EQEmulator Forums

EQEmulator Forums (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/index.php)
-   Development::Database/World Building (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=596)
-   -   ProjectEQ CVS (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=23536)

cavedude 08-24-2007 08:35 AM

ProjectEQ SVN
 
The ProjectEQ database and quests are now available via SVN using Google. All I ask is that bugs are reported or additions are made and submitted here: http://peqtgc.com/phpBB2/viewforum.p...a34043b6c9ad2d

THERE WILL BE NO SUPPORT FOR SVN! This is not an official release and really is only meant for database developers, or advanced users.

To get the DB, use this address:
http://projecteqdb.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/

For quests:
http://projecteqquests.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/quests

The EQEmu code can be grabbed here:
http://projecteqemu.googlecode.com/s...nk/EQEmuServer

Basic installation:

Player tables - Do source drop_player.sql and then source load_player.sql at a mysql command prompt. WARNING: This will destroy all character information! Once you setup your database once, this step is optional and you can skip right on to system tables. If you want to source tables individually, you can. Just do a source tablename.sql; at the command prompt for whichever tables you wish to drop/source.

System tables - This is the actual content of the db. If you have custom changes or the like, I don't recommend using this as all of your custom data will be destroyed! First, extract peqdb_XXXXRevxxx.sql.gz with WinRAR or another compression program that supports gz into the same dir as all the other sqls. (If you get a corrupt SQL or an error message while extracting, then your program DOES NOT properly support it!) Then, at the mysql command prompt do source drop_system.sql and then source peqdb_XXXXRevxxx.sql. This can take some time so be patient.

For those upgrading their DB: Look in the updates folder, and source in every file up to the current revision, specified by the system .gz file. If there is no update for the current revision, then no player update is needed.

*Before it's asked, no I will not use another compression type. I use Linux so .gz is the easiest for me. WinRAR fully supports it, so there are no problems for Windows users.*

You're done!

Just a quick note, you'll notice the db filename above has XXXXRevxxx in it's name. That's because the name will change with every update. The version will correspond with the current EQEmu build. So, since the current EQEmu build is 1129, and the current SVN revision is 59. The db's filename is peqdb_1129Rev59.sql.gz. If both the EQEmu build and SVN revision remain the same, but the DB updates, then a letter will be tacked on the end of the DB version.

This system is far superior for many reasons. First, it's a lot easier for me so expect more frequent updates. Second, the compressed db saves a LOT of space so it's quicker to upload/download. The version number will make things MUCH easier since you no longer need to say, in my db which is 7 days old I found this bug. Now you can reference the db by version number. Also, my hope is this may eliminate the does this db work with the current EQEmu build questions.

John Adams 08-24-2007 08:49 AM

Link is busted there, CD. :)

cavedude 08-24-2007 08:51 AM

That's what I get for copying and pasting.

http://www.projecteq.net/phpBB2/viewforum.php?f=38

Diuretic 11-02-2007 12:04 PM

This is exactly the thread for this newb question, I think.

If I'm downloading the PEQ db via CVS, must I always do a player wipe when I source drop_player.sql and then source load_player.sql?

I'm afraid that I can't just drop and load the system updates for fear of updating SQL code in the system tables that depend upon updates in the player tables.

I know I can patch less frequently, but each update gives me something to pick through and learn from.

Whatcha think?

Thanks,

D.

cavedude 11-02-2007 01:22 PM

You don't need to drop and source player tables when upgrading, only system. That's why the two are separated.

cavedude 02-12-2008 03:07 AM

Bump so everybody sees the changes to CVS.

Knightly 02-12-2008 04:43 AM

Tricky...I was just about to tell you about the zip problem when you fixed it. ;-)

FYI, 7-zip for Windows will also support gzip format and it is a free (and very well written) archiving program.

cavedude 02-12-2008 04:43 AM

Corrected the corrupt file, I forgot to mark the .gz as binary instead of text ;)

Zandig 02-12-2008 05:13 AM

It's extracting now with Winrar.
Thanks for fixing it. Had me stumped earlier as I was going thru a myriad of decompression programs for Windows.

effeEQ 02-13-2008 08:25 AM

oi, i get this error when trying to connect with wincvs:

cvs checkout: warning: unrecognized response `'ssh' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
' from cvs server
cvs checkout: warning: unrecognized response `operable program or batch file.
' from cvs server
cvs [checkout aborted]: end of file from server (consult above messages if any)

any tips? searched forums, and google, no help...

