EQEmulator Forums

EQEmulator Forums (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/index.php)
-   Tutorials::Needs work (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=631)
-   -   OUTDATED:: HOWTO: Setup a server with EQEmu 5.X (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=10514)

Bearik 11-26-2003 11:47 PM

OUTDATED:: HOWTO: Setup a server with EQEmu 5.X
 
Outdated - information may be useful for future tutorials, but no information here should be used or trusted

Step One: Before You Start

1. Download and install MySQL 4.0.16 or MySQL 3.23.58

2. Download and extract the latest EQEmu server binaries to wherever you want.

Step Two: MySQL Setup

1. Run winmysqladmin from your mysql\bin folder, a window should open asking for a username and password, chose a username and password you can remember. Leave winmysqladmin running.

2. Run dos prompt (start,run,cmd) and type:
cd\mysql\bin

mysql -u root mysql
(this opens mysql fully enabled)


Once inside mysql type:

grant all privileges on *.* to username@localhost identified by 'password' with grant option;

Change underlined username and underlined password with the username/password you chose when you ran winmysqladmin for the first time.

http://home.comcast.net/~bearik/5.JPG

3. Type in:
create database eq;

http://home.comcast.net/~bearik/1.JPG

4. Now you need to source in your SQL files into your database, So move db.sql from the EQEmu folder to mysql\bin

5. Type in:
use eq;
source db.sql;

http://home.comcast.net/~bearik/2.JPG

Now alot of lines should appear saying Query OK, 1 row affected <0.00 sec>

6. Exit MySQL

Step Three: EQEmu Setup

Now you need to edit LoginServer.ini and db.ini only underlined text you need to modify

db.ini

[Database]
host=localhost
user=YourMysqlUsername
password=YourMysqlPassword
database=eq
compression=off

Replace YourMysqlUsername with the username you chose and replace YourMysqlPassword with the password you chose (Duh)

LoginServer.ini

[LoginServer]
loginserver=eqlogin1.eqemulator.net
loginport=5997
worldname=Your server name here
worldaddress=Your external IP Address here
locked=false

[WorldServer]
Defaultstatus=0
Unavailzone=

[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=Standalone
ServerPort=5999
UplinkAddress=
UplinkPort=
UplinkAccount=
UplinkPassword=

Replace Your server name here with what you want your server to be called. (Note: Dont put server in your worldname)

Replace Your external IP Address here with your IP address, http://www.whatismyip.com/ can tell you what that is.

Step Four: Running EQEmu

1. Copy spells_en and spells_us from your EverQuest directory to your EQEmu directory

2. Right click on Boot5zones.bat and click edit. It will open up to something like this

@echo off

if NOT exist spells_en.txt goto NOSPELL

start zone . YourIP 7995 YourIP
start zone . YourIP 7996 YourIP
start zone . YourIP 7997 YourIP
start zone . YourIP 7998 YourIP
start zone . YourIP 7999 YourIP
exit
cls

You need to replace YourIP with you guessed it, your IP address. Again you can find out what your IP address is by going to http://www.whatismyip.com/

One effective way of doing this is pressing CTRL + H, a window will pop up that looks lke this (Note: CTRL + H doesnt work in all text editors, so just use notepad for this)

http://home.comcast.net/~bearik/3.JPG

After Find what: Put in YourIP and after Replace With: Put your IP address

http://home.comcast.net/~bearik/4.JPG

Then just keep hitting replace until it replaces all of the YourIPs

3. Start up world.exe If you didnt setup db.ini correctly it will give you a bunch of errors that it cant access the 'eq' database. If this happens make sure the database is running (check services running) or open up winmysqladmin.exe if its not. The last message you should see is it trying to post itself to the EQEmu login servers. It mail fail due to internet traffic, if so close it and try again. You should see this at the end signifying your server is being listed at EQEmu.

World server listening on: port 9000
Connected to LoginServer: eqlogin1.eqemulator.net:5997

4. Start up Boot5zones.bat, this will start 5 zone servers in 5 different windows.

5. Enjoy

Notes:

For now, make sure your firewalls are turned off, this includes the Windows XP/2k3 software firewall. Check Here for information on running behind a firewall

Right now the best 5.x compatible database is MWnpcmovDB, bytcsmyworld. For the latest release check the World Building forum.

If you want to compile your own server binaries with the latest dev releases check this topic Click Here

/End Guide Last updated: Monday, Dec 1, 2003

Big thanks to arkaria, shawn, mattmeck.

