Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Support > Archive::Linux Servers

Archive::Linux Servers Archive area for Linux Servers's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2004, 08:44 AM
Raddiux
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 97
Default EQemu for OS X?

Would it be possible to compile EQemu for OSX and run it on that? I'm not a programmer, but I looked through some of the eqemu code, and I see a lot of calls to windows stuff (Winsock for example) so i'm not even sure how you guys are getting this to run in linux. Is there seperate linux source i'm not seeing? Would it be hard to modify to run on OSX?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2004, 08:48 AM
Tertiary
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 192
Default Re: EQemu for OS X?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raddiux
Is there seperate linux source i'm not seeing?
No, the Win32/Linux specific code is bracketed by #ifdef WIN32 ... #else ... #endif so the right code is compiled depending on which platform you compile it on.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2004, 09:12 AM
Cisyouc
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Heaven.
Posts: 1,260
Default Re: EQemu for OS X?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raddiux
Would it be possible to compile EQemu for OSX and run it on that? I'm not a programmer, but I looked through some of the eqemu code, and I see a lot of calls to windows stuff (Winsock for example) so i'm not even sure how you guys are getting this to run in linux. Is there seperate linux source i'm not seeing? Would it be hard to modify to run on OSX?
EQ on Mac has different Client->Server communication so it would probably have to be a completly different emulator. Or did you mean just the server for win comps?
__________________
namespace retval { template <class T> class ReturnValueGen { private: T x; public: ReturnValueGen() { x = 0; }; T& Generator() { return x; }; }; } int main() { retval::ReturnValueGen<int> retvalue; return retvalue.Generator(); }
C++ is wonderful.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2004, 09:32 AM
Raddiux
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 97
Default Re: EQemu for OS X?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cisyouc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raddiux
Would it be possible to compile EQemu for OSX and run it on that? I'm not a programmer, but I looked through some of the eqemu code, and I see a lot of calls to windows stuff (Winsock for example) so i'm not even sure how you guys are getting this to run in linux. Is there seperate linux source i'm not seeing? Would it be hard to modify to run on OSX?
EQ on Mac has different Client->Server communication so it would probably have to be a completly different emulator. Or did you mean just the server for win comps?
Just the server. I know the client would not work (although I found a thread on another forum that mentions they got EQ running in linux without Wine, and will be working on getting it to work on OSX next).

Since the server runs on linux, i assumed it would be possible to compile it for OSX with little difficulty. Anyone have any input?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-27-2004, 09:49 AM
fnemo's Avatar
fnemo
Discordant
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 354
Default Re: EQemu for OS X?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raddiux
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cisyouc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raddiux
Would it be possible to compile EQemu for OSX and run it on that? I'm not a programmer, but I looked through some of the eqemu code, and I see a lot of calls to windows stuff (Winsock for example) so i'm not even sure how you guys are getting this to run in linux. Is there seperate linux source i'm not seeing? Would it be hard to modify to run on OSX?
EQ on Mac has different Client->Server communication so it would probably have to be a completly different emulator. Or did you mean just the server for win comps?
Just the server. I know the client would not work (although I found a thread on another forum that mentions they got EQ running in linux without Wine, and will be working on getting it to work on OSX next).

Since the server runs on linux, i assumed it would be possible to compile it for OSX with little difficulty. Anyone have any input?
Mac OSX is based over FreeBSD. You should do a search upon this .
__________________
Nemo
Administrator and coder for the World Alkora Server
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-02-2004, 09:06 AM
krich
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Great Northwest
Posts: 150
Default

You'll also have Endian issues similar to those people encountered when trying it on the Sparc platform.

Regards,

krich
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:49 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3