Setting up pre5/11 Velious Beta1 + 6.1DR1 + Minilogin(windows)
Okay first disclaimer:
I did this mainly for myself since i was working on this on a computer i plan on not using the emulator on. Also because i found that there is no 1 current guide that has the information in it on HOW to set up a new server from scratch... It took me 3 days to get all this stuff put together from tons of different pages and forums. It worked finally, and i had a ton of issues(especially with the way they were saying to download the perl plugins IO::Scalar, etc). So im posting it here in hopes that someone else wont have to to through the same process i have in killing themselves trying to get this thing working. If you PM me about the patch i will report and / or delete your pm, depending on my mood. So stop PMing me about where you can find it. I cant help you, i wish i could. Im tired of going thru these friggin PMs that are only about the patch! Also, wherever it has brackets [ and ] be sure to note them, that means whatever username / password / server YOU wish to create. Dont type the brackets in if it says user/password/server, because thats simply me telling you thats where you choose your input. Also also, any SQL files will save by Internet Explorer default to .txt files! Ensure when you right click to download them, you are saving them as 'All Files' and ensure they have .sql at the end of the name and be named .sql.txt and will not source properly! Let me know if theres any errors, i will try to keep this free of bugssss! Download: Non EQEmu Programs http://dev.mysql.com/get/Downloads/M...m/pick#mirrors -MySQL Download v 4.0.23 http://downloads.activestate.com/Act...SWin32-x86.msi -Perl 5.8.2.808 http://home.comcast.net/~molimo140/NMAKE.EXE -NMake(perl thing) http://home.comcast.net/~molimo140/default.pl -Plugin for EQEmu Quests(right click, save as) http://home.comcast.net/~molimo140/plugin.pl -Another plugin for EQEmu Quests(right click save as) http://ppm.activestate.com/PPMPackag...s/DBI-1.48.zip -DBI Perl package(this file may take a few tries to download, the site can be buggy, but its worth it!) http://ppm.activestate.com/PPMPackag...sql-2.9007.zip -DBDMysql Perl Package(this file too, see above.) http://ppm.activestate.com/PPMPackag...ingy-2.110.zip -IO::Scalar Perl Package(this file too, see above.) You will also need to make sure you didnt patch after May 11, 2005. There are ways to fix it if you did, but dont ask. EQEmu Stuff http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/eqemulator/Maps.tar.gz?download) -All Maps(possibly not necessary, huge download 300mb http://www.facet42.com/downloads/EQE...1-DR1-Perl.zip -EQEmu Upgrade for 6.1Perl Version http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/e...Perl-Win32.zip -The remaining EQEmu Config files http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/p...ious-beta1.zip -Velious beta Database from PEQ http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...roup_id=127915 http://www.projecteq.net/sql/altadv_vars-contents.sql -Alternate Advance Contents from PEQ(right click, save as .sql and type 'All files') http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/e...1.zip?download -Minilogin 6.1 http://cvs.sourceforge.net/viewcvs.p...rt.sql?rev=1.2 -Upgrades EQEmu items from 60dr2-61dr1(right click, save as .sql and type 'All files') http://cvs.sourceforge.net/viewcvs.p...ql?rev=1.1.2.1 -upgrades something in database(right click, save as .sql and type 'All files') http://cvs.sourceforge.net/viewcvs.p...FG.SQL?rev=1.2 -something else in database(right click, save as .sql and type 'All files') http://cvs.sourceforge.net/viewcvs.p...ems.pl?rev=1.2 -Perl items conversion script(right click, save as) http://eqitems.13th-floor.org/download/items.zip -Text file Items from 13thfloor Steps: 1) Install Mysql to C:\MySQL 2) Install Perl to C:\Perl 3) Copy Nmake to C:\Perl\Bin 4) Extract Scalar, DBI, and DBD-Mysql to individual directories in temp 4a) Open command prompt, navigate to the extracted DBI directory, type in PPM then: Code:
install DBI.ppd Code:
install DBD-mysql.ppd Code:
install IO-stringy.ppd 5a) Copy Plugin.pl to C:\EQEmu 6) Create Directory C:\EQEmu\quests 6a) Copy default.pl to C:\EQEmu\quests 6b) Extract peq-velious-beta1-quests.zip to C:\EQEmu\quests 7) Create Directory C:\EQEmu\Maps 7a) Extract Maps.tar.gz to C:\EQEmu\Maps 8) Create Directory C:\EQEmu\logs 9) Extract the following database files to C:\Mysql\bin 9a) peq-velious-beta1.zip 9b) altadv_vars-contents.sql 9c) items-0.6.0-DR2-0.6.1-DR1-convert.sql 9d) 0.6.1-upgrade.sql 9e) ZONECFG.SQL 10) Open C:\Mysql\bin directory, and double click on WinMySQLAdmin.exe 11) It will ask you to create a username/password(write down/remember what you put in!) 12) Open a command prompt type: Code:
cd C:\mysql\bin [CODE]mysql |
+ Minilogin(wouldnt fit on 1 page!)
