Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Development

Development::Development Forum for development topics and for those interested in EQEMu development. (Not a support forum)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2017, 12:58 PM
zerjz3's Avatar
zerjz3
Discordant
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sanctuary
Posts: 292
Default Replacing textures in eqg based zones

As we know, it is possible to replace textures in s3d files using EQ-Zip. I have used this to great effect on my server, giving the game an entirely new art style.



However, things get a little trickier when trying to replace textures in an eqg based zone.

From what I can tell, there are 3 files associated with each texture in these zones.

First, you have the detailed texture file



Secondly, there is the "normal map" version of the same texture file



Last, we have a file that can be opened as a plain text file, containing information about how the texture is used in the zone.




When opened, here is the information within the .eco file:

Code:
*TEXTUREPART
	*LAYER	dirtpath
		*MINHEIGHT	-10000.000000
		*MAXHEIGHT	10000.000000
		*HEIGHTTOL	10.000000
		*MINSLOPE	0
		*MAXSLOPE	90
		*SLOPETOL	1
		*COVERMAP	coverage2_rock.dds
		*BLENDMAP	default.bmp
		*BLENDSOFTNESS	0
		*LAYERINGMAP	default.bmp
		*LAYERINGAREA	16
		*DETAILMAP	Di_moors_dirt_path.dds
		*NORMALMAP	moors_dirt_path_10n.dds
		*DETAILREPEAT	25
		*NORMALREPEAT	25
	*END_LAYER
*END_TEXTUREPART
*OBJECTPART
*END_OBJECTPART
*FLORAPART
*END_FLORAPART

Now.... what I did to try and replace this texture, was open the "detailed" version in my image editing tool of choice, and then replace it with my new texture and save over the dds file. Inserting it into the eqg file by itself resulted in my zone crashing when loading into the game, giving an error that the zone file itself is "not found" (the same error that occurs, for example, if you try zoning into cshome without having the zone files in your directory)

So naturally, the next thing I tried was taking the "normal map" version of the file and replacing IT with my custom texture... zone crash

So now I'm thinking, I might need to start learning what the hell a normal map is, and how I can make one... so I load up a plugin for GIMP, run a normal map filter over the texture, and replace it using EQ-Zip... crash.

I'm at a standstill for now -- does anyone have any insight into what might make replacing textures within an eqg zone possible?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-15-2017, 11:07 PM
Darkscis
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 34
Default

If I recall correctly when I was mucking about with eqg files and moving textures from one to another, EQ-Zip "breaks" the file. To fix, just open it in EQG Zone Importer, "save" it and then load in game. It should work again after that. You don't need to change anything, just open then save and it should work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:12 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3