Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Old 09-09-2009, 04:12 AM
samandhi
Demi-God

Default LIBMYSQL.dll error

I searched but could not find it.. I am having problems (after following the setup guide in this section). When trying to run startup.bat i am getting the following error:
Code:
The application has failed to start because LIBMYSQL.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix the problem.
Then, of course, I am also getting the perl58.dll was not found error... Anybody know what might cause this?

I am using Windows Vista 64 Home Premium
mysql 5.1.38win64.msi
perl 5.10

Quote:
Analysis paralysis will keep you from failing, but it will also keep you from succeeding.
  • L.L. CoolJ
Old 09-09-2009, 01:50 PM
Krakfor
Fire Beetle

I'm no expert, but have just recently got a stable working server. I experienced both the problems you have.

The DLL you're missing (libmysql)- I just Google'd it and unzipped the file into my windows\system32 folder. If you still can't find it, reply and I'll try and find a link or host it.

Perl58.dll is not being found, as it's a perl 5.8 file, hence perl 5.10 won't have it. I had a lot of problems getting a version of perl to work correctly. After trawling the boards here, the version that seems to work for people (me included) is Ver 5.8.8.824. You can get it here.

Completely uninstall your previous version and then go with this. As I said, I'm no expert, just commenting on what worked for me. Please, if someone else offers contradictory advice, go with them

Good Luck
Old 09-09-2009, 03:43 PM
samandhi
Demi-God

Thanks for the reply... I have searched and found that the file LIBMYSQL.dll is there but not reading it for some reason... Maybe because I am using mysql 64???? I am going to uninstall and reinstall 32bit and see if all works out...