Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2014, 10:44 PM
Mortow's Avatar
Mortow
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 215
Default Zone.exe compile errors

I did a pull tonight and recompile but I get the following 3 errors:


Code:
error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol "int __cdecl MakeRandomInt(int,int)" (?MakeRandomInt@@YAHHH@Z) referenced in function "public: void __thiscall Client::ForageItem(bool)" (?ForageItem@Client@@QAEX_N@Z)	C:\EQ\Source\Build\zone\forage.obj	zone
error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "int __cdecl MakeRandomInt(int,int)" (?MakeRandomInt@@YAHHH@Z)	C:\EQ\Source\Build\zone\pets.obj	zone
error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals	C:\EQ\Source\Build\Bin\RelWithDebInfo\zone.exe	1	1	zone
This is with VS2012.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2014, 10:57 PM
demonstar55
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,165
Default

Those functions were removed, either update your source or clean up your custom changes
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2014, 11:10 PM
Mortow's Avatar
Mortow
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 215
Default

I thought doing a git pull did update the source. The only custom changes I have are in pets.cpp ( added pets for other races ) and I even tried reverting it to the 'stock' one. I still got the errors.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2014, 11:21 PM
demonstar55
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,165
Default

Clean build?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-06-2014, 11:28 PM
Mortow's Avatar
Mortow
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 215
Default

It was clean about 1 month ago when I replaced all the hardware. It has been running fine and still is I just haven't been able to get a compile to work since last week.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-06-2014, 11:51 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,815
Default

If you just select 'Build' when compiling updated source code, the external links within the obj files may still point to old, and now invalid, entry points.

Sometimes, there are new files added to the project that require cmake to be re-run as well..otherwise, your old solution will not know where to find
these new files..or that they even exist...

Try 'clean solution,' then 'build solution' or use 'rebuild solution' to force a complete compile (the former is preferred.)


If all else fails, you can always try to delete your 'build' directory and re-run cmake to ensure that all of the old references are gone.
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-07-2014, 12:27 AM
Mortow's Avatar
Mortow
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 215
Default

Ok, I deleted the build directory and re-ran c-make (which I do every time I pull new source code because I do not know when it is required and when its not) but still got the same three errors. I pulled the source again since Mackal had made a change in the last hour but this produced a bunch of errors. I tried the Clean Solution and it says it succeeded on all 13 but it did it in a matter of about 3 seconds. I then did build solution but came up with the same three errors.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-07-2014, 02:46 AM
demonstar55
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,165
Default

I have no idea why you're getting those errors, the code doesn't make any references to them any more, so either you're not really updated (did it give any merge errors?) or you have custom stuff applied that still uses them. But MakeRandomInt() should be replaced with zone->random.Int().
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-07-2014, 02:55 AM
Mortow's Avatar
Mortow
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 215
Default

No merge errors. I am unsure what to try next. I appreciate all the ideas though.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-07-2014, 03:48 AM
Mortow's Avatar
Mortow
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 215
Default

Ok, I deleted the contents of my source folder, re-cloned it, downloaded the dependencies, ran c-make then followed Uleat's instructions for Clean Solution and Build Solution. This appears to have fixed the issue. All 13 builds succeeded with no errors. I must have had something gumming up the works, no idea what it was but its fixed now. Thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-07-2014, 08:55 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,815
Default

It was demonstar55's suggestion..I just translated :P
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:13 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3