EQEmulator Forums

EQEmulator Forums (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/index.php)
-   Support::Windows Servers (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=587)
-   -   Lowering the Experince (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=18771)

Bluerinse 06-10-2005 07:27 AM

Lowering the Experince
 
Is it possible to lower the experince rate? You know, to where mobs give less experince then they usally do in a EMIU server.

Ueguvil 06-10-2005 10:44 AM

I am also trying to figure out how to modify the xp rate. Last time I messed around with a server, I just went into MySQL-Front under Variables and the Experience Modifier was right there, but this time it's not. Is there another way to change it?

cavedude 06-10-2005 11:02 AM

Run this mysql query:

Code:

update variables set value = X where varname = 'EXPMod';
X is the xp value you want. I think 1 is default so anywhere from .1 to .9 would lower it.

If you don't have an EXPMod variable this will insert it:

Code:

insert  into `variables` values ('EXPMod', '1', 'Experience multipler. Increase to increase exp rate', '20050610185738');

Ueguvil 06-10-2005 11:06 AM

Thanks a lot, Cave. :)

Bluerinse 06-10-2005 11:24 AM

Thanks alot man. Anyone have a clue what the point is about on, on the live servers?

Ueguvil 06-10-2005 01:14 PM

Tried this out... Put the EXPMod table into variables, with the code you provided, but when I tried to change the value it gave me a syntax error at 'EXPMod'... I tried doing it manually in MySQL-Front but I didn't see a change in the game.

cavedude 06-10-2005 02:03 PM

Syntax error was my fault the is should have been =. I updated the code. As for seeing a change, in 0.6.0 at least I certainly see a difference but generally not until the mid levels and up. I haven't really played with 0.6.1 enough to say whether the modifier works or not.

Ueguvil 06-10-2005 02:04 PM

I'm running 6.1, but cool, I'll take your word for it. Thanks again for the code.

Calabeth 06-10-2005 11:13 PM

Ok might be rather odd question. But with a definite reduced player base and chance of groupings almost Nil. Why lower the xp to be like live when in actuality you are making it tons harder for ppl on an EMU server to lvl vs Live?

Bluerinse 06-11-2005 07:46 PM

Who me? One my server tis fully custom..And two... My server is going to be a live-like experince. Trying to make it almost like Live, but not as hard... Our server will be close to live, so people can play like on live, but without the monthly fee.

Ut0pia 03-25-2008 07:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cavedude (Post 109788)
Run this mysql query:

Code:

update variables set value = X where varname = 'EXPMod';
X is the xp value you want. I think 1 is default so anywhere from .1 to .9 would lower it.

If you don't have an EXPMod variable this will insert it:

Code:

insert  into `variables` values ('EXPMod', '1', 'Experience multipler. Increase to increase exp rate', '20050610185738');

Due to this post being back in 2005. I was wondering if it was still a valid row to put into the variables table. Also, based on the most up to date peq database, if the EXPMod is set to 1, does that change what it was by default? I ask this because the rate of exp already seems fast on the fresh install of the peq database.

cavedude 03-25-2008 07:33 AM

The variable is no longer used. Use the rule Character:ExpMultiplier instead.

Sabyre 03-25-2008 08:52 AM

Cavedude, is it bugged or something? I have been using it sucessfully for a bit now.

trevius 03-25-2008 09:02 AM

LOL, I have been using the variable since my server came up. But I have to keep lowering it cause it always seems too fast. I think the multiplier you set it to isn't exactly the same multiplier that is being used. I have mine set to 2.5, but my very low level players still get a level per kill or 2, which definitely wouldn't be happening if it was actually multiplying live exp rate by 2.5X. Spoke with another server admin and he has his set to like .4, which is closer to live-like, but still faster.

I am going to try turning the rules on for exp instead and see how that works. If I do, do I need to set my variable for the multiplier to 0, or is it completely ignored once the rule is turned on?

Sabyre 03-25-2008 09:14 AM

I currently have the variable set to 2.0 and it seems to be a good setting for us. I have messed with a bit from no variable at all all the way up to 9. There was a noticeable difference between the values.

I think I read somewhere recently that the bug comes into play when regular, group, and aa experience is being rewarded at the same time.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.