EQEmulator Forums

EQEmulator Forums (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/index.php)
-   General::General Discussion (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=586)
-   -   Am I crazy? >_< (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=28875)

vales 07-20-2009 06:14 PM

Yeah sure, go ahead. I already put a readme file with credits and everything you could imagine to make it as "legal for personal usage" it could be. :)

provocating 07-21-2009 05:55 PM

But is that all that is needed ? I am a little worried about the legalities of that. Did you contact said companies and clear it with them. Most people have a cow when you modify there work and then rebrand it.

trevius 07-21-2009 10:41 PM

If you are too worried about legalities, you probably shouldn't use them. I don't think you would get sued over them or anything, but you might get a cease and desist order over them. Other game companies that created that art might not be so happy to see "Everquest" (direct competitor for some of them) plastered all over them! Of course, unless your server was getting a ton of attention, it isn't likely anyone with power to do anything to you would ever see them. Pretty low risk over-all, but some risk is there if you are concerned.

ChaosSlayerZ 07-22-2009 09:38 PM

I say we take 1k WoW screenshots and put Everquest on each of them and then spread all over the web! Hit WoW where it hurts the most!

or... take 1k EQ screenshots, put WoW tag on them and spread then all over the web! And hit WoW where it hurts!

basically I don't care what you do as long as it hurts WoW :D

provocating 07-22-2009 11:17 PM

Well I do care since people are lawsuit happy.

nosfentora 07-23-2009 10:32 AM

I had written this batch code to do something like what Shendare did, though it doesn't restore the original after exit, but it does make a backup of it in the same folder as the batch file. The loadscreens can be in any folder, as can be the batch file. Just edit the section 'EDIT THESE', save and run.

I use it in conjunction with my client launcher that i wrote, which launches the eq client, and auto-sets the processor affinity to 0, to alleviate any multi-core issues that multi-core procs have.


Code:

@echo off
cls

REM ***** EDIT THESE (DON'T USE QUOTES AROUND LONG FOLDER NAMES!)
set EQ_DIR=D:\INSTALLS\EverQuest\Sof\
set LOADSCREEN_SOURCE_DIR=C:\Servers\EQ\Apps\Loadscreen Changer\Loadscreens\
set LAUNCHER_DIR=C:\Servers\EQ\Apps\ClientLauncher\
set USE_LAUNCHER=y
REM ***** DON'T NEED TO EDIT ANYTHING ELSE

set EQ_RESOURCE_DIR=%EQ_DIR%Resources\


set ok=n
call :calc_loadscreens
if exist "%EQ_RESOURCE_DIR%" if exist "%LOADSCREEN_SOURCE_DIR%" if exist "%LOADSCREEN_SOURCE_DIR%loadscreen*.*" if %loadscreen_count% geq 1 set ok=y

if %ok%==n goto :missing_resources

call :backup_original
call :copy_new_screen

if /i %USE_LAUNCHER%==y if not exist "%LAUNCHER_DIR%EQLauncher.exe" set USE_LAUNCHER=n
if /i %USE_LAUNCHER%==Y start /d"%LAUNCHER_DIR%" EQLauncher.exe

goto :eof

:missing_resources
echo Missing something somewhere!
echo Check that your paths are correct and that the loadscreens are present.
echo.
echo EQ Resource Dir = %EQ_RESOURCE_DIR%
echo Loadscreen Dir = %LOADSCREEN_SOURCE_DIR%
echo.
echo Loadscreens found = %loadscreen_count% & pause
goto :eof

:calc_loadscreens
set loadscreen_count=0
if not exist "%LOADSCREEN_SOURCE_DIR%" goto :eof
for %%a in (dir "%LOADSCREEN_SOURCE_DIR%load*.*") do set /a loadscreen_count=loadscreen_count+1
goto :eof

:gen_random_image
:gen_random
Set /a Number=(%Random% %%%loadscreen_count%)+1
set image=loadscreen%Number%.jpg
if not exist "%LOADSCREEN_SOURCE_DIR%%image%" goto :gen_random
goto :eof

:backup_original
if not exist "%LOADSCREEN_SOURCE_DIR%loadscreen_original.jpg" if exist ".\loadscreen.jpg" copy "%EQ_RESOURCE_DIR%loadscreen.jpg" ".\loadscreen_original.jpg"
goto :eof

:copy_new_screen
call :gen_random_image
if exist "%EQ_RESOURCE_DIR%loadscreen.jpg" del "%EQ_RESOURCE_DIR%loadscreen.jpg" /q
copy "%LOADSCREEN_SOURCE_DIR%%image%" "%EQ_RESOURCE_DIR%loadscreen.jpg%"
goto :eof


drzoyburg 07-23-2009 01:08 PM

Dude I think these are awsome, dled and tried them out, super sweet and thanks alot for some fresh stuff

Doc

vales 07-23-2009 01:58 PM

Sure no problem, drzoyburg. :)

Thanks for the additional .bat files guys. I'm a little pre-occupied with some other stuff, but when I get the chance, I'll start cranking out more of them.

As for the legal stuff, if you feel that it'll be risky, then you don't have to host them. I've done as much as I can within reason to make this for personal usage, but if you feel there's an inkling of doubt then it's probably for the best not to. :)

Hollissa 07-23-2009 04:01 PM

new Login Screen
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by vales (Post 174347)
Wow, I was messing around and I found out that I can easily modify the Login Screen as well, lol. :D

Woohoo!

I really like the Login Screen you've done. Would you post the .TGA files please? I was sick of the Depths of Darkhollow images about 10 seconds after I saw them and until having found this thread had the loading screens off so only had to see the login screen. I now have a sweet looking loading screen and would love a new login screen to match.

With or without 'The Hidden Vale' tag doesn't matter to me, I just like the image and really want to be rid of that ugly DoD image.

vales 07-23-2009 07:19 PM

Sure. Here you go. :)

Just click Free Download.

Hollissa 07-23-2009 08:21 PM

Login Image
 
Somehow you managed to duplicate EQLS_background_02.tga as both _02.tga and _04.tga...still its an improvement. Thanks.

vales 07-23-2009 08:27 PM

ROFL. Lemme fix that and I'll re-upload it. :wink:

vales 07-23-2009 08:41 PM

Here ya go. I hope this one works, hehe. :)

Hollissa 07-23-2009 08:46 PM

works
 
Yes that looks great. Thanks so much.

vales 07-23-2009 08:59 PM

Sure thing. :)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.