Annihilator 02-13-2008 11:02 PM

New CVS method
 
The new CVS method has a major drawback. Instead of taking a little under 3 minutes to source the new database, it now takes forever! I finally stopped keeping track after 6 hours at which I turned off the monitor and went to bed.

cavedude 02-14-2008 12:42 AM

You're not alone, that's been corrected with 1091a.

The problem was this dump method sourced in fine for me, and always has. But, the new dump method should work for everybody.

Zandig 02-14-2008 02:10 AM

6 hours!
1091 of the database took me about 10 minutes to source tops. Although that is much longer than it used to take. I was thinking this was due to much more added to the public release of the database than was previously available?

Will have to try 1091a.

Annihilator 02-14-2008 12:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zandig (Post 143226)
6 hours!
1091 of the database took me about 10 minutes to source tops. Although that is much longer than it used to take. I was thinking this was due to much more added to the public release of the database than was previously available?

Will have to try 1091a.

What kind of computer are you using that let you source 120MB of data in 10 minutes?!?!? The PC that I have dedicated to the Emu server isn't a speed demon by far but it's no snail. Old method only took me 2 minutes 40 seconds to do a complete source of the DB.

The biggest drawback is that the new method processes line by line rather than a complete table at at time.

I will try 1091a later and see how long it takes for me to source.

cavedude 02-14-2008 01:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Annihilator (Post 143248)
The biggest drawback is that the new method processes line by line rather than a complete table at at time.

1091a and all future versions will not.

Annihilator 02-14-2008 02:09 PM

No biggie.. I wasn't really complaining, just stating the time differences. :)

Annihilator 02-14-2008 02:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cavedude (Post 143249)
1091a and all future versions will not.

Thanks CD, all better now! :)

Zandig 02-15-2008 01:27 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Annihilator (Post 143248)
What kind of computer are you using that let you source 120MB of data in 10 minutes?!?!? The PC that I have dedicated to the Emu server isn't a speed demon by far but it's no snail. Old method only took me 2 minutes 40 seconds to do a complete source of the DB.

The biggest drawback is that the new method processes line by line rather than a complete table at at time.

I will try 1091a later and see how long it takes for me to source.

AMD FX-60
2 gigs ram
WinXP

...good to see 1091a is sourcing better.

Annihilator 02-15-2008 01:39 AM

Yep. Source time back down to a 2.5 minutes on a P4 3GHz with a gig of memory. Much improved.

Bishop4351 02-21-2008 08:34 AM

Not sure in windows but you can just for loop it to import the db's in linux with some thing simple like:

for file in *.*; do mysql peq < $file; done

This would also mean that every file in the folder was one you wanted in the db.

cavedude 02-25-2008 03:01 AM

I recommend everybody grab the newest commands.sql from CVS. In contains ALL EQEmu commands, their default access values, and a handy new description field with their descriptions.

leslamarch 02-25-2008 07:24 AM

CD,
I was just wondering if you could point me in the right direction for a change log for the database? Sorry if i missed it somewhere :mad:
Thanks
~LL~

cavedude 02-25-2008 08:01 AM

http://www.projecteq.net/phpBB2/view...c53dbc5bf86a99

Is as good as we'll get. It's a good overview of the changes, but if every change was documented, half of my time would be spent writing that up ;)

leslamarch 02-25-2008 08:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cavedude (Post 143652)
http://www.projecteq.net/phpBB2/view...c53dbc5bf86a99

Is as good as we'll get. It's a good overview of the changes, but if every change was documented, half of my time would be spent writing that up ;)

Perfect, Just what i was wanting to see.
Thanks So Much

gorgoth 03-03-2008 10:34 AM

Need help with winCVS
 
I got winCVS and put in the information give and It says it can't find the specified file. Below is what I put in and I am at a loss as to what is going wrong.

under Module Name: peq_db

and under CVSROOT: :pserver:anonymous@peq.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/peq


The exact error message I get is:

Unable to initialize the CVS process: The system cannot find the file specified. The CVS used is : cvs.exe

did the files change?

cavedude 03-16-2008 09:03 AM

Seeing that the bots are becoming more popular and polished, I added two files to the CVS, bot_npcs.bat and bot_npcs.sh.

They simply will dump your current NPC bots to bot_npcs.sql, so that they can be sourced back in after you do a DB update.

