EQEmulator Forums

EQEmulator Forums (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/index.php)
-   Support::Windows Servers (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=587)
-   -   Having trouble enabling bots on my server that is already running. (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=37602)

TylerBarnes 12-15-2013 11:10 PM

Worked like a charm, Lerxst2112.
It downloaded the files using SVN and with some poking around in load_bots.sql I was able to make it source them all so I didn't have to.
The tables are all in my database now.

*bangs head on table* Only thing that is holding me back is that the #bot commands aren't working. I went poking around in bots.sql and I found the following line:
Quote:

INSERT INTO `commands` VALUES ('bot', '0', 'Type \"#bot help\" to the see the list of available commands for bots.');
When I try using "#bot help" though it says the command isn't recognized.

I wanna thank you guys again for putting up with all my noob questions. Hopefully someone in the future who is having these problems will see this post and not rip out as many hairs as I have over this.

lerxst2112 12-16-2013 12:42 AM

Did you enable bots in cmake and then rebuild your server and copy the new executables to where you run it?

Uleat 12-16-2013 12:39 PM

I don't believe that commands are loaded into the db table any longer..they're all handled in code. They won't show up in the standard
#help command either (#bot may show up.) I think you have to type '#bot help' to see them all.

The only file you should be dealing with is load_bots.sql..and any updates since that file was created/last updated... (Don't ask, I'm not sure...)

I'm pretty sure that sql file worked as is when we switched over to the git repo, and that it hasn't been updated since. So, the only updates
that you would need should be from the '\<eqemu>\Server\utils\sql\git\required\' folder - and the one from the optional folder if you want to use
the new out-of-combat songs list.

You can try running 'drop_bots.sql' and then 'load_bots' to see if that clears up any issues.

TylerBarnes 12-16-2013 02:50 PM

FINALLY!
Alright guys, I got it working. Thanks again for your help.
Just so no one has to go through this again let me outline what I did.

I'm not entirely sure why I didn't get player_tables when I originally set up the server. It's possible it either didn't download it or I screwed it up somewhere. load_bots.sql was trying to pull from that folder but it couldn't because it didn't exist. I was able to find the scripts at
http://projecteqdb.googlecode.com/sv...k/peqdatabase/
and using SVN Checkout, I was able to download them. After fixing load_bots.sql to reflect the location of where I put them (didn't seem to work correctly otherwise) it was all sourced into my database and the tables for bots, bot inventories, etc were all there.
When I had originally set up the server I had checked enable bots (or maybe I imagined it). I had tried it again before sourcing the player_tables into my database and it didn't seem to work. So using CMake I did it a third time. I'm not sure if it had something to do with the lack of tables or if I screwed it up somewhere, but when I redid it, making sure bots was checked, configured, generated and copied over the new files, it all seemed to work. I created a few bots and spawned them just to be safe but I haven't encountered any issues yet.

So to sum it all up:
http://projecteqdb.googlecode.com/sv...k/peqdatabase/
Get the player_tables and source the bot related ones into your database.
Then re-run CMake (or just run it if it's your first time), configure and generate and copy the new files over.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.