EQEmulator Forums

EQEmulator Forums (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/index.php)
-   Archive::Development (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=621)
-   -   Start Locs and Races in source? (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=3409)

Wynsom 10-12-2002 05:18 PM

Start Locs and Races in source?
 
I have been searching the source for the starting locs and races but i havent found it. I want to move all the start locs to the same zone. Any tips?

Thanks

Wiz 10-12-2002 11:33 PM

Client coded. Only way to do this would be to insert your own one-time code in the login packets.

Wynsom 10-13-2002 05:30 AM

wierd, i thought it was hard coded because at one point, all characters started in qeynos, and the fact some of the locs now are still off, like in west freeport for instance.

devn00b 10-13-2002 07:50 AM

last i checked starting zones where configued via database..client will say when the char is made you are in whatever zone but when you log you will be in whatever zone...

Malv used to have somthing like this for a bit if i recall.

DeletedUser 10-13-2002 09:54 AM

starting_points in DB :P

Wiz 10-13-2002 10:47 PM

Blah. :p

I was told they were client hardcoded in chat back when I asked this. /grumble

kunta 10-21-2002 03:54 AM

I looked through all the db tables, and couldnt find where the starting_points was. Is it supposed to be its own table? Sorry if I just missed it, but could someone tell me where it is?

Xarslik 10-22-2002 02:46 AM

It IS hard coded, actually.

I just checked the code in database.cpp, under Database::CreateCharacter, this line:

"sprintf(end, "UPDATE character_ SET zonename=\'%s\', x = %f, y = %f, z = %f, profile=", GetZoneName(pp->current_zone), pp->x, pp->y, pp->z);"

GetZoneName(pp->current_zone) is getting the zone selected during creation (which is contained in the PlayerProfile struct), and appending it to the SQL Query. Which in turn sets the starting zone to that result. I commented out the line and replaced it with "arena", and sure enough - started in the arena.

Possibly later I'll write a small method to retrieve it from a table in the database instead.

DeletedUser 10-22-2002 02:48 AM

The client takes care of the starting locations... Server can change them if needed.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.