EQEmulator Forums

EQEmulator Forums (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/index.php)
-   Quests::Q&A (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=599)
-   -   Server firsts? (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=35200)

bodi 04-15-2012 08:53 PM

Server firsts?
 
Nagafen's Lair reopens this weekend. I am looking for a creative way to document server firsts. Is there a way I can have a mob announce to the server the first time he's killed? What about code that logs it in a text file that I can post on the website and keep track of? Any ideas are appreciated.

chrsschb 04-15-2012 09:00 PM

Something like this:

Code:

sub EVENT_DEATH
        {
        if($qglobals{firstkill} == 0)
                {
                quest::shout("blah blah blah");
                }
        }

No idea about the second part.

bodi 04-15-2012 09:49 PM

cool, is if($qglobals{firstkill} == 0) valid? Thats awesome! Thanks!

lerxst2112 04-15-2012 09:54 PM

One way to find out is to test it. :) I'd advise a more unique name for the variable though, unless there will only ever be one server first on your server.

chrsschb 04-15-2012 10:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lerxst2112 (Post 208915)
One way to find out is to test it. :) I'd advise a more unique name for the variable though, unless there will only ever be one server first on your server.

Obviously lol.

KingMort 04-17-2012 11:07 AM

You know I would use like shout2 , if you want everyone to find out about the server first and not just have it in that one zone.. Shout2 will actually do the shout all across the server.

Maze_EQ 08-21-2012 11:37 AM

Err, Remove this post please

FievelMousey 08-21-2012 01:55 PM

Where do you put the server first at so it works?

chrsschb 08-21-2012 11:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FievelMousey (Post 211936)
Where do you put the server first at so it works?

On that particular NPC if it's a First Kill.

If you're tracking item discoveries it's a bit more difficult.

FievelMousey 08-22-2012 12:19 AM

Oh so i have add to each NPC that be a lot work and Akk used have one showed each item server first is main thing i like have

Burningsoul 08-22-2012 12:20 AM

Aye, Akka's Funhouse had MAD server firsts. Good times.

chrsschb 08-22-2012 08:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FievelMousey (Post 211956)
Oh so i have add to each NPC that be a lot work and Akk used have one showed each item server first is main thing i like have

It's not THAT much extra work, once you have the code written you just copy and paste into each boss and change the variable name. You'd only put it on bosses of significant worth, not bosses like Ambassador D`Vinn. :grin:

FievelMousey 08-22-2012 08:58 AM

How do i make it post the message in Yellow like Akk had on his Funhouse server


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.