Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > General > General::Server Discussion

General::Server Discussion Discussion about emulator servers.
Do not post support topics here.

Old 07-25-2014, 11:44 PM
Commrune
Fire Beetle

Default Server Concept Idea - When Worlds Collide

First, a disclaimer: I'm not a developer, so I don't even know if this is possible in EQEmu. I only know SQL. That being said, I would love to work on a server like this or just see it come to fruitation; so, if someone wants to pick up this idea and run with it, please go for it.

Here's the pitch:

I'm growing tired of a world where bosses sit in their dungeons and wait for you to come kill them. I need random quests that send me out to kill a random boss for a useful reward(s). But here's the catch: Your quest has a timer. If you are taking your sweet-ass time, there are consequences. If quest your timer runs out, the boss sends his minions (mini bosses) to come attack you and others on the server while simultaneously broadcasting a server message that YOU are failing your quest to kill 'XYZ' boss.

The mini bosses serve multiple purposes. First, you're forcing interaction between players and slowing everyone's questing down. After all, this isn't meant to be easy. Second, that quest timer hasn't stopped and these mini bosses are just slowing you down... the timer has just reset and you're still expected to go kill that boss or else suffer additional consequences.

If the clock reaches zero again, the boss AND his minions begin to attack the hub/main city. This is where the real consequences begin. The hub/main city only has a handful of quest givers, merchants, and guards that are attacked and can be killed if left unprotected. If your quest givers go down for awhile, that means your progression slows down. Server broadcasts alerting players of such events must be paid attention to.