Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2021, 01:56 PM
Quientus
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 32
Default Question for the Advanced coders ...

Hello,

So I was wondering ...;

- Is there any way to implement a "code" of some sorts, that limits the amount of characters by level on an account on your server ?

Ex.

Max level on server is 70

An account is allowed to have
- 1 level 70 character
- 2 level 65 characters
- 4 level 60 characters
- 2 level 50 characters
- doesn't matter below level 50

Or would that require some serious (hard core) tampering with the base codes of the game (if it is hard-coded), like the issue with containers/bags ?

Thanks for reading (and possibly replying)

/Regards,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-06-2021, 02:33 PM
djeryv
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 234
Default

It would require some serious (hard core) tampering.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-13-2021, 08:58 AM
jsr
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: melbourne
Posts: 176
Default

You could do this with a script and some data buckets - you can set max level for each player and write some code to manage who gets to be the highest based on whatever rules you're thinking of.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-13-2021, 01:13 PM
djeryv
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsr View Post
You could do this with a script and some data buckets - you can set max level for each player and write some code to manage who gets to be the highest based on whatever rules you're thinking of.
Translation: It would require some serious (hard core) tampering.

If you notice the OP has little to no experience developing/coding/scripting for EQEmu and that is why they worded their statement with:

a "code" of some sorts

This is a simple way to ask if someone will do it for them, or if it is a super easy tweak, to tell them how to do it.

They would have to continuing participating in this thread if they want to start to dive in and do some modifications on their own.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-14-2021, 03:15 PM
Quientus
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djeryv View Post
Translation: It would require some serious (hard core) tampering.

If you notice the OP has little to no experience developing/coding/scripting for EQEmu and that is why they worded their statement with:

a "code" of some sorts

This is a simple way to ask if someone will do it for them, or if it is a super easy tweak, to tell them how to do it.

They would have to continuing participating in this thread if they want to start to dive in and do some modifications on their own.
naw, I'm not necessarily looking for another to do the coding, however, I was wondering if it were similar to the code for bags, because if it is, I am not going to even try ... - There is a reason that the "issue" around bag slots haven't been "fixed" / solved yet ... - which was why I was asking.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-14-2021, 03:30 PM
EQDencelle
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quientus View Post
naw, I'm not necessarily looking for another to do the coding, however, I was wondering if it were similar to the code for bags, because if it is, I am not going to even try ... - There is a reason that the "issue" around bag slots haven't been "fixed" / solved yet ... - which was why I was asking.
the problem actually isn't complex at all tbh go check out https://github.com/EQEmu/Server/blob...experience.lua, if you think hard enough, you actually could come up with the solution pretty quickly

to answer your question on this being related or similar to bag slots. absolutely not. that is a beast of an issue that involves the very complex inventory system.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-14-2021, 03:42 PM
Quientus
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EQDencelle View Post
the problem actually isn't complex at all tbh go check out https://github.com/EQEmu/Server/blob...experience.lua, if you think hard enough, you actually could come up with the solution pretty quickly

to answer your question on this being related or similar to bag slots. absolutely not. that is a beast of an issue that involves the very complex inventory system.
Thanks ! - It looks like something I was looking for
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-14-2021, 11:51 PM
jsr
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: melbourne
Posts: 176
Default

Lots of assumptions there . I was replying to the OP.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-15-2021, 04:08 PM
djeryv
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 234
Default

Time will tell.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:11 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3