerSPA)
				critChance += RuleI(Combat, BerserkBaseCritChance);
			else
				critChance += RuleI(Combat, WarBerBaseCritChance);
to this

Code:
		if (((GetClass() == WARRIOR || GetClass() == BERSERKER || GetClass() == Paladin || GetClass() == ShadowKnight) && GetLevel() >= 12)  || IsBerskerSPA) {
			if (IsBerserk() || IsBerskerSPA)
				critChance += RuleI(Combat, BerserkBaseCritChance);
			elseif
				critChance += RuleI(Combat, PalShdBaseCritChance);
			else
				critChance += RuleI(Combat, WarBerBaseCritChance);
Add the appropriate rule to the rules table; PalShdBaseCritChance

Would this fly?

-lax
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-25-2015, 12:11 PM
laxative
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 115
Default

well the else statement is wrong, and I had to add the int to the rules and recompile.. let's see if that worked,,. aha
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2015, 12:22 PM
laxative
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 115
Default

holy crap, that actually worked (I simply replaced the warrior section with the edited paladin section)

-- edited attack.cpp
-- edited rulestype.h
-- added the three entries in the database for rule sets 1,2,10

voila level 12 paladin critical hitting. Made me happy.

I suppose i should probably make ruleset 5 and just modify one set

-lax
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-25-2015, 12:23 PM
Shendare
Dragon
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: California
Posts: 814
Default

Yeah, you left out the condition for the 'elseif', and in C++ it needs a space. The class constants are also all uppercase, per C standards.

You'd want that line to read:

Quote:
else if (GetClass() == PALADIN || GetClass() == SHADOWKNIGHT)
And you'd want to fully capitalize them in the first 'if' statement as well.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-25-2015, 12:26 PM
Shendare
Dragon
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: California
Posts: 814
Default

... Did it work without the changes I suggested?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-25-2015, 01:44 PM
laxative
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 115
Default

Shendare,

Wow, I thought this forum was all but dead., thanks for such a quick response. !

I quickly get lost with all the elseing and elseif'ing so I tidied it up a bit. I missed a parantheses my first time and noticed my new level limitation wasn't working (going to give paladins and sk's crit at 15 and not 12)

so edited attack.cpp to read this:
Code:
	if (IsClient()) {
		critChance  += RuleI(Combat, ClientBaseCritChance);

		if (spellbonuses.BerserkSPA || itembonuses.BerserkSPA || aabonuses.BerserkSPA)
				IsBerskerSPA = true;

		if (((GetClass() == WARRIOR || GetClass() == BERSERKER) && GetLevel() >= 12)  || IsBerskerSPA) {
			if (IsBerserk() || IsBerskerSPA)
				critChance += RuleI(Combat, BerserkBaseCritChance);
			else
				critChance += RuleI(Combat, WarBerBaseCritChance);
		}
		if (((GetClass() == PALADIN || GetClass() == SHADOWKNIGHT) && GetLevel() >= 15))
			critChance += RuleI(Combat, PalShdBaseCritChance);
I'm thinking I don't understand this segment properly:: the note in this section states that there is the innate chance to score a crit.

How would that be possible since:
clientbasecritchance and meleebasecritchance in my rules are zero.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-25-2015, 01:54 PM
Shendare
Dragon
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: California
Posts: 814
Default

Looks like it's saying that IF you define crit chance percentages for MeleeBaseCritChance or ClientBaseCritChance, melees (or everyone) will have an innate chance to crit at level 1, with melees getting the sum of the two rule values as their innate crit chance.

A little farther down, Rangers get a chance to crit archery at level 65, and Rogues get a chance to crit throwing at level 65.

Then any aa's, item bonuses, or crit chance buffs come into play to result in the final chance to critical hit.

The way you've coded it up there now looks like it should work fine!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-25-2015, 02:05 PM
laxative
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 115
Default

Thank you,

So.. do entries of Zero "0" (not a null entry) an actual zero count as being defined? I would say yes..?

That's what's striking me, my crit chance should be less than a 1.0% according to the documentation, based on loose parsing I'm around 20% 1 in 5 roughly..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-25-2015, 02:12 PM
Shendare
Dragon
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: California
Posts: 814
Default

No. If you don't define a rule at all, it falls back to the default hard-coded in the server code, which is likely zeroes as well.

So, you're seeing a 20% crit rate on a Paladin with these settings?

* MeleeBaseCritChance = 0
* ClientBaseCritChance = 0
* BerserkBaseCritChance = 6 (the default, active when you're berzerk)
* WarBerBaseCritChance = 3 (the default)
* PalShdBaseCritChance = 1 (your new rule)

* No equipped items granting +crit chance
* No active buffs granting +crit chance
* No AA's granting crit chance
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-25-2015, 02:21 PM
laxative
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 115
Default

Oh my, you are quick on the draw.

