EQEmulator Forums

EQEmulator Forums (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/index.php)
-   Archive::Tutorials/Howto's (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=619)
-   -   HOWTO: Setup an EQEmu server as of 06/01/2004 (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=12337)

Jezebell 03-08-2004 01:55 PM

HOWTO: Setup an EQEmu server as of 06/01/2004
 
This guide assumes you are using Microsoft Windows and have basic knowledge of computers and Windows and how to create batch/text files. Nothing I post here is supported, but I will try to answer any questions. I am not a programmer and my knowledge of the MySQL databases is very limited but I am learning as I go along. Just a fyi, DR stands for Developers Release, which means it is not official. You will need WinRAR to open some of the files. If you have a router look here Router Guide, if you have a firewall it needs to be configured to allow access to the ports.

I highly recommend downloading MySQL-Front to manage your database.

Other third-party programs I recommend for managing your database such as items, loot, merchants, factions, etc.

Sandy's Loot Editor 1.2

Mangoo's Item Editor 1.9.1

capusr5's IEQ



FIRST STEP:

1. Download MySQL 4.0.18 , after that install the downloaded file

2. click 5.7-DR3

3. click EQEMu 5.6 Config and download EQEmu-0.5.6-Configuration.zip

4. Extract everything to C:\EQEmu

5. Download ProjectEQ.com Alpha 1 database

Download
Govtcheeze loot updates

Extract them to C:\mysql\bin

SECOND STEP:

1. Browse to C:\mysql\bin and run winmysqladmin.exe, enter a username and password.

2. Right-click the desktop, go to New > Text file, name it MySQL.bat, edit it to include this and then save it.

Code:

cd\mysql\bin
mysql -b -u root mysql

anytime you need to enter something in the MySQL command line just run MySQL.bat.

3. Run MySQL.bat and type:

Code:

grant all privileges on *.* to username@localhost identified by 'password' with grant option;
(replace username/password with your winmysqladmin username//password)

Press Enter....type:

Code:

create database eq;
Press Enter....type:

Code:

use eq;
Press Enter....type:

Code:

source MW_057DR2_alpha_1.sql;
Press Enter.

Lots of stuff should fly by with no errors. Type:

Code:

source loot_update.sql;
Press Enter.

Lots of stuff should fly by with no errors. Type:

Code:

source npc_types_update.sql;
Press Enter.

Lots of stuff should fly by with no errors. Type:

Code:

quit
Press Enter.


THIRD STEP:

1. Open db.ini and make sure it looks like this:

Code:

[Database]
host=127.0.0.1
user=YourMysqlUsername
password=YourMysqlPassword
database=eq
compression=off

2. Open LoginServer.ini and make sure it looks like this:

Code:

[LoginServer]
loginserver=eqlogin1.eqemulator.net
loginserver2=eqlogin2.eqemulator.net
loginserver3=eqlogin3.eqemulator.net
loginport=5997
loginport=5997
loginport=5997
worldname=Yourservername
worldaddress=YourexternalIPAddress
locked=false

[WorldServer]
Defaultstatus=0
Unavailzone=

[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=Standalone
ServerPort=5999
UplinkAddress=
UplinkPort=
UplinkAccount=
UplinkPassword=

[ChatChannelServer]
ChatChannelServer=YourInternalIPAddress

Make sure there are NO SPACES at the end of any of the lines!!

You can find your External IP by going to http://www.whatismyip.com and your Internal IP by running the command prompt and typing IPCONFIG

3. Edit boot5zones.bat and make sure it looks like this:

Code:

REM: ****Read this first!!!****

REM: This file requires your real IP in the place of "YourIP" when you are connecting
REM: To the EQEmu Loginserver.

REM: When you are using minilogin, Replace all IP Addresses to say 127.0.0.1

REM: If you still get errors try using localhost instead of 127.0.0.1

REM:--------------Start-----------------------
@echo off

if NOT exist spells_us.txt goto NOSPELL

start zone . YourExternalIP 7995 YourInternalIP
start zone . YourExternalIP 7996 YourInternalIP
start zone . YourExternalIP 7997 YourInternalIP
start zone . YourExternalIP 7998 YourInternalIP
start zone . YourExternalIP 7999 YourInternalIP
exit
cls

:NOSPELL
echo You did not copy the spells_en.txt from your everquest directory to this one.  Please do so or zones will crash on startup.
PAUSE

REM:---------------END------------------------

4. Copy spells_en.txt and spells_us.txt from your EverQuest directory to C:\EQEmu

5. Close Everything, Browse to C:\EQEmu and run World.exe, after it is done, run boot5zones.bat and you are ready to go.

nilar 03-08-2004 02:22 PM

The 0.5.5 binaries are down atm because Rex's website banwith was exceeded. I will get them up again soon.

nilar 03-08-2004 04:19 PM

Here is the site to download the 0.5.5 DR1 binaries from

http://www.eqemulator.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=13409

update it on the guide :D

RexChaos 03-09-2004 02:13 AM

I've updated the link at my site to point to your main page Nilar.

