EQEmulator Forums

EQEmulator Forums (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/index.php)
-   Archive::Tools (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=623)
-   -   FreakU/EQClient progress (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=14787)

daeken_bb 07-14-2004 12:19 PM

FreakU/EQClient progress
 
Well, we've been working quite continuously, and we've come up with http://freaku.gforge.linuxpowered.com/ as a way to facilitate development. I've been working on the UI backend of the client, and windows are now rendering properly.

Happy Hacking,
Lord Daeken M. BlackBlade
(Cody Brocious)

daeken_bb 07-15-2004 09:02 AM

All of the screenshots from the last post about FreakU/EQClient are now back up and operational.

Enoex 07-15-2004 03:05 PM

Wow, nice work man

daeken_bb 07-15-2004 03:11 PM

Thanks.

Just wanted to update everyone again... UI translucency and fading (e.g. gradually changing to opaque when you mouse over a window, and then fading back when you leave) is fully functional now. Now it's time to start on making movable windows >:)

Windcatcher 07-15-2004 05:10 PM

Any chance of posting binaries?

WC

daeken_bb 07-15-2004 05:13 PM

Am on the phone with a friend at the moment, but if you tell me what you need, i may be able to help you out. I don't use windows, so posting win32 binaries is currently out of the question. Other than that, i can probably help you :)

Shadow-Wolf 07-15-2004 06:00 PM

Well i tryed to compile it using devc++ but i just gave up after all the errors, Im getting ready to make a new email so i can get a trial server with vsnet but i heard someone got more errors on that then i did with devc++.

Windcatcher 07-16-2004 08:01 AM

(Shrug) a Linux binary would be fine. I have a laptop running Xandros where I could give it a try...

WC

daeken_bb 07-16-2004 08:04 AM

I run a custom glibc build, so a linux binary is (I think) out of the question, however, you should be able to build it no problem. Just pull down the latest tarball, untar it, run make, and then do ./freaku zonename

Make sure you have SDL, OpenGL, GLU, and the pthreads dev libs.

Derision 07-16-2004 08:18 AM

I hacked the files a bit to compile it with Visual Studio .NET 2003

My 'hacked' Win32 source and a compiled .EXE can be downloaded from here:

www.rama.demon.co.uk/freaku.zip

I didn't log all the changes I made, but from memory:

changed fopen modes from 'r' to 'rb'
removed all 'inline' declarations.
Added #include <windows.h> where required.
Fixed wld_name mallocs which were 1 byte too short, causing runtime errors when 'free'ing.
Download SDL from here: http://www.libsdl.org/release/SDL-devel-1.2.7-VC6.zip

win32 doesn't have getopt, so I hacked the command line parsing so you need to run it as

Code:

freaku <eqdir> <zone>
e.g. freaku c:\everquest hateplane



Some zones work, lots don't, qrg and hateplane are a couple that I got to work with this Win32 version.

gxti 07-16-2004 08:26 AM

Quote:

Some calls to 'free' caused runtime errors so I just commented them out.
Are you kidding? The program probably already leaks more than a broken faucet, and you basically just told it to chew through the system's RAM like some kind of memory-chewing-thing. I have VC++ 6.x and don't mind taking the time to compile it properly, so expect a win32 binary soon.

Derision 07-16-2004 08:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gxti
Quote:

Some calls to 'free' caused runtime errors so I just commented them out.
Are you kidding? The program probably already leaks more than a broken faucet, and you basically just told it to chew through the system's RAM like some kind of memory-chewing-thing. I have VC++ 6.x and don't mind taking the time to compile it properly, so expect a win32 binary soon.

Wow, I thought I was trying to be helpful by posting what I had got to work under Win32, last thing I expected was a flame ...

Melwin2 07-16-2004 09:17 AM

Less pejoratives or I will pig. Don't belittle your fellow coders.

