EQEmulator Forums

EQEmulator Forums (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/index.php)
-   Archive::Database/World Building (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=625)
-   -   DB Search tool (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=4799)

Trumpcard 01-21-2003 11:16 AM

Hmmm.. Where did you see that it would only allow 3602?

I'll take a look at it this evening when I get in.

Divide 01-21-2003 11:33 AM

There is no limit that i know of,. But i have noticed that some items have caused crashes and loop deaths due to the bane set on them. the Bane dmg had no set target so it default target(self) I fixed about 25 of those when i first started messing with the DB.

killspree 01-21-2003 09:11 PM

Quote:

*/
#define SPDAT_RECORDS 3602
#define EFFECT_COUNT 12

enum RESISTTYPE {
RESIST_NONE = 0,
RESIST_MAGIC = 1,
RESIST_FIRE = 2,
RESIST_COLD = 3,
RESIST_POISON = 4,
RESIST_DISEASE = 5 };
That's in spdat.h, I guess it's not really a limit perse, but could it be that it's only looking for 3602 max due to that? Dunno I may be reading it wrong.

Trumpcard 01-22-2003 06:58 AM

Thats a good possibility, I wouldnt be suprised if this was causing a segfault when you activate a spell with an id higher than the whats defined here...

/*
solar: look at your spells_en.txt and find the id of the last spell.
this number has to be 1 more than that. if it's higher, your zone will
NOT start up. gonna autodetect this later..
*/
#define SPDAT_RECORDS 3602^M


Being set low doesnt cause a problem, but activating a new spell with this lower number could cause array out of bounds exceptions... spells[] goes up to 3602, then you try to reference spells[3640]

I'll play around with it tonight. The best way to do it would be to write a function that will parse out and find the max id in the current spells_en.txt, then use that+1 for the array size (as solar suggested at some point in the past in the comment).

Trumpcard 01-22-2003 06:13 PM

I'd say thats the problem, i up'd it to 3715 (new spells_en.txt), and Raex's helm seems to work ok for me (though I have no idea what the Faerune effect is).

Shouldnt be hard to set the high number, just need to run the loop twice, the first time to find the max id (though this is the bulky way to do it), the next time to actually load the spells...


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.