EQEmulator Forums

EQEmulator Forums (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/index.php)
-   Quests::Q&A (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=599)
-   -   LUA vs PERL (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=37056)

provocating 07-12-2013 02:52 PM

LUA vs PERL
 
Since LUA is now functional, I have a few questions. Are all of the original functions for PERL active in LUA now? If I am creating a custom quest would there be a compelling reason to use LUA vs PERL? Is LUA faster, or is it just aesthetical? I know people complain about PERL readability.

Vexyl 07-12-2013 03:11 PM

It's Lua and Perl; all caps aren't necessary.

http://www.lua.org/about.html under "What's in a name?"
and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Perl under "Name".

It might be petty to point this out, but it's simply annoying to see.

As to the title of the thread, I prefer Perl for some tasks and Lua others.
In my opinion, Perl is better for general administrative tasks and Lua for embedded scripting languages.

provocating 07-12-2013 03:13 PM

Sorry for the caps. I have seen people upper case them, and sometimes lower case.

KLS 07-13-2013 12:45 AM

Lua is faster and has some advantages for more advanced users: such as direct manipulation of spawns and inventories (and soon packets) that aren't easy to do with Perl and encounter quest types which aren't supported at all in Perl. Also as of this moment you can only interact with the npc special ability system just added using legacy API functions on Perl; the new ones are only exported to Lua.

For most quests you can basically use whatever you would like though as they'll both do the job.

rencro 08-04-2013 02:28 AM

For me the functions being different from perl slowed me down a bit, for example this quest in perl:

Code:

sub EVENT_WAYPOINT_ARRIVE {
        if ($wp==1) {
                quest::say("Im at the waypoint on perl.");
                quest::creategroundobject(30619, 809.6, -795.86, -4.23, 0, 30000);
                }
}

When converted to lua I had to use the underscores, which I didnt figure out until looking in the source, so a slight learning curve for me..
Correct Lua Version:
Code:

function event_waypoint_arrive(e)
        if(e.wp == 1) then
                e.self:Say("Im at the waypoint on lua.");
                eq.create_ground_object(30619, 809.6, -795.86, -4.23, 0, 30000);
        end
end


sorvani 08-04-2013 11:46 AM

Since the wikia is hosed, we have all the new Lua stuff on the built in github wiki.

https://github.com/EQEmu/Server/wiki/Lua-API

wolfwalkereci 08-04-2013 06:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sorvani (Post 223106)
Since the wikia is hosed, we have all the new Lua stuff on the built in github wiki.

https://github.com/EQEmu/Server/wiki/Lua-API

Explain that statement please.

NatedogEZ 08-04-2013 07:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sorvani (Post 223106)
Since the wikia is hosed, we have all the new Lua stuff on the built in github wiki.

https://github.com/EQEmu/Server/wiki/Lua-API



Can the SpecialAbility stuff be used in perl? (guessing no)
Don't have time to test it right now.


Code:

Integer GetSpecialAbility(Integer ability);
Integer GetSpecialAbilityParam(Integer ability, Integer param);
Void SetSpecialAbility(Integer ability, Integer level);
Void SetSpecialAbilityParam(Integer ability, Integer param, Integer value);
Void ClearSpecialAbilities();
Void ProcessSpecialAbilities(String str);


Robregen 08-04-2013 07:28 PM

as noted in changelog:

Quote:

The old API functions that worked with letters still exist for backwards compatibility reasons but wont be updated further.

sorvani 08-04-2013 07:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wolfwalkereci (Post 223113)
Explain that statement please.

go try and log in to the wikia.

KLS 08-04-2013 08:07 PM

I didn't add the functions for the new special attack stuff to Perl so it's limited to the old API atm. Someone could if they want I just didn't take the time to do it.

wolfwalkereci 08-04-2013 08:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sorvani (Post 223118)
go try and log in to the wikia.

I'm logged into the wiki at this link. http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=HomePage

I've even been making small changes here and there.
If you can not log in for some reason then yes I agree there is a serious issue there but I would gladly take the time to input everything to the wiki.

Thanks for responding sorvani, is it safe to assume its borked for new accounts?

sorvani 08-04-2013 11:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wolfwalkereci (Post 223122)
I'm logged into the wiki at this link. http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=HomePage

I've even been making small changes here and there.
If you can not log in for some reason then yes I agree there is a serious issue there but I would gladly take the time to input everything to the wiki.

Thanks for responding sorvani, is it safe to assume its borked for new accounts?

New accounts are borked yes. Additionally, when I attempt to log in, I a presented with a blank white screen. Not a login dialog. This is the result of clicking on your link, then on login.
http://i.imgur.com/qAp92VL.png

wolfwalkereci 08-05-2013 02:19 AM

I noticed that as well. Is this not something that can be addressed by the admin staff?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.