If you use Minilogin use the following steps next:
(If you aren |
Thanks for an up-to-date guide, I've been trying to use the older guides here all weekend, haven't had much luck :/.
I'll let you know how it works for me. EDIT: OK still working on this, but if the above doesn't work for you, then try this: on the GRANT PRIVILEGES thing, instead of making it '@192.bla.bla.bla' make it '@localhost' And then on the perl_load13thfloor thing, instead of '-d db' use '-d eq' And then when doing the 'INSERT INTO' etc thing, you have to type 'use eq;' beforehand. These may sound obvious to MySQL and perl veterans but this is my first experience with this stuff (but I have a little programming background) Thats just the changes I've had to make to make this work. Your results may vary |
No problem, just hope it works out... Took two days to get it up and running so i just hope i got it all remembered right!
|
OK I finished doing everything, it works great! Nice work! :)
|
Edit: Fixed all the errors up top, totally borked those somehow. I knew id forget something! First time with perl and sql, heh.
sweet, i hadnt tried it since i typed it out, im about to do that myself on the other computer. Glad it worked though, tahts good news for me! I did most of the perl and eqemu stuff a couple days ago, and have been messing with the database since then trying to get it to work... Hurrah, just glad theres finally something people can work off of 1 source wise :P Now just gotta find out how you modify this stuff because so many of these mobs are just not quite right... |
OK maybe I spoke too soon, I am having the 1017 error after clicking Play Everquest but I think thats because of my router, and doesn't have to do with your instructions.
|
Nice tutorial, this one of best i see :)
But link for download pre-patch 05/11/2005 everquest files is against forum's rules... (http://www.eqemulator.net/forums/announcement.php?f=586). You may be permaban for that :( I'm not moderator, administrator or devs in eqemu, this is just a advice. This is my last message for this kind of rules. In french country, backpatch are not considered like warez, if you have the original software. |
Hopefully if he just takes that link out and puts a notice that ppl have to have copy of the pre 5/11 patch he should be gtg.
I will erase my old DB and try and mostly start from scratch trying this see if I can finally get my lil server going correctly and be seen hehe. |
Quote:
strike what I said earlier. eqemu works as well as it does because it's developed in the legal grey/white area and because SOE can't do anything about them as long as that's the case. (for now!) allowing links to older files, even for just a few moments, puts the emu's developement at risk. I don't think he has to change his language, however. He could link to Dr. Zauis's system resore idea, for example. A number of custom-legit servers, too, have a solution for this problem. |
Yeah, great tutorial, but do us all a favor and edit that link for pre patch from your post please. Don't want one mistake to ruin it for the rest of us.
|
I just tried updating to live from the patch given above. There is NOTHING different. All the server downloaded was eqhost.ini which I had changed, even after a full file scan. The EQ Version number program gave the same version number as well.
Dunno if that means he has to take it down, but that patch isn't worth much unless you know what version of EQ you have to patch it from. So I'm thinking that the fact I get stuck at the 1017 error and can't get past the log in screen trying to log onto other EQEmu servers is because the patch given above is the same as live. |
Are there any other places other then activestate.com to get those few utility addons? I can't seem to get access to that site - I'm very much looking forward to trying the tutorial.