MeleeBaseCritChance=0
ClientBaseCritChance=0
BeserkBaseCritChance=7 (i added one)
WarBerBaseCritChance=5 (added one)
PalShdBaseCritChance=4 (want them only a step behind warriors)

Too Generous? but I deleveled the paladin all the way to level 1 up through 16 crit rate is similar.. no exact parses.

I'd probably prefer no crits at all till a certain level, then you get class base chance + dex
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-25-2015, 02:33 PM
Shendare
Dragon
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: California
Posts: 814
Default

That certainly doesn't seem to mesh with what you're going for, or what you've coded. It looks like a Paladin shouldn't crit at all until level 15, and then they'd have:

* A 4% base chance from the new rule
* +1% for each 125 points of DEX up to 255 (Max 2%)
* +1% for each 500 points of DEX after 255

20% doesn't make sense with those numbers. 10% doesn't even make sense.

You mind copy/pasting your full TryCriticalHit() function into a Code block?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-25-2015, 02:51 PM
laxative
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 115
Default

Definitely and Thank you as I'm with you, my percent should be around .6% at best (assuming innate crits based on dex)



But I want nothing till 15.. here is the block from attack.cpp

Code:
	//2: Try Melee Critical

	//Base critical rate for all classes is dervived from DEX stat, this rate is then augmented
	//by item,spell and AA bonuses allowing you a chance to critical hit. If the following rules
	//are defined you will have an innate chance to hit at Level 1 regardless of bonuses.
	//Warning: Do not define these rules if you want live like critical hits.
	critChance += RuleI(Combat, MeleeBaseCritChance);

	if (IsClient()) {
		critChance  += RuleI(Combat, ClientBaseCritChance);

		if (spellbonuses.BerserkSPA || itembonuses.BerserkSPA || aabonuses.BerserkSPA)
				IsBerskerSPA = true;

		if (((GetClass() == WARRIOR || GetClass() == BERSERKER) && GetLevel() >= 12)  || IsBerskerSPA) {
			if (IsBerserk() || IsBerskerSPA)
				critChance += RuleI(Combat, BerserkBaseCritChance);
			else
				critChance += RuleI(Combat, WarBerBaseCritChance);
		}
		if (((GetClass() == PALADIN || GetClass() == SHADOWKNIGHT) && GetLevel() >= 15))
			critChance += RuleI(Combat, PalShdBaseCritChance);
	}

	int deadlyChance = 0;
	int deadlyMod = 0;
	if(skill == SkillArchery && GetClass() == RANGER && GetSkill(SkillArchery) >= 65)
		critChance += 6;

	if (skill == SkillThrowing && GetClass() == ROGUE && GetSkill(SkillThrowing) >= 65) {
		critChance += RuleI(Combat, RogueCritThrowingChance);
		deadlyChance = RuleI(Combat, RogueDeadlyStrikeChance);
		deadlyMod = RuleI(Combat, RogueDeadlyStrikeMod);
	}

	int CritChanceBonus = GetCriticalChanceBonus(skill);

	if (CritChanceBonus || critChance) {

		//Get Base CritChance from Dex. (200 = ~1.6%, 255 = ~2.0%, 355 = ~2.20%) Fall off rate > 255
		//http://giline.versus.jp/shiden/su.htm , http://giline.versus.jp/shiden/damage_e.htm
		if (GetDEX() <= 255)
			critChance += (float(GetDEX()) / 125.0f);
		else if (GetDEX() > 255)
			critChance += (float(GetDEX()-255)/ 500.0f) + 2.0f;
		critChance += critChance*(float)CritChanceBonus /100.0f;
	}

	if(opts) {
		critChance *= opts->crit_percent;
		critChance += opts->crit_flat;
	}
I stopped where it starts calculating crippling blows
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-25-2015, 02:57 PM
Shendare
Dragon
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: California
Posts: 814
Default

Really don't see anything wrong there.

This is you playing a Paladin, right? Not a bot or npc or merc?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-25-2015, 03:40 PM
laxative
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 115
Default

Correct, I just did a completely (I mean complete) setup, wiped the datebase, downloaded and compiled all new code.

I did not however delete my client profile files on my local client (the windows and views were all set) but I was not getting any crits until I modified this file.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-25-2015, 03:44 PM
Shendare
Dragon
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: California
Posts: 814
Default

Take a look and Verify the rule values in your database and the ruleset you're using, and make sure you've shut the server software down and started it back up, with shared_memory being the first executable loading. Verify that the ruleset you're seeing there is the same as what you're expecting from the rule_values table. Also verify the ruleset field in the zone you're fighting in.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:10 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3