Windows users:

1. Open bot.npcs.bat with notepad or similar and change peq to the name of your database.
2. Then, run the .bat file. It will create a new file called bot_npcs.sql in the same directory.
3. Update your database as normal.
4. Source in bot_npcs.sql

That's it!

Linux users do the same except using bot_npcs.sh. Make sure it's marked executable, and you run it as ./bot_npcs.sh ;)

Of course, you will need to repeat this every time you update your database, or your bot NPCs will be lost.

The next version of the installer (which will offer a db update feature) will do this automatically.

cubber 03-17-2008 12:54 AM

The linux script worked great, except I had to add a -p to the commands in order for it to prompt me for a password.

When sourcing the bot's back into the DB will they overwrite any new NPC additions to the peq DB? I noticed that the last entry before my bots start is 2700011 A_warm, my bots start at 2700012 and go to 2700033 currently, which is the last npc in the DB.

cavedude 03-17-2008 01:40 AM

I am pretty sure the bots will just tack themselves on the end of the NPC IDs. That being said, PEQ will never use IDs that high. In fact, I don't know why those 136 NPCs are there in the first place. The highest ID we should be using is 999,999. No zone at this point has an ID in the thousands, and we derive our NPC IDs by zoneidnumber. So no, those IDs are well into the reserved range and won't be used by us, more than likely ever.

cubber 03-17-2008 01:45 AM

Great thanks for the info.

wolfeedarkfang 04-05-2008 07:05 PM

This might be a dumb question. When i downloaded the cvs, i noticed 32 other sql files in the same directory besides the ones mentioned. Do i need to source them? It seams like a time consuming task. :)

cavedude 04-06-2008 07:19 AM

The first post discusses how to source the db.

deaddraqear 05-07-2008 12:05 AM

Hi.. been searching forever for a solution to this, all i've found was a guy asking the same thing but no replies..

cvs -d pserver:anonymous@projecteq.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/projecteq checkout -P -- peq_db (in directory C:\)
cvs checkout: warning: unrecognized response `'ssh' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
' from cvs server
cvs checkout: warning: unrecognized response `operable program or batch file.
' from cvs server
cvs [checkout aborted]: end of file from server (consult above messages if any)

***** CVS exited normally with code 1 *****

Kassan 06-07-2008 09:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by deaddraqear (Post 148374)
Hi.. been searching forever for a solution to this, all i've found was a guy asking the same thing but no replies..

cvs -d pserver:anonymous@projecteq.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/projecteq checkout -P -- peq_db (in directory C:\)
cvs checkout: warning: unrecognized response `'ssh' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
' from cvs server
cvs checkout: warning: unrecognized response `operable program or batch file.
' from cvs server
cvs [checkout aborted]: end of file from server (consult above messages if any)

***** CVS exited normally with code 1 *****


Guys anyone found a solution for this issue??

John Adams 06-08-2008 04:50 PM

I have no problems using this command either using TortoiseCVS on Windows or CVS on linux FC8.
Code:

cvs -d :pserver:anonymous@projecteq.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/projecteq checkout peq_db

cvs -d :pserver:anonymous@eqemuquests.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/eqemuquests checkout peq_quests

This is the script I use to checkout new code weekly on Linux.

cavedude 06-08-2008 05:05 PM

projecteq.cvs.sourceforge.net is the wrong address, we are at peq.cvs.sourceforge.net.

Kassan 06-12-2008 02:22 PM

Thanks for your replies.

The answer was from JohnAdams .... I forgot the add the : (semi colon) to the front of the pserver I had:

pserver:anonymous@peq.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/peq

Rather than

:pserver:anonymous@peq.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/peq

(the semi colon up front)

deaddraqear - This is also the answer to your question.

Thanks for your help guys

John Adams 06-12-2008 03:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cavedude (Post 150301)
projecteq.cvs.sourceforge.net is the wrong address, we are at peq.cvs.sourceforge.net.

Oops. No wonder! ;)

cavedude 10-07-2008 03:36 PM

Just bumping so the changes to DB build revision and updates folder are seen by everybody.

cavedude 04-12-2009 10:30 PM

Another bump so everybody sees we've moved to SVN. CVS should no longer be needed around here.

drakelord 04-12-2009 10:48 PM

Sweet. Saves me time from having to install CVS stuff on my linux box.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.