-- Edit -- Nevermind - I managed to get into it finally, must have just been really busy this morning and got the modules needed. |
bull... I just ran everquest.exe and it replaced my eqgame.exe, among other things.
it doesn't bother me, I have the subject thread and the silly zipfile nested nicely in one of my folders. Besides, there are much less riskier ways of of reverting to the december patch, why put this great guide at risk... edit one last little thing Quote:
something I shourd be worried about? |
Ok. a little note to any new folks out there (like me) and hope everyone reads this whole thread before doing this (this is a really well put together guide btw) :)
When i sourced the first database (the big one), i went for a cup of coffee and did a couple more things and came back and waited...and waited. when it got done, i lost track of where i was and cut right to the next procedure (the delete items deal) DON'T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE I DID! be sure to source the other little items into the database first. what happened was when i ran the perl load items, i got a crapload of errors because i skipped the 6.0-6.1 convert and had to start ALL OVER hehe |
nm got it worked out
|
Okay, i editted out the patch thing, didnt realise. Thanks alot for letting me know Belf, i see your posts everywhere, you are very informative! And there were quite a few files that were updated on 5/11. I havent gotten it to work yet with the newest patch.
As for the command.pl aparently its an unnecisary file and you can create a blank one if you wish. The PEQ guys told me its not needed... I tried what they said and it just gave me another error. So im not going to bother posting what it was. Also, if someone else is new to this like me... You need to eb careful when you are in zones like AkAnon, Dragon Necropolis, Veeshans Peak, and Sleepers Tomb... You will get a ton of errors from zone.exe in regards to petstruct not being redefined... And if you click abort it will basically LD you from the zone. Hope the guide works for everyone else, really sorry about the patch thing. I didnt realise that was warez or whatever... |
went through the guide and came across a couple things last nite. a couple of the links when clicking on them open up a text doc. i tried saving it as an sql file and they come up errors when trying to source them.
http://www.projecteq.net/sql/altadv_vars-contents.sql -Alternate Advance Contents from PEQ http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/....1.zip?download -Minilogin 6.1 http://cvs.sourceforge.net/viewcvs....ert.sql?rev=1.2 -Upgrades EQEmu items from 60dr2-61dr1 http://cvs.sourceforge.net/viewcvs....sql?rev=1.1.2.1 -upgrades something in database http://cvs.sourceforge.net/viewcvs....CFG.SQL?rev=1.2 -something else in database those are the ones. was wondering if i'm just doing something wrong with those. also atm i'm coming up with a connection failed 10061 error for world.exe. i deleted everything once already to start over thinking maybe i missed a step or something and am still getting the same error. any advice would be cool. |
hmmm. so thats what that error is. i came across it in lake of ill omen and had to manually put my char back in SFG through the DB. i guess its one certain kind of pet (since i couldn't see any when i got the error) i went all through seb with chanter pets and wizzie familiars with no prob. so until there's a fix, guess we need to avoid those places :\
|
Quote:
Quote:
Changed the first post to be alittle more specific on how to download the SQL files, and which files you can download by right clicking. |
Quote:
Minilogin should bring up a page with mirrors to download from. -T |
Hi guys,this tutorial is really great,but i got the next problem :p
When im on the server selection screen i see no servers,all worked fine on the world,boot5zones and minilogin,when i log into the server screen selection i see on the minilogin i get one client,so that is working fine. My Eqhost.txt of my Everquest directory is: [LoginServer] Host=127.0.0.1:5999 LOGINSERVER.INI [LoginServer] loginserver=127.0.0.1 loginserver2=127.0.0.1 loginport=5999 loginport2=5999 worldname=------------- worldaddress=127.0.0.1 locked=false account= password= [WorldServer] Defaultstatus= Unavailzone= [ChatChannelServer] worldshortname= chataddress= chatport= [LoginConfig] ServerMode=Minilogin ServerPort=5999 DB.INI [Database] host=127.0.0.1 user=******* password=******* database=eq BOOT5ZONES.BAT start zoneperl . 127.0.0.1 8780 127.0.0.1 start zoneperl . 127.0.0.1 8781 127.0.0.1 start zoneperl . 127.0.0.1 8782 127.0.0.1 start zoneperl . 127.0.0.1 8783 127.0.0.1 start zoneperl . 127.0.0.1 8784 127.0.0.1 exit cls Any sugestions plz?on the world.txt i can see i get logged on the loging server correctly,but on the server selection i see no servers,plz help :) |
First question is are you playing on the same computer as the server is on, and in the databaase file, in accounts, did you set the minilogin_ip to 127.0.0.1?
