Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-25-2020, 09:00 AM
strugglegenerator's Avatar
strugglegenerator
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 227
Exclamation Hide my servers public static IP address

I want to open my server up to the public, but I'd like to hide my public static IP address.

If I run it through the public login server (where you can see all the servers listed, including servers like P99) does that hide my public IP?

If I run my private login server through a service like DynDNS and link my public static IP to something like thenSnakeServer.is-leet.com, does that hide my public static IP?

Finally, do I have to run my private or public server through a VPN in order to achieve this? If so, what service do you guys recommend?

Looking for some advice. I have some general knowledge but not sure what the best approach is here.
__________________
EQFC - Everquest Fighting Championship
EQFC - (Velious, PvP Tournaments) server: https://discord.gg/X9A4vG4WWc
Twitch: https://www.twitch.tv/everquestfc
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/everquestfc/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCnR..._as=subscriber
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-25-2020, 10:28 AM
Thalix's Avatar
Thalix
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 91
Default

Whatever you do, in the end the client has to connect to your server and then your IP is visible. Under Windows, for example, in a command prompt with the command "netstat". There is no way to prevent this, unless you have a server somewhere that acts as a transparent proxy to pass on your connections. This service could certainly be bought somewhere, but it is expensive (1000$ and more per year) and significantly degrades the connection to your server (i.e. laaaaaag). And even then, someone with a bit of an idea would be able to find your IP.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-25-2020, 09:13 PM
kokey98
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: terra firma
Posts: 132
Default

Run it through a vpn? that'd hide your normal ip address, if static, and useful for other stuff.. yarrgh, matey!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-30-2020, 06:19 PM
strugglegenerator's Avatar
strugglegenerator
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 227
Default

If I ran it through a VPN, what IP would I give to my clients in order to connect, since the IP is hidden?
__________________
EQFC - Everquest Fighting Championship
EQFC - (Velious, PvP Tournaments) server: https://discord.gg/X9A4vG4WWc
Twitch: https://www.twitch.tv/everquestfc
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/everquestfc/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCnR..._as=subscriber
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-30-2020, 10:04 PM
FievelMousey
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 139
Default

IDK why you want hide a IP any SITE you visit sees it
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-11-2020, 04:15 PM
Stim0x
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: s
Posts: 5
Default

Everything will have to resolve to a public IP if you want clients to connect. Setting up a site to site VPN to tunnel your traffic through a third party provider isn't going to be straight forward (I'd be surprised if many VPN providers offered it.)

Why do you want to hide it exactly?

If you're that worried about your own setup, it might be worth looking at renting some hosted/cloud servers to run your EQ server on.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-15-2020, 12:11 PM
Nightrider84's Avatar
Nightrider84
Discordant
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 394
Default

If you use No-IP, you can make a free account there for a dynamic dns that you would simply give your people that want to connect to your server. And that doesn't tell them your ip. So under your eqemu_config file, in this section <address>Your current ip you give them</address>. You would put whatever address you create <address>mydns.private.com</address>. Just make sure you download the app from their website and put it on the computer running the server. It just keeps your DNS updated with your current IP.
__________________
__________________
Supernova - GM/Developer
"Secrets of Faydwer"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-15-2020, 12:56 PM
Thalix's Avatar
Thalix
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 91
Default

Sorry, but that's not protection. Just open a dos box or bash and type "nslookup mydns.private.com" and you will see the IP.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-15-2020, 02:06 PM
demonstar55
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,158
Default

Buy a dedicated server hosted somewhere else if you're concerned about your IP being shown.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:03 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3