Windcatcher 07-16-2004 12:28 PM

As a side note, don't worry too much on trying to render mob models for the client yet. I've been working on it for a couple of days and I'm making good progress. I can render most models well now (though still a few glitches, mostly with female models' shoes, for some weird reason) and I'm about to take a stab at animating. When I'm done I'll release a new version of DZoneConverter that can render them and I'll update the .WLD reference doc. DZoneConverter doesn't bother to load the textures (it never did) and the hard part is getting the polygons right anyway.

WC

daeken_bb 07-16-2004 12:57 PM

Whee, barefoot hippy elves! :)

It's great to hear that you're working on that, it's definitely appreciated :)

I've been working on the UI code and I have fully moveable and clickable windows at this point. It's coming along quite nice. Going to work on finishing some depth rendering issues, then work on adding widget support.

Happy Hacking,
Lord Daeken M. BlackBlade
(Cody W. Brocious)




P.S.

Screenshots!

http://freaku.gforge.linuxpowered.com/gfaydark-001.jpg
http://freaku.gforge.linuxpowered.com/gfaydark-002.jpg
http://freaku.gforge.linuxpowered.com/gfaydark-003.jpg
http://freaku.gforge.linuxpowered.com/gfaydark-004.jpg
http://freaku.gforge.linuxpowered.com/gfaydark-005.jpg
http://freaku.gforge.linuxpowered.com/gfaydark-006.jpg
http://freaku.gforge.linuxpowered.com/gfaydark-007.jpg

P.P.S

Fixed depth testing:
http://freaku.gforge.linuxpowered.com/gfaydark-008.jpg

Shadow-Wolf 07-16-2004 01:28 PM

derision, i tryed your binaries and first i didn't have msvcr71d.dll then when i got the file the program doesn't run at all.....

gxti 07-16-2004 01:51 PM

Sorry, didn't mean to come off that angry, but the free() calls are kind of there for a purpose. And I got so overly infuriated with Windows after that attempt(the headers were screwing each other basically) that I gave up. It's been a few years since i did any win32 programming, and I've forgotten how bad it really is. Heil glibc. I do appreciate that we have some functionality on win32, but please find a way to get the free calls working instead of simply ignoring them.

Windcatcher 07-16-2004 04:31 PM

Update: Well, I've got mob animations working in my version of DZoneConverter. Now all I need to do is figure out the few glitches I get, but at this point I can correctly render the vast majority of mob models (like 90% or better).

WC

Edit: all glitches solved. The only thing I haven't figured out is the (0x36)Data9 area. It seems to do something with poly vertices, but I'm not sure what. At first glance it doesn't look that important since I have DZoneConverter animating mob models perfectly (maybe it has to do with mesh deformation or some sort of hinting?)

daeken_bb 07-16-2004 05:10 PM

Data9 is supposedly "skin" data. It's in the same form as the vertex texture data.

daeken_bb 07-17-2004 09:37 AM

Just got nested objects in the UI working perfectly :)

http://freaku.gforge.linuxpowered.com/gfaydark-009.jpg
http://freaku.gforge.linuxpowered.com/gfaydark-010.jpg

Melwin2 07-17-2004 11:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by daeken_bb

On a completely unrelated note, your quotation is of Marla Singer, not of Tyler Durden~

daeken_bb 07-18-2004 05:07 AM

Damn, I gotta watch that again, I'm sure you're right :(

Windcatcher 08-09-2004 04:13 PM

It's been a couple of pretty quiet weeks and I haven't seen the #freaku channel on IRC so...how's the project going?

WC

daeken_bb 08-10-2004 06:46 AM

Nobody has really been working on it. I personally am a bit lost as to where to go, and I've been really busy with real life, so I've not had much time to focus on it. The project isn't dead by any means, just a bit stagnant at the moment.

bloodgoth 08-10-2004 06:48 AM

We're all in great anticipation ^_^

sotonin 08-10-2004 07:02 AM

god i want a new client =X damn sony

killspree 08-10-2004 07:23 AM

Hmm, the OOW expansion appears to be ushering in a new file type for EQ, looks like all of the zone files are compressed into a single file now, .eqg.

sotonin 08-10-2004 07:28 AM

<-- reminds self not to patch

killspree 08-10-2004 07:31 AM

I guess I should be a bit more clear - but yeah, don't patch. This is only for the beta atm, and it's only the OOW zones. Some of them are quite large though, it's pretty odd. One of the files is 24mb...seems like a lot for a zone. Maybe there's other stuff included in it as well.

