Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2007, 06:12 AM
Havocide's Avatar
Havocide
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Exclamation Creating Database peq;

Having a bit of a problem getting this DB implanted in mysql. I am using mysql 5.0. When i open up the CMD window and cd\ to my D: root. I type as follows D:mysql "User" "password" and it brings up the Options list for mysql. But i don't get past this. I tried to D:create database peq and it says " create is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

I'm not sure what to do at this point. Any help with this would be greatly appriciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-2007, 08:08 AM
Havocide's Avatar
Havocide
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Default

Could really use some help with this. I have followed the Wikka setup guide http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka...=ws70845mysql5 from the start and have double checked all the versions of the programs needed and everything up to creating database looks like I'm on the right track but lack the database install . Anyone know what I might be doing wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2007, 08:16 AM
John Adams
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,552
Default

I am not so sure we should be posting short-hand in our Wiki guides, so maybe I'll change that later. The proper command is:

C:> mysql -u root -p
Password:

^ then enter your password at that prompt.

You should now be in a prompt like:

mysql>

At that prompt, you can do those commands \u peq

Or, go long hand, and enter:

Code:
mysql> create database peq;
mysql> use peq;
mysql> GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON peq.* TO eq@localhost IDENTIFIED BY 'eq' WITH GRANT OPTION;
mysql> flush privileges;
mysql> source load_empty_users.sql;
mysql> source load_system.sql;
You can also try other Wiki articles that are not specific to your SQL version, they sometimes offer missing bits or clarification of syntax.

http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka...indowsServer70
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-12-2007, 08:45 AM
Havocide's Avatar
Havocide
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Default

Not working. I cant even access the mysql>
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-12-2007, 03:06 AM
mickey3506
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 12
Default

under your start menu you should have a mysql and in it there should be a mysql commandline and you can enter that way
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-12-2007, 03:36 AM
Angelox
AX Classic Developer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: filler
Posts: 2,049
Default

did you do this?
Code:
SET PASSWORD FOR eq@localhost = OLD_PASSWORD('eq');
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-12-2007, 03:47 AM
Kayot
Discordant
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Subsection 185.D354 C.12
Posts: 346
Default

You did check add path to bin right?
__________________
If at first you don't succeed destroy all evidence that you ever tried.

God doesn't give second chances... Hell, he sets you up the first time.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-12-2007, 07:55 PM
Darkonig
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 102
Default

Quote:
did you do this?

Code:
SET PASSWORD FOR eq@localhost = OLD_PASSWORD('eq');
That is only needed if you are converting a database from 4.x not for loading up a fresh database in 5.x from a dump. Did not use this command on my install and it works great.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-12-2007, 11:27 PM
Angelox
AX Classic Developer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: filler
Posts: 2,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkonig
That is only needed if you are converting a database from 4.x not for loading up a fresh database in 5.x from a dump. Did not use this command on my install and it works great.
I don't understand what you mean? this has nothing to do with an EqEmu MySql database - this is so MySql 5x will be able to read older MySql 4x client-user method of presenting a password;
http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.1/en/old-client.html
The client being EqEmu and not a specific databse.

Last edited by Angelox; 02-13-2007 at 07:29 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-13-2007, 04:36 AM
Darkonig
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 102
Default

Sorry for the hijack, had not seen that before. Looked at the page you listed and that is for accessing a 5.1 database from a client below 4.1, not for 5.0 which is what I'm using (5.0.27) which is why I didn't need it.

But my reason for why it was needed was incorrect.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-13-2007, 08:04 AM
Angelox
AX Classic Developer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: filler
Posts: 2,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkonig
Sorry for the hijack, had not seen that before. Looked at the page you listed and that is for accessing a 5.1 database from a client below 4.1, not for 5.0 which is what I'm using (5.0.27) which is why I didn't need it.

But my reason for why it was needed was incorrect.
What they mean is, EqEmu is what uses the old MySql 4x password method for accessing the MySql 5x DB . this fix is so MySql 5 will accept passwords from EqEmu. Why you didn't need it is, what's surprizing - but as long as it works, who cares? I just suggested that option because it is a common mistake, so he'll know, just incase.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:41 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3