Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2019, 09:08 AM
flbren
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 7
Default lag problems

What would cause lag on my server once 25ish toons enter a zone? The lag goes up steady to 15000+ms. With a couple toons in zone I have no issues.For example I can have 24 toons loaded in guild lobby and lag out from anywhere to 500ms to 15000ms but have 3 toons in pok at 60ms. Lag doesn't seem to affect other zones.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2019, 11:37 AM
Nightrider84's Avatar
Nightrider84
Discordant
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 410
Default

Now to clarify is this 25 toons in 1 zone while 3 toons are in a seperate zone with no issues all at the same time? Or do you mean if you have more than X players at anytime the server lags everywhere?
__________________
__________________
Supernova - GM/Developer
"Secrets of Faydwer"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2019, 05:47 PM
flbren
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 7
Default

The lag is contained in the zone with the 25 toons and other zones with 3 or 4 players run fine. When loading 25ish toons in the zone when I first log in my ms is fine. But after 20ish toons its starts rising to 200 300 1000 etc.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2019, 12:25 AM
Nightrider84's Avatar
Nightrider84
Discordant
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 410
Default

Well that could be a few things, Could be router related. Sometimes older routers can't handle the required lanes of traffic from multiple locations. Quick test for this would be to have like 30 toons logged in. But put them in about 10 different zones and see if the problem shows up again. If the problem doesn't show up than it might be something on the server itself thats causing the issue. But that is a weird issue to have honestly. Also are these 25 seperate people or are they all bots ect?
__________________
__________________
Supernova - GM/Developer
"Secrets of Faydwer"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2019, 12:53 PM
Scorpious2k's Avatar
Scorpious2k
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 1,067
Default

You might also want to check CPU usage, RAM usage (and swap space), and especially bandwidth. Sometimes ISP's talk about xx bps but they are really talking about downlink (incoming) and uplink (outgoing) is much MUCH lower, which would limit packets going to clients.
__________________
Maybe I should try making one of these servers...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-03-2019, 03:16 PM
flbren
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 7
Default

25 separate accounts that I loaded. What I can tell everything looked ok from the host.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2019, 10:37 PM
Nightrider84's Avatar
Nightrider84
Discordant
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 410
Default

well test the 25 accounts at once in difference zones and see if you get that same latency spike, if you dont then have them zone into the same zone and see if the problem arrises
__________________
__________________
Supernova - GM/Developer
"Secrets of Faydwer"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-09-2019, 03:38 PM
ptarp
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 27
Default

I'm having this same problem. Running the code on Windows 10, there is no problem.. running on any windows server version, the problem is exactly the same.

Running on Windows Server, if you distribute the toons in different zones, most times the lag will go away.. Put them all in the same zone, ping and packet loss increase until it's unplayable. EQ reports up to 5k m.s. pings on a server within my local network. Server CPU stays around 6%, memory around 3%, and network around 250kbs sent on a gigabit connection.
If you do have toons in other zones, they aren't affected until that zone is loaded up with toons also. 22 or so in lobby and 6 in WoS.. the 6 in WoS can keep playing, the ones in guild lobby all lag out.


Running on top of windows 10 on the same machine with a copy of the same code, and copy of the same database, the problem goes away. Log in same toons, put them all in the same zone, and it stays playable.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-11-2019, 03:13 PM
Akkadius's Avatar
Akkadius
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 2,071
Default

Just for visibility guys, this is a known issue that we have been working on as of late.

I'll keep you posted when we have an update, I've not had time for my emulator backlog in the past few weeks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-15-2019, 05:48 PM
ptarp
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akkadius View Post
Just for visibility guys, this is a known issue that we have been working on as of late.

I'll keep you posted when we have an update, I've not had time for my emulator backlog in the past few weeks
I've tinkered with this a bit.. I've gotten ping times to drop down to 350 with 47 in zone by dropping some of the extra database calls that aren't needed in Client::Save(uint8 iCommitNow) function.

Binds are a big one especially now with 5 binds. They don't need saved every loop through client::save, because they are already saved every time they change.

Pets are another problem.. Every time it goes through the loop, pets shouldn't be saved for every toon. Even warriors were getting hit by database.SavePetInfo(this); call. I moved that up 4 lines just above the } else {.

I have also added a Boolean to mine to prevent saving tribute if it hasn't changed, though that call to database.SaveCharacterTribute(this->CharacterID(), &m_pp); could probably be moved right into Client::Handle_OP_TributeUpdate function.

Still weeding some of it out..
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-15-2019, 06:18 PM
Akkadius's Avatar
Akkadius
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 2,071
Default

These are all separate from the issue reported in the thread

There is a network problem that occurs under the condition where enough clients are in a zone and one or many have not so great connections our server network code will resend very aggressively which results in a server with a lower CPU frequency such as a Xeon 2.3Ghz to essentially choke itself from the rapid burst of resend packets.

The resend packets are choked primarily by compressing packets and sending them over the line at a rapid rate and the CPU will max out for that thread and can take several minutes to recover from

Correcting the resend logic is a complex issue because we use dynamic algorithms for resend rate and packet recovery that has to take in a lot of different factors.

We have some ideal settings figured out and are looking to get them pushed to mainline as soon as we feel confident that they don't produce any more regressions
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-11-2019, 09:08 PM
Tom Cross
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: New York
Posts: 11
Default

Does anyone know if this is happening on linux boxes too?
__________________
_______________________
Bitchin smiles for everyone
HTTP://EQLUCLIN.INFO
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-12-2019, 09:14 PM
Akkadius's Avatar
Akkadius
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 2,071
Default

Happens on Linux too yes, slightly less prevalent because of net efficiency of the linux core but don't both making a switching decision on that alone

We have a solution, we've been carefully testing it over the past few weeks because its a complex problem

I'll update when we have it in, we need to run it on PEQ for a while now that we've had it running at smaller scale
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-13-2019, 03:45 PM
Tom Cross
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: New York
Posts: 11
Default

So we get the whole community to get on the PEQ and we all have a party in the Nexus for a good test run?
__________________
_______________________
Bitchin smiles for everyone
HTTP://EQLUCLIN.INFO
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-13-2019, 10:38 PM
Akkadius's Avatar
Akkadius
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 2,071
Default

Haha, not quite necessary, we have between 500-1000 toons on in a given day we should be able to give it a good run
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:40 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3