Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::MiniLogin

Support::MiniLogin Support forum for problems with the official MiniLogin release.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2006, 12:59 PM
CrabClaw's Avatar
CrabClaw
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Plane of Knowledge
Posts: 191
Talking Minilog kicking other users, one solution.

I think I fould a solution to people getting kicked off of LAN servers when someone else logs in or only being able to log into one account.

Lets say my local IP is 198.162.1.51 for starters.

First my setup:

###Your current configuration is as follows:

loginserver.ini:
[LoginServer]
loginserver=192.168.1.51
loginport=5999
worldname=My Minilogin
worldaddress=192.168.1.51
locked=false
account=
password=

[WorldServer]
Defaultstatus=
Unavailzone=
[ChatChannelServer]

worldshortname=
chataddress=
chatport=

[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=Minilogin
ServerPort=5999
Then this:

<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
<world>
<shortname>minilogin</shortname>
<longname>My Minilogin</longname>

<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
<address>192.168.1.51</address>
<localaddress>127.0.0.1</localaddress>

<!-- Loginserver information. -->
<loginserver>
<host>192.168.1.51</host>
<port>5999</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver>

<!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
<key>some long random string</key>

<!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service. -->
<http port="9080" enabled="true" mimefile="mime.types" />
</world>

<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini. -->
<database>
<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>eq</username>
<password>eq</password>
<db>eq</db>
</database>
</server>
Then this:
EQHost.txt <--for the local host EQ game
[LoginServer]
Host=192.168.1.51:5999
Ok now you have to set your root login game account IP to your local IP address, not 127.0.0.1! Setting it to 127.0.0.1 locks the server for eveyone else on the LAN. I was pulling my hair out for days trying to think through this and this finally worked for me. I was able to log though my WiFi notebook and the other machines I had lying around on the LAN network.

Repeat, no in game accounts should use 127.0.0.1. It should just be a list of sqeuential network IPs.
Like 198.162.1.10 for root's LAN IP
198.162.1.11 for mary's machine LAN IP
198.162.1.12 for stan's machine LAN IP
ect...
Try this out and see if it helps. And if it does, don't make my mistake and back your EQEmu directory and database up in a zip file so you can restore it later!

Hope this helped.

>.>
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2006, 04:48 PM
revolt268
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Default thank you

I was having the same problem for weeks now. Couldn't figure it out for the live of me, but did just what you said and it worked perfectly. Thanks a great deal dude.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2006, 05:34 PM
CrabClaw's Avatar
CrabClaw
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Plane of Knowledge
Posts: 191
Thumbs down

I am so glad I could help get you playing! I must have took like a whole week meditating, drinking coffee, testing and tweaking with things (and making fallback backups along the way - I used to beta software so I am a bit retentive....) to get a method to set this awsome thing set up. I seen so many people having the same trouble and suffering so I had to post it up for humanities sake (haha).

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-15-2006, 04:28 PM
ryanjones10
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Where do I find the last part that you spoke of. I cannot find the Root Login IP. None of my clients can connect
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-16-2006, 12:16 AM
Angelox
AX Classic Developer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: filler
Posts: 2,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanjones10
Where do I find the last part that you spoke of. I cannot find the Root Login IP. None of my clients can connect
Look at your "Local Area Connection Status" (find it in "My Network Places"), click the "Support" tab - Your Ip address should be there, and probaly starts with 192.168.1. You need to find the last three digits.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-16-2006, 01:40 AM
njlinus
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 56
Default

Thanks CrabClaw, this helped me out so much, i was about to give up with setting up a Lan connection. ive spent a few weeks off and on and could not find any help on this problem. I am new to EQemu and alot of this is a whole new language to me.
Now that i got this working i have to look into why my zone.exe crashes but ill look into that when i have time over the weekend
thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-16-2006, 02:32 AM
ryanjones10
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angelox
Look at your "Local Area Connection Status" (find it in "My Network Places"), click the "Support" tab - Your Ip address should be there, and probaly starts with 192.168.1. You need to find the last three digits.
I have my local IP address. I was not sure where I should be inputting the IPs of the clients in the final part of crabclaw's post.

Here:
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrabClaw
Ok now you have to set your root login game account IP to your local IP address, not 127.0.0.1! Setting it to 127.0.0.1 locks the server for eveyone else on the LAN. I was pulling my hair out for days trying to think through this and this finally worked for me. I was able to log though my WiFi notebook and the other machines I had lying around on the LAN network.

Repeat, no in game accounts should use 127.0.0.1. It should just be a list of sqeuential network IPs.

