EQEmulator Forums

EQEmulator Forums (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/index.php)
-   Archive::Development (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=621)
-   -   3.12 Delta#2 (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=3931)

BootyBill 11-19-2002 06:15 PM

P.S. I could not do much testing on Tamarae's server considering I had no commands avail. Thus all the testing was done on 3.13-DR1 and my own 3.12 with new binaries posted by Questor. Appear to both act similarly.

Bill

Trumpcard 11-20-2002 12:25 AM

Did you set the AILevel to 5 via the dbupdate,sql script?

If you dont, AI functions will not be used. I made that mistake at first.

tamarae 11-20-2002 01:48 AM

Bleh sorry about that with the commands, I was playing with it the other day and forgot to put it all back.. lol

neotokyo 11-20-2002 05:25 AM

first off all: a big thank you to all the people that offered to test my changes, and to tamarae for hosting the server.

as for the seemingly unrelated not working features:
thats what you get if you try to optimize functions you dont really understand ... let that be a lesson to you all ;-))

-- lifetaps (and all other damaging spells) should work again.
(was a problem in the damage calculation i tried to make work properly)

-- casting pets should no longer crash the zone.
(just silly programming error on my side)

concerning latency times and disconnects: the code for "NPC-AI" is kinda long, as far as runtime is concerned. on slower machines it could be possible that the server misses some packages or something. i hope with a little outside help we can get the "AI" to work a bit faster. (if thats the problem at all, i got random PL even before the AI was coded - time will tell ...)

the new files are available on the ftp-server. these files are new:
attack.cpp
MiscFunctions.cpp
NpcAI.cpp
spells.cpp

tamarae 11-20-2002 05:33 AM

Going to shower to get ready for class, and then I'll roll the new changes in to play with. It'll be up on my server within the hour. I did set the other gm commnds back down to level 0 in addon.ini, sorry about those who tried to help test and couldnt. I forgot I was fiddling the other day, and never put it back. :D

I swear I'm not always this scatterbrained.. only always at the end of the semester near final exams..hehe

BootyBill 11-20-2002 10:10 AM

Working well now. NPC agro is correct, Weap Proc works, Pet casting works, npc casting works. Will test more in a bit.

Issue with being unable to use any command might be related to Mysql. It seems when this happens that the database is not able to be queried by other players on the server. Doing a /q and coming back in solves this for the person locked up and seems to allow the other processes access to the database once more. No packet latency is apparent on the meter during this time.

All this testing was done on Tamarae's server.

Bill

neotokyo 11-20-2002 10:30 AM

bill, can you try and explain the problem with the commands again. i am not clear what you are trying to say.

the commands were disabled on Tam's server and enabled this morning. could that explain some of the difficulties?

BootyBill 11-20-2002 10:46 AM

Yes. During and sometimes directly after attacking an NPC all functions stop working as though you are going LD. No commands work at all even though the network meter does not show any latency. Everything appears normal except you cannot do anything but /q out and come back. Once you come back in from the character select screen then everything is back to normal.

It's as though a database query gets into a loop and uses all the servers processor on the query until the client disconnects. This was happening once in a while before the recent changes to attack.cpp and others, but now appears to happen much more often after the recent changes.

Bill

BootyBill 11-20-2002 10:55 AM

Tamarae,

Here are some mysql commands for database backup/ restoration:

To dump entire database into a backup file:
mysqldump --opt database > backup-file.sql;

To Restore database back:
mysql database < backup-file.sql;

To dump a single table:
mysql> SELECT * FROM account INTO OUTFILE 'account.txt'
-> FIELDS TERMINATED BY ','

To restore table data dumped in previous command:
mysql> LOAD DATA LOCAL INFILE "account.txt" INTO TABLE event
mysql> ->FIELDS TERMINATED BY ',';

BTW: I noticed some of your mobs are now KOS even though they don't attack when in agro range. They do assist correctly now though.

Bill

neotokyo 11-20-2002 11:33 AM

Tam did set the aggro range for mobs to an extreme low level, due to some issues in blackburrow, where many mobs stand close together (seperated by walls, but eqemu doesnt yet know walls)

probably thats why they didnt aggro, i could be wrong though.

for that other problem: i need the server logs to see if the client got disconnected or not. did you wait some time to see if the client just disconnected (even without typical PL getting higher)?

in some zones there (like nektulos) there are way to many caster for the zone-server to cope. i need definitly some performance improvements for the AI.

one problem with the current AI is, that if a caster tries to cast a spell of one type, but doesnt find one (due to level, range, mana, or whatever) he keeps looking and looking and looking. this uses much cpu time. i hope i can fix this tomorrow, after work.

BootyBill 11-20-2002 11:50 AM

Yes, I waited for about 3-5 minutes before using /q. I guess we could get Tam to post her server logs. What you described with the endless query sounds like what my be occuring.

Bill

tamarae 11-20-2002 01:33 PM

Okay, the aggroradius is back to 70, I was testing the differences in what aggroed and what didnt at different levels of aggroradius value. Sorry for not putting it back.

Attached is the zonelog that I think Bill is talking about.

And thanks for the db backup commands, shortly after posting it I found some info and was told some more info... and got it all backed up. :)

morpheus014 11-20-2002 02:25 PM

I have been playing on the freedom alliance server, and I have been experiencing the same issue with the "stealth" LD, functions stop working after, in this case, another person attacked a mob. I dont know if they are running your new code or not but all mobs were healing themselves obsessively for 500 hp =/ Anyway just thougth id put that out there, but i would assume that they are running the new exes since the mobs were all casting heals ..

blackhawk 11-20-2002 03:09 PM

Summoining pets
 
After install the source updates summoning pets dont work. It crashes zone know

!! any ideas?

This was right after you made this change ehhe!

Aalron - Freedom Alliance

tamarae 11-20-2002 05:24 PM

About 10 posts up was another set of changes, 4 files that neo posted today.. fixed up the crashing pets part.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.