-T |
Quote:
|
I host and play from the same pc
MiniloginAccounts.ini # Max 200 lines total (including comments and blank lines) # Blank lines may mess up the line # reported in error messages 81.9.208.65 account password On the account password i have to put my eqemu account? |
Quote:
|
Only couple things I could see Lgar is in your miniloginsaccount.ini use the same 127.0.0.1 as the rest and yes you use the name/pass that you will log into the game with. Also does you eqhost.txt file say 127.0.0.1:5999 aswell?
|
Quote:
I dont have a miniloginacounts.txt or whatever, im not sure wehre it would go or whats supposed to be in there honestly. So i cant comment on that, mine worked completely without it. |
I've been reading for a few days.. and im closer than i've been in about 2 years to getting this up and running. I don't have any errors with mini/world/boot zones except a plugin one for perl. I'm stuck at logging in to server right at beginning of game.. Eqhost is 127.0.0.1:5999 and loginserver
[LoginServer] loginserver=localhost loginserver2=localhost loginport=5999 loginport2=5999 worldname=abcdefghijklmno worldaddress=127.0.0.1 locked=false account= password= [WorldServer] Defaultstatus= Unavailzone= [ChatChannelServer] worldshortname= chataddress= chatport= [LoginConfig] ServerMode=Minilogin ServerPort=5999 currently.. about my 9th combination trying my local ip.. localhost and 127.0.0.1 i shouldn't worry about bootzones until i see my server correct? |
Yeah cala i got 127.0.0.1:5999 on eqhost and all the others files,but still dont see my server on the server selection screen :/
|
Legar, im stuck at connecting, are you behind a router? I've had this working a long long time ago.. and i remember switching between localhost/127.0.0.1/and my ip 192.168.-.- and had my wife and I both playing. but i can't get the right combo. My eq version is correct, i can play on other eqemulator servers.
|
balls!
holy balls! id just like to say thanks, ive been looking for a viable everquest emulator for going on a year and ive tried more tutorials on doing one than i should have. got everything working on this one up to the point of 1017 cause i am yet to find a working eq version, but i think that will do it so id like to say THANKS!
*edit* I have managed to get a working version, but at the moment all i can access is fatesdestiny, if i change my eqhost to whats on the tutorial, the window just hangs after i hit connect |
wow!
Omgsh! Great awsome guide!
Worked Magic for me! :D if you figure out how to do a internet server let us know :D Thanks again! |
Hey, I dont know where all the errors are coming from. I ran this guide on a few computers now and it worked perfectly for me.
As for *where* the PEQ pre5/11 patch is i cant say. Sorry, i dont know if its a rule over at projecteq, but i would probably ask over there instead. Hopefully this works for most, i honestly cant say why your servers are not showing up. Like i said before, sometimes that would happen, but if i logout or restart my EQ client it would show up, it was never permanent. If you put everything in the way it was stated in the guide you should be good to go. I would say if you change any of the 127.0.0.1 to localhost, that you change them all. If you cannot connect to the worldserver, then i would make sure your loginserver and worldserver are actually takling to each other. If they are, then theres probably a problem between the two of them, but thats a guess. So once again, sorry for thsoe who it isnt working for. I can try to help where i can, but i cant offer up the info on where the patch is, and i dont know why the servers arent showing up. Sorry :( As for a working internet version, i cant say. I am behind a military network, so i basically built this for my personal laptop, since i get no chance to play on my live account and im having withdrawls :P Maybe some experienced veterans will come visit and inform on some of the errors. Because i dont know :( |
question
the default and plugin for eqemu is that supposed to be saved as a .sql also or .pl? nevermind i figured it out
|
This guide is fantastic..I just can't get to server select for some reason.. Keep getting the "make sure you are online" window Must be my host file?
|
reading some .txt files in my eq folder, most say october 25th, not sure that is accurate.. but I've tried 0.6.0 DR 3 and 0.6.1 DR2... with 6.0 minilogin and 6.1 to match. I can play on other servers just fine.. and I can even see mine on that list. I've dished out 15$ for a domain name as well, trying to get past my D-Link router.. Still trying.
|
i typed cd c:\mysql\bin
then mysql -u root then create database eq; i get ERROR 1007: cant crate database 'eq' database exist this is the first time ive installed and tried to pust this together |
Aradorn:
http://dev.mysql.com/doc/mysql/en/drop-database.html Look there... Try dropping the database and recreating it. Grim: Quote:
|
ive done the patchme thing along time ago it just says the database already exist
i went on to step 16 and typed Source load_system.sql; and everyitem when it tried to source said it was duplicate i sat for over an hour and it did this |
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:53 AM. |
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.