Windcatcher 08-10-2004 08:51 AM

From their standpoint it makes sense. They have a vested interest in making sure people can't cheat (as well as rip their stuff) so this is probably a totally different file format that no one can open or read (or create). If I was SOE I'd start migrating all of the zone files over time to something like this to break all of the third-party tools (including OpenZone) but maybe that's just me being paranoid.

WC

killspree 08-10-2004 08:56 AM

Agreed. That's the first thing I thought when I noticed it.

RangerDown 08-10-2004 09:18 AM

Absolutely *not* a practical way to compress zone files. I'm on dialup, and I really don't want to download a 24 mb file each time they want to make a change to 1 of the 20 zones that are in that file.
Granted, the zones don't change often... though I don't see that as a good thing either. It means SOE just slaps the expansion zones down and 24 hours after the expansion's release they probably don't ever even visit them anymore.

Derision 08-10-2004 09:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RangerDown
I really don't want to download a 24 mb file each time they want to make a change to 1 of the 20 zones that are in that file.

Allegedly they now use 'differential' patching (2nd paragraph in this link):

http://eqlive.station.sony.com/suppo...ew_patcher.jsp

which sounds like it only downloads the bits of the file that has changed.

KhaN 08-10-2004 10:01 AM

Quote:

Absolutely *not* a practical way to compress zone files. I'm on dialup, and I really don't want to download a 24 mb file each time they want to make a change to 1 of the 20 zones that are in that file.
Launch google, search RTPach.
It is being used since a looooong time now with games patcher, like WC3, C&CG, like always, SOE is so last year ...

Bytes Patcher, new files system, whats the problem if EQEmu is still "up-to-date" ? Also i still think and maintain that EQEmu should have its own client, to take eqemu out of eqlive, because this is the only real solution, yes keeping EQEmu "up-to-date" is nice, but its bypassing the problem not resolving it~

Nice to hear Freaku isnt dead btw ;)

daeken_bb 08-11-2004 04:09 AM

1) I'll probably try reverse-engineering it sometime in the next week or so. Compressed file formats are simple in general.
2) The 24MB download would be a one-time thing. From there they'd simply update single files.

daeken_bb 08-13-2004 02:16 PM

Well, I'm back to work on FreakU finally. I just finished off the last of the _major_ changes to the UI code (they started with creating it in the first place ;) ) and now have:

Movable windows
Clickable buttons
And some other spiffy stuff that I probably forgot (first time I've touched the code in 2 or 3 weeks)

I'll put up a tarball on http://freaku.gforge.linuxpowered.com in a bit :)

hypershadow66 08-13-2004 06:47 PM

the website says: 195/254 Rendered properly (76.772%)
does that mean that its almost done and is the zones the only thing needed for freakU to be completed?[/quote]

Cripp 08-13-2004 08:14 PM

i am sure there is still LOTS to do after making zones render properly :D

KhaN 08-13-2004 08:44 PM

Glad to hear you are back at working on Freaku.

Im actually making new custom zones, and i will wonder how FreakU will handle this, well, what do you plan to add to freakU that will make the life of eqemu easier (zoneproxy implementation, possibility to read 3DS ?), i know its too early for those kind of questions, since freaku is pretty alpha, but im curious.

Im not a prog, more like a graphist, if you need any help, PM me, i will be glad to help on Freaku project.

daeken_bb 08-14-2004 03:18 AM

To answer hypershadow's question, we're so far from being 'almost done' that it's not even funny. Simply making all zones display properly is a fraction of all the work.

KhaN: We may make it possible in the future to read 3DS files, but we'd need some way of tying it all together because of the extra data that's in WLD files. If you have any ideas on this, let me know.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.