Like 198.162.1.10 for root's LAN IP
198.162.1.11 for mary's machine LAN IP
198.162.1.12 for stan's machine LAN IP
ect...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-16-2006, 06:53 AM
CrabClaw's Avatar
CrabClaw
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Plane of Knowledge
Posts: 191
Default

When you create accounts thier IPs go in thier account setups as normal when you add users. If you have the MysqlCC set up you can go into the accounts tab and fill them out there. The IP in the acconut information should match the users LAN IP (such as 192.168.1.50, 192.168.1.51, 192.168.1.52, and so on)

Walkthrough using MysqlCC:
Click on the EQ data base and click on 'tables' to expand it.

In tables here will be a sub-table called accounts.

Right click and add record.
Fill out the 'Name' column with the accounts name.
Fill out the 'Password' column with the accounts password.
Fill out the 'Status' column with 250 for GM access or lower for player access (I think 20 is for normal players).
Fill out the 'minilogin_id' column with the accounts LAN IP.
Then they should be able to log in and play from thier machine.
I hope this clarifies things for you.

You can find your LAN IP in windows by opening a command prompt and typing ipconfig. You LAN IP will be the second number called something like:

IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . .192.168.'x'.'x'

Last edited by CrabClaw; 06-16-2006 at 02:59 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-09-2006, 04:24 PM
DlInvader
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Default

I have done this a few times it's like everytime i change the config file the server then doesn't show up *shrugs*

And so far the only way it works is if i use my own pc which is the server itself so i have no idea it seems like im going to be the only one playing instead of everyone else LOL
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-25-2006, 03:15 PM
John Adams
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,552
Default

Praise the Crab!!

First post, and I will say this post has solved the last problem I had that I couldn't figure out. I now have EQEmu running on my 2003 server, and my 2 XP boxes connect to it swimmingly.

Thank you, thank you, thank you. Now, if I can get external friends to connect, we're in business. Too busy playing with the Emu now tho, so screw em!

J
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-27-2006, 12:08 PM
fathernitwit
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 773
Default

please put this on the wiki.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-01-2007, 12:22 PM
KhanhDescending
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 5
Default Bingo

CrabClaw,

You're a god among men. Just spent the better part of the day screwing around with the XML and .ini files. Until I found your post. Everything is running smoothly now by following your instructions.

Thanks,

Khanh
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-02-2007, 02:24 PM
drunkgoblin
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 14
Default

I love you man! If i wern't a man i would want to have your babys!! you rule!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-17-2007, 09:55 AM
Jiggawhoa144
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Default

ugh, I've followed your format exactly, and still no luck with the Minilogin finding the server. It can only find the server when it listens on port 3306, but then then world.exe just holds at "Connecting to MySQL..." :\ I know I have my IP's correct, I think I'm just having issues with getting the ports to match up correctly. I currently have the files setup as is....

eqemu_config.xml :

Code:
<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
	<world>
	    <shortname>Blah</shortname>
	    <longname>MiniLogin</longname>
	           
	<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
	    <!--<address>192.168.0.102</address>-->
	    <!--<localaddress>127.0.0.1</localaddress>-->
	   
	<!-- Loginserver information.  -->
	    <loginserver>
	        <host>129.168.0.102</host>
	        <port>5999</port>
	        <account></account>
	        <password></password>
	    </loginserver>

	    <!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
	    <key>some long random string</key>

	    <!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service. -->
	    <http port="9080" enabled="true" mimefile="mime.types" />
	</world>

	<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini. -->
	<database>
	    <host>localhost</host>
	    <port>3306</port>
	    <username>username</username>
	    <password>password</password>
	    <db>peq</db>
	</database>
</server>
LoginServer.ini :

Code:
[LoginServer]
loginserver=192.168.0.102
loginserver2=newlogin1.eqemulator.net
loginport=5999
loginport2=5999
worldname=MiniLogin
worldaddress=192.168.0.102
locked=false
account=
password=

[WorldServer]
Defaultstatus=
Unavailzone=

[ChatChannelServer]
worldshortname=
chataddress=
chatport=

[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=minilogin
ServerPort=5999
and eqhost.txt :

Code:
[LoginServer]
Host=192.168.0.102:5999
Yeah, so when world.exe tries to connect to the LS I get a 'could not connect : error 10061' message. Like I said, I've gotten MiniLogin to show that there's a server with other port settings, but then world.exe won't connect to it. And yes, the ports are properly forwarded. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

Last edited by Jiggawhoa144; 05-17-2007 at 06:01 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-17-2007, 03:22 PM
CrabClaw's Avatar
CrabClaw
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Plane of Knowledge
Posts: 191
Default

Hmm, the first two things come to mind.

Quote:
<database>
<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>username</username>
<password>password</password>
<db>peq</db>
</database>
Did you fill this part (the username and password) out correctly?

Also, what version of MySQL are you using? You might need to tweak the password with the instructions found here.

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/old-client.html

SET PASSWORD FOR 'some_user'@'localhost' = OLD_PASSWORD('newpwd');

Remember to do a backup of your schema using the admin tool before touching anything so you have a fallback position.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:56 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3