Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2014, 03:06 PM
Bonehard
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 16
Default npc create not working...

Hello,
i have start to add npc's to my zone just for testing and have found a problem i can't fix.

first i start with the #spawn command to add npc to my location:

#spawn TestMob 303 85 0 10000 2

Thos works like it should.
The npc with the correct race shows up at my position.

To create a new entry to the npc_types table i do the #npcspawn create command:
( Npc selected )
#npcspawn create

I get the information that:
TestMob0000 was created successfully.

But the npc where not added to the npc_types table.
For testing i did after the #npcspawn created the #npcspawn add to have an entry to the spawn table.

When i look into the spawn2 table i got an new entry. And there is also an spawngroup entry and spawn event but the npc id is set to 0.

I did also some test an adding an npc via sql with id and without id to see if the auto-increment value is set correctly and it was working.

Anyone can give me some hints where my problem could be?
Sourcecode and database rev. should be up to date.
I did also look into the tutorials how to create npc.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2014, 04:10 PM
NatedogEZ's Avatar
NatedogEZ
Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 515
Default

type .. #logs all

Then try to #npcspawn create

It should give an SQL error if something goes wrong and spew the information into your chat box
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2014, 04:18 PM
Bonehard
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 16
Default

hehe well 5 minutes before i read your answer i expanded the sourcecode to write out any error that the NPCSpawnDB function did.

so i got the error:
Field: special_abilities - doesn't have a default value.

Atm iam looking trough the svn/git sql. but cant find any that have special_abilities updates on the npc_type table.

Any hint what default value for the field?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2014, 05:08 PM
vsab's Avatar
vsab
Discordant
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 276
Default

oh yeah, that's been broke a long while. I think it works OK on Linux but not on Windows? Just edit the default value to be an empty string.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-13-2014, 05:09 PM
Bonehard
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 16
Default

Ok i found a solution.
Since the column for the special_abilities is a text column(Blob field) and i got a newer mysql version the default setting don't allow me to have a default value like '' for a text column.
Since i dont want to change the options of my database settings i did a temp table copied the values(id, special_abilities) into it.
I added another field to to npc_types from type varchar(255) than i copied the values from the temp table into the npc_types table using the new column.
i droped the column special_abilities and renamed the new field added to special_abitlies.
The new field from type varchar(255) can now be default ''.

Now it works to create new npc.

Thanks for help

Edit: sorry my english is really bad. hope you guys understand most of the technical aspect i was talking about :P
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:51 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3