Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-04-2019, 05:12 AM
Huppy's Avatar
Huppy
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,333
Default plugin::SendToInstance

I have a question, regarding the plugin::SendToInstance, but I'll explain the situation, so we're all on the same page here.
I was doing some instance testing and ran across something with the instance plugin, that I wasn't aware of before. I logged on 4 seperate (non-gm) accounts and grouped two of them together, leaving the other 2 as singles. I had the SendToInstance npc script set to "group", and it successfully gave the two grouped toons their own group instance, no problem. Of course, inviting another toon into the group, let it join the instance as well.

But, while those two grouped toons were in their instance, the third (non-grouped) toon hailed the same npc, and was given a "public" instance by default. This allowed the fourth single toon to join that public instance too. So I assume, no matter what the instance is setup for, (group or guild), anyone can use the same npc to (unintentionally) start a public instance.

It's an awesome plugin for instances, it really simplifies the process. I'm sure there might be people out there that may have some use for a "public" instance, but it would be pointless for my preferences. Is there an altercation I can do to prevent public instances from being created ? (permanently) ? lol

This is the script I have been testing with. (npc is flagged for qglobal)
Code:
sub EVENT_SAY {

	if (($text =~/hail/i) && ($ulevel > 35)) {
			quest::say("Greetings $name, Are you interested in a [group] adventure ?");
	}
	elsif ($text =~/group/i && ($ulevel > 35)) {
			plugin::SendToInstance("group", "dulak", 1, 438, 548, 4, "GRP", 64800);
	}
}
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-04-2019, 11:33 AM
chrsschb's Avatar
chrsschb
Dragon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 905
Default

You could remove public instances as a valid option.

/plugins/instances.pl
Code:
%InstType = (
		"solo" =>	"$name",
		"guild" =>	"$uguild_id",
		"group" =>	"$GETGROUP",
		"public" =>	"pub",
	);
__________________
Clumsy's World: Resurgence
Clumsy's World [2006-2012]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-04-2019, 12:18 PM
Huppy's Avatar
Huppy
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrsschb View Post
You could remove public instances as a valid option.
Thanks chrsschb for chiming in. Ya, I was looking at that entry in the plugin and wondering about the effect on my issue, but I will give that go today and test it out. I've always relied on the client level, etc., for access to an instance and never even looked at something like this being factored into it. It presents kind of an "exploit" for my needs, lol
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2019, 03:51 PM
Huppy's Avatar
Huppy
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,333
Default

Ok, I tested that out and same results, but it's really no big issue, I just thought the use of that plugin, was an easy way to have restricted access to an instance, based on the choice used. (solo, group,etc.). I can still use an old school way of doing it on the npc itself. I'm not too keen on restricting the plugin itself to one choice, it's just that "public" issue, lol :P
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-04-2019, 05:22 PM
Huppy's Avatar
Huppy
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,333
Default

I put this together, which works pretty good. I just have to add in a group member count, since a player with a merc is still a "group". Maybe a little message for the single clients to go away, as well, lol (npc won't talk to you, if not in a group)

Code:
sub EVENT_SAY {

	my $group = $client->GetGroup();
	
	if($group){
		if (($text =~/hail/i) && ($ulevel > 35)) {
			quest::say("Greetings $name, Are you interested in exploring [dulak] ?");
		}
		elsif ($text =~/dulak/i && ($ulevel > 35)) {
			plugin::SendToInstance("group", "dulak", 1, 438, 548, 4, "GRP", 400);
		}
	}
}
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-04-2019, 06:05 PM
Huppy's Avatar
Huppy
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,333
Default

Found another little glitch in this struggle to restrict an instance to group only. Example: If "toon 1" sends a /tell to some buddies on the server, asking to be "temporarily" invited to a group, then grabs the instance from the npc, but once inside, disbands from the group, he's in. So I guess I need to put something in place for a group count inside the zone, but would need a timer, to allow legit group members time to show up for the instance, before the toon was kicked out. (I'm only posting this progress for others, if they have an interest)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-05-2019, 11:11 AM
chrsschb's Avatar
chrsschb
Dragon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 905
Default

Good info so far, maybe mention to Akkadius in Discord and see what he says? I have plans to only use raid instances so would be good to know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Huppy View Post
Found another little glitch in this struggle to restrict an instance to group only. Example: If "toon 1" sends a /tell to some buddies on the server, asking to be "temporarily" invited to a group, then grabs the instance from the npc, but once inside, disbands from the group, he's in. So I guess I need to put something in place for a group count inside the zone, but would need a timer, to allow legit group members time to show up for the instance, before the toon was kicked out. (I'm only posting this progress for others, if they have an interest)
This reminds me of the offline char workaround we use on live/tlp.
__________________
Clumsy's World: Resurgence
Clumsy's World [2006-2012]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-05-2019, 01:20 PM
Huppy's Avatar
Huppy
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,333
Default

What I find really odd, if I set the instance to "solo" with the plugin, it won't assign any other kind of instance, no matter what scenario your toon is involved with. If two seperate players have a merc spawned, or even grouped with each other, the "solo" plugin will send them each to their own instance. So, the plugin "solo" does not acknowledge the player/merc as a group, but the plugin "group" does, lol
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:55 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3