Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::General Support

Support::General Support Post all topics here having to do with errors while trying to connect to an EQEMu server but not about the setup/running of the Server itself.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-06-2015, 09:30 PM
Silentrath
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 29
Default Expansion Disable Not Working?

Is the setting in the Variable table, "Expansions" not working? I've set this to 0 and still can create all classes. I also tried setting, "World:ExpansionSettings" inside the rule_values to 0 and still doesn't restrict Vah Shir, Froglok, etc.. I locked out the non classic zones, just not sure why its not locking out those.

Another quick question is, why is the setting to disable tutorial button still allowing people to go to tutorial?

Thanks,

Silentrath

EDIT: I am all up to date with the latest changes.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-06-2015, 09:39 PM
Kingly_Krab
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 1,589
Default

Do you have this rule disabled?:
Code:
World:UseClientBasedExpansionSettings
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-06-2015, 10:30 PM
Silentrath
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 29
Default

Got it working! Had it set to on another ruleset! My bad, thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-06-2015, 10:35 PM
Kingly_Krab
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 1,589
Default

Ah okay, I don't know if what I said helped or not if it was on another ruleset, but you're welcome? Haha.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-06-2015, 10:37 PM
Silentrath
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingly_Krab View Post
Ah okay, I don't know if what I said helped or not if it was on another ruleset, but you're welcome? Haha.
Yep it was the setting you said! Sorry didn't specify that did it!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-06-2015, 10:38 PM
Kingly_Krab
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 1,589
Default

Haha, okay. You're welcome, glad you got it working.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-04-2016, 05:17 AM
hurikaNe
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingly_Krab View Post
Do you have this rule disabled?:
Code:
World:UseClientBasedExpansionSettings
How do I check this?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-23-2016, 10:56 PM
Figback65
Discordant
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: 2131231231
Posts: 255
Default

I wonder how to check it also, I have installed a fresh database etc etc, and that value is not in my variables or rule_values. Now I cannot lock expansions out. Does it need to be added manually?

EDIT : Ok I added 1 World:UseClientBasedExpansionSettings false manually and it worked other than the gnome pal/sk and Halfling rng/pal those you can still make even if you set expansion setting to 0. Any idea on those?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-24-2016, 11:35 AM
provocating's Avatar
provocating
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Figback65 View Post
I wonder how to check it also, I have installed a fresh database etc etc, and that value is not in my variables or rule_values. Now I cannot lock expansions out. Does it need to be added manually?

EDIT : Ok I added 1 World:UseClientBasedExpansionSettings false manually and it worked other than the gnome pal/sk and Halfling rng/pal those you can still make even if you set expansion setting to 0. Any idea on those?
Which client, a client like Titanium I do not believe follows normal rules.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-24-2016, 01:03 PM
Figback65
Discordant
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: 2131231231
Posts: 255
Default

Titanium Client is the one I'm using.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-24-2016, 01:25 PM
provocating's Avatar
provocating
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,175
Default

Yeah that is probably why. Try with UF and just see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-24-2016, 04:35 PM
Shin Noir's Avatar
Shin Noir
Legendary Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 502
Default

Generic howto:

Assuming you are using ruleset 1 (default).

Code:
SELECT * from rule_values WHERE ruleset_id = 1 AND (rule_name = "World:ExpansionSettings" OR rule_name = "World:UseClientBasedExpansionSettings");
This should result in 2 records.
World:ExpansionSettings's rule_value should be set to your highest expansion, with a number like: 1=Classic, 2=Kunark, 3=Velious, 4=Luclin, 5=PoP, etc.
World:UseClientBasedExpansionSettings rule_value should be set to false. If you're using a freshly copied PEQ database, this record will likely NOT exist.

If the UseClientBasedExpansionSettings rule does not exist, run this:
Code:
INSERT INTO rule_values (ruleset_id, rule_name, `rule_value`) VALUES (1, "World:UseClientBasedExpansionSettings", "false");
If the expansion is set incorrectly, you can run this command, changing the rule_value from 2 (kunark) to the expansion of your choice noted above:
Code:
UPDATE rule_values SET rule_value=2 WHERE ruleset_id=1 AND rule_name="World:ExpansionSettings" LIMIT 1;
Once you finish updating these values, run the SELECT on the top again to verify the results are what you want. Restart all your server executables. Profit.

As far as the non-classic class combos: Unsure that has been addressed but a ruleset could be created for this specific option to be toggled, if the client does select a bad combination and tries to create, it could reject at that point. Unsure that's in yet though.
__________________

~Shin Noir
DungeonEQ.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-25-2016, 03:39 AM
Figback65
Discordant
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: 2131231231
Posts: 255
Default

Weird when I set it to 1 for clientbasedexpansionsettings, that's kunark for me, I can make an iksar. But setting it to 0 is classic. Eitherway theres still gnome pal/sk and hlf rng/pal. Its ok though, just not 100% classic, which I don't think will matter that much, unless it would be an easy fix.

I would make a ruleset but I'm still not proficient in how to set it up. Entering in the table is np, but maken sure it can talk to the code is another story for me lol. I am not good with c++
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-25-2016, 10:42 AM
chrsschb's Avatar
chrsschb
Dragon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 905
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Figback65 View Post
Weird when I set it to 1 for clientbasedexpansionsettings, that's kunark for me, I can make an iksar. But setting it to 0 is classic. Eitherway theres still gnome pal/sk and hlf rng/pal. Its ok though, just not 100% classic, which I don't think will matter that much, unless it would be an easy fix.

I would make a ruleset but I'm still not proficient in how to set it up. Entering in the table is np, but maken sure it can talk to the code is another story for me lol. I am not good with c++
Key word there is CLIENT based.

If you want to change race/class combos then edit the table char_create_combinations and change the required expansions for those combinations.
__________________
Clumsy's World: Resurgence
Clumsy's World [2006-2012]
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-25-2016, 10:57 AM
provocating's Avatar
provocating
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,175
Default

I could be wrong but I am fairly sure that Titanium clients can make certain combinations no matter what the setting in char_create_combinations
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:24 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3