Maulgak 03-09-2004 03:26 PM

This is great.. gonna try it out tomorrow.
look out for an all gm server><

p.s i'll be watching :!: :?: :!: :?:

themushygod 03-15-2004 04:57 PM

hmm i dont have debugworld.exe or zonedebug.exe just going to skip that step see if it works any reson it shouldnt?

nilar 03-15-2004 05:09 PM

Yes rofl, thats a very important step.

You need World.exe and Zone.exe

If you have Worlddebug.exe and zonedebug.exe rename them world and zone.

themushygod 03-15-2004 05:28 PM

no i already have world and zone.exe but it says delete them and rename zonedebug and worlddebug

i do not have zonedebug or world debug

im trying to run world.exe and getting this error

Code:


Runtime errors:

MySQL Error #1405 or #2001 means your mysql server rejected the username and password you presented it. For more information on this error, visit http://www.eqemu.net/eqemuerror.php?id
=1

also there a whole lot of text before it if you wont

Code:


Got signal 0
[Status] CURRENT_WORLD_VERSION:EQEMu 0.5.5-DR1
[Status] Loading variables..
Database Error: Lost connection, attempting to recover....
DB Query Error #2006: MySQL server has gone away
Error in LoadVariables query 'SELECT varname, value, unix_timestamp() FROM varia
bles where unix_timestamp(ts) >= 0' #2006: MySQL server has gone away
[Status] Loading zones..
Database Error: Lost connection, attempting to recover....
DB Query Error #2006: MySQL server has gone away
Error in LoadZoneNames query 'SELECT MAX(zoneidnumber) FROM zone' #2006: MySQL s
erver has gone away
[Status] Loading items..
[Status] EMuShareMem loaded
Database Error: Lost connection, attempting to recover....
DB Query Error #2006: MySQL server has gone away
Error in GetItemsCount query 'SELECT MAX(id),count(*) FROM items' #2006: MySQL s
erver has gone away
Error: Database::LoadItems() (sharemem): GetItemsCount() returned -1
[Error] Error: Could not load item data.  But ignoring
[Error] [WorldServer] block not found in ./LoginServer.ini
[Status] Loading guild ranks..
Database Error: Lost connection, attempting to recover....
DB Query Error #2006: MySQL server has gone away
Error in LoadGuilds query 'SELECT id, eqid, name, leader, minstatus, rank0title,
 rank1, rank1title, rank2, rank2title, rank3, rank3title, rank4, rank4title, ran
k5, rank5title from guilds' #2006: MySQL server has gone away
[Status] Loading ./addon.ini..
[Status] Loading EQ time of day..
Database Error: Lost connection, attempting to recover....
DB Query Error #2006: MySQL server has gone away
[Status] Deleted -1 stale player corpses from database
Database Error: Lost connection, attempting to recover....
DB Query Error #2006: MySQL server has gone away
[Status] Deleted -1 stale player backups from database
Breaking bards...done
TCP listening on: 211.29.136.12:9000
World server listening on: 211.29.136.12:9000
===============================

any suggestions

im sure my un and password are the same i used with winmysqladmin


peace

nilar 03-15-2004 05:30 PM

Redo the grant all privileges command in mysql. I get this error when I dont enter that command correctly.

nilar 03-15-2004 05:40 PM

Also Worlddebug = World and Zonebug = Zone

The guide is just saying to rename them if the are named with debug after them.

themushygod 03-15-2004 05:41 PM

so the whole debug renaming thing doesnt matter as mine are already renamed cool

ill try re granting privliges

themushygod 03-15-2004 07:30 PM

ok ive re granted the privliges sevrel times now

still getting the same errors

im also trying to set up a server with minilogon but i get the same error

hamg 03-15-2004 07:47 PM

i got the [loginserver] block not found in "./loginserver.ini"
after i run the world.exe

Jezebell 03-15-2004 08:27 PM

thats because you have a space at the end of one of your lines in the LoginServer.ini file

themushygod 03-15-2004 09:03 PM

wow im impressed thanks for the fiX

IM getting an error bout incorrect servername now though but i think i might know what to do :)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.