Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Development

Development::Development Forum for development topics and for those interested in EQEMu development. (Not a support forum)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2014, 03:22 PM
Akkadius's Avatar
Akkadius
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 2,071
Default EQEmu Blob to Database Conversion

I'm streaming C coding while I'm working on converting the entire character blob over to actual database tables.

I've been working on this over the past few weeks and am about 95% done, however if anyone is interested I have a stream up.

Some people have asked for it in the past so I just put it up while I'm working on stuff anyways.

www.twitch.tv/akkadius

Enjoy.

To give an idea why I am converting the character blob to database tables, 1) we've been wanting to do this forever for many reasons.

1) It will increase overall code performance more than 10 fold with all of the inefficient calls for saving and loading that we do in the database
2) We are saving a lot of blank data, for example EZ's database of characters is 2.6GB, after a mock convert I end up storing approximately 600MB in total in data broken out into individual tables.
3) The speed increase is phenominal as we are not saving everything every single time that a character has done a single little action.
- Whenever a character ups a skill point or spams it, everything is saved (skills/languages/aa/spells/character data/etc)
- Same thing goes for AA's, whenever a character loots or moves coins
- Everytime these save actions are spammed, the character_ table is locked, which leaves an opportunity for hangs to occur at any process because it is waiting for the character_ table to be opened. This is in the end, very inefficient.

Last edited by Akkadius; 09-06-2014 at 03:28 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2014, 01:36 AM
GeorgeS
Forum Guide
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 1,475
Default

I'm updating my tools, and see character_ table has changed..
Do you have any info what character_ binary data is converted to?
(or a tool would help - if you have one)

Thanks
GeorgeS
__________________
Your source for EQ database tools
Toolshop is open for business


http://www.georgestools.chrsschb.com//
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2014, 01:41 AM
Akkadius's Avatar
Akkadius
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 2,071
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeS View Post
I'm updating my tools, and see character_ table has changed..
Do you have any info what character_ binary data is converted to?
(or a tool would help - if you have one)

Thanks
GeorgeS
Not sure what you mean, but these are the tables that are created in the auto conversion from blob convert, in the repack you setup you should be able to view the table schema accordingly:

`character_skills`
`character_languages`
`character_bind`
`character_alternate_abilities`
`character_currency`
`character_data`
`character_spells`
`character_memmed_spells`
`character_disciplines`
`character_material`
`character_tribute`
`character_bandolier`
`character_inspect_messages`
`character_leadership_abilities`
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2014, 10:24 AM
GeorgeS
Forum Guide
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 1,475
Default

Thanks, I figured it out eventually, but it's a large task to convert my characters over to the new tables. Is there a tool to do this out there?

GeorgeS
__________________
Your source for EQ database tools
Toolshop is open for business


http://www.georgestools.chrsschb.com//
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2014, 10:33 AM
Kayen
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: -
Posts: 228
Default

It coverts it automatically when you start your server for the first time while running the current source code.

Just back your database up first just in case.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-15-2014, 10:42 AM
Nibiuno
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 101
Default

Have you tested mercenaries after a conversion from the character blob system to the database tables? I can't seem to get them to work post conversion, but if I do not convert, they work fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:25 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3