Any suggestions for the guide would be appreciated, and please tell me if something is incorrect.

ThoQ 11-27-2003 05:37 PM

ok, When i go to start Worlddebug.exe the window opens and closes very fast.

When i run it through cmd, it says

Code:

[Database] block not found in DB.INI.
Read README.TXT!

C:\EqEmu\cvs\newsource\build\

I've looked through any available documentation, double, triple, and quadruple checked my mysql config, my firewalls are disabled/don't have one.

I've followed yours and the sticky post on to how to get this to work, but i can't get past this spot. Any help?

arkaria 11-27-2003 07:18 PM

what does your db.ini look like?

Astartae 11-28-2003 07:06 AM

When I did the last step on this guid, this is what I get:

Quote:

C:\Games\EverQ\EQ5 Win>world.exe flag Astartae 200
Got signal 0
[Status] CURRENT_WORLD_VERSION:EQEMu 0.5.2
Account being GM Flagged:Astartae, Level: 200
Database Error: Lost connection, attempting to recover....
DB Query Error #2006: MySQL server has gone away
database.SetGMFlag failed.

C:\Games\EverQ\EQ5 Win>
Any ideas what that means? I have winmysqladmin.exe running and the light on it is green. I have the eq database created and sourced using the db.sql and the update.sql that came with the 5.2 download...

Bearik 11-28-2003 10:51 AM

MySQL is rejecting the password you gave it, did you edit DB.ini?

Also check this topic
http://www.everquestserver.com/forum...pic.php?t=1169

And you only need to source DB.sql from the 5.2 binaries, update.sql is just for updating older DBs.

Astartae 11-28-2003 11:57 AM

Yes and I am pretty sure I put the same password in both but I'll double check everything. Thanks for giving me some light on the meaning of that error.

Shawn319 11-29-2003 05:16 AM

Looks good except for the part where you do the 'grant' command..

The best time to do this, is right before you plan on creating the 'eq' database.

From a command line (start, run, CMD), type:

cd\mysql\bin

mysql -u root mysql
(this opens mysql fully enabled)

then once inside mysql, type:

grant all privileges on *.* to username@localhost identified by 'password' with grant option;

(and change the username/password to be the u/p you choose when running winmysqladmin for the first time)

Then go on to create the database.

arkaria 11-29-2003 05:33 AM

Make no diff what so ever when you do the grant command so long as it's beofer you try to start up your server.

Bearik 11-29-2003 11:22 AM

Updated guide with new grant procedure and a couple others suggestions (Thanks matt/shawn)

El_Labero 11-29-2003 07:25 PM

i

rmm99 11-30-2003 05:04 AM

Someone else on the boards fixed that error by using only lower case user names and passwords. Your mileage may vary.

Icebluud 11-30-2003 10:49 AM

Hey all, this is my first time setting up one of these servers. everything looks fine when starting the server except for some reason it cant contact the login server.. I copy/pasted the loginserver.ini from this post so I'm not to sure what could cause this.
[Status] CURRENT_WORLD_VERSION:EQEMu 0.5.1
[Status] Loading variables..
[Status] Loading zones..
[Status] Loading items..
[Status] EMuShareMem loaded
[Status] Loading items from database: count=25924, max id=68199
[LoginServer] block not found in 'LoginServer.ini'.[Status] Loading guild ranks..
[Status] Loading addon.ini..
[Status] Loading EQ time of day..
[Status] Reboot zone modes ON
[Status] Deleted 0 stale player corpses from database
[Status] Deleted 0 stale player backups from database
Warning: Pants may change during online play.
TCP listening on: port 9000
World server listening on: port 9000

heres the server I'm logging into
[LoginServer]
loginserver=eqlogin1.eqemulator.net
loginport=5997
I'll keep digging and check back in a few

Icebluud 11-30-2003 03:26 PM

Bah damn spaces...there were spaces at the end of the lines when I copy/pasted.

a_Guest03 12-01-2003 03:18 AM

Stickied for grins. Let's get this cleaned up.

Shawn319 12-02-2003 02:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by arkaria
Make no diff what so ever when you do the grant command so long as it's beofer you try to start up your server.

Correct, but some people have trouble using 'source db.sql' when they have not given themselves the privileges. Also, it makes sence to do this at a time when you would be at mysql anyway..

=)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.