Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Quests > Quests::Q&A

Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2004, 04:38 PM
WildcardX
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 589
Default Translocate Player Quest

Hello! I am installing my soulbinder quest as I type this, but I was wondering about the quest for the translocators to TL a player to other places besides their own bind point. Take Translocator Eniela for example... Shes suppose to TL a player across the ocean to Freeport to the LOC where her TL counterpart is standing.. Would I have to make a spell then have her cast it? Or does someone else have a better method I can study to improve my quest writing skills?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2004, 07:14 PM
Kroeg's Avatar
Kroeg
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 241
Default

the spells are already in, as they are spells used on eqlive. The issue with translocators is that the spells used to accomplish this are beneficial spells, like bind, which haven't been working. I'm not sure if this is fixed, and if not, when it's slated to be.. but it is known that this is only possible by using the movepc(zonid, x, y, z) function.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2004, 07:42 PM
WildcardX
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 589
Default

bind doesnt work? Actually it does.... quest::selfcast(xxxx); function is allowing the soulbinders to bind players on my server so I can just lookup the spells for TL's and do the same then I would think...

Thanks for the tip about the TL spells in my DB .. I'm gonna go check those out right now
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2004, 04:04 AM
Scorpx725
Discordant
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wish I knew.
Posts: 251
Default

Ive always used the quest::movepc command, but if your binder works then translocators should work too, tell us what you find.
__________________
* KingMort has left #eqemu
<Richardo> KingDrama has left #EQEMU
<Richardo> the rule my pants!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-11-2004, 05:44 AM
WildcardX
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 589
Default

Yeah I just tested it... I am able to have my translocator do a quest::selfcast(2285); and that sends me to OOT zone.. works great!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2004, 01:31 PM
Kroeg's Avatar
Kroeg
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 241
Default

yep, that works too

My main thing is sticking to eqlive as much as possible, and on eqlive it uses a spell casted on you. This is why I myself haven't added in soulbinders yet.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-12-2004, 03:17 PM
Foxseven
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 19
Default

Here is what I use to move my char around from PoTimeA to PoTimeB.


#Zone - Plane of Time A
#Type - Teleport
#Class - ALL
#mob - Teleporter of Time

sub EVENT_SAY
{
if($text=~/Hail/i)
{
quest::say("Greetings! Ready to move on to Plane of Time B?");
}
if($text=~/yes/i &amp;&amp; $ulevel>=65)
{
quest::say("Okay, off you go then.");
quest::movegrp(223,-45,1636,500);
}
}

I used portals/doors also. But this is something I use that I prefer.

#Zone - Plane of Time B
#Type - Teleport
#Class - ALL
#mob - Teleporter of Time

sub EVENT_SAY
{
if($text=~/Hail/i)
{quest::say("Greetings! Would you like to go to Tier 1, Tier 2, or Quarm?");}
if($text=~/tier 1/i &amp;&amp; $ulevel>=65)
{
quest::say("Okay, off you go then.");
quest::movegrp(223,-0,0,400);
}
if($text=~/tier 2/i &amp;&amp; $ulevel>=65)
{
quest::say("Okay, off you go then.");
quest::movegrp(223,-0,0,50);
}
if($text=~/quarm/i &amp;&amp; $ulevel>=65)
{
quest::say("Okay, off you go then.");
quest::movegrp(223,247,-1117,2);
}
}
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-14-2004, 09:06 PM
Xentar
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 18
Default

Got a problem here with the TL function not sending me where I want to be sent. For example:

#Narrik
#zone OOT
#used to port chars

sub EVENT_SAY
{
if ($text=~ /Hail/i)
{quest::say("Hello there, $name. Would you like to go

to [Butcher] Block?");}
if ($text=~ /butcher/i){quest::say("Well, off you go to

Butcher Block");
quest::movepc(68,1351.96,3234.84,11.03);}
}


This does not send me to butcher block to those coordinates, instead sends me to 3234.75,1351.88,11.75, which is stuck underworld some place. I have swapped the x,y coordinates but it still does the same thing. I have done both #reloadquest and restarted the server but did not fix it.

In zone.exe file it says:
[Status] Zoning 'Charname' to: Butcher (6 x=1351.959961, y=3234.840088, z=11.030000

So I'm guessing it's sending me to the right place, but still I don't end up anywhere close to that. It's always at the stated loc above.

Just wondering what is going on here. Why are the x,y zone coordinates not being taken?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-15-2004, 11:28 AM
subere
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6
Default

i have noticed some zones will spawn you in the safe coordinates no matter where you send them or what zone they arrive from... on my server ecommons is that way..in the case of those zone i tend to move the safe coords to the most used zone line.

Hasn't been a big enough issue for me to look for the real solution.


Subere
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-15-2004, 03:37 PM
Xentar
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 18
Default

Well this is definitely not sending me to safe zone in Butcher, safe zone in butcher by PEQ default is 2550, -700, 3.

So I don't know what is going on. Messed up.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-15-2004, 07:29 PM
Kroeg's Avatar
Kroeg
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 241
Default

try not using the . dots ... perhaps that's screwing with it.. not sure, but this is the first thing I would try. Use whole integers.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-16-2004, 02:42 AM
scaerick
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Default

I was haing a similar problem and I can verify that movepc does have the x and y coordinates swapped. Here's my OOT translocater perl (that works):

Quote:
sub EVENT_SAY{

if($text=~/Hail/i)
{
quest::say("Greetings $name. Where do you want to go: [freeport] or [butcherblock]?");
}
if ($text=~/freeport/i)
{
quest::say("PULL!!!");
quest::movepc(10,-1031,-16,-45);
quest::say("Booyah.");
}
if ($text=~/butcherblock/i)
{
quest::say("PULL!!!");
quest::movepc(68,3248,1354,18);
quest::say("Booyah.");
}

}
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-17-2004, 06:58 AM
1Boppoom1's Avatar
1Boppoom1
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lake Isabella
Posts: 90
Default

ok a few questions do we have to put the coordinates? or can we just list the zone id?

like
Code:
quest::movepc(68);
or does it have to be

Code:
quest::movepc(68,3248,1354,18);
?
also is there a way to get them to boot up the zone before sending as in #zonestartup zoneshortname id ?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-17-2004, 09:41 AM
Cisyouc
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Heaven.
Posts: 1,260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Boppoom1
ok a few questions do we have to put the coordinates? or can we just list the zone id?

like
Code:
quest::movepc(68);
or does it have to be

Code:
quest::movepc(68,3248,1354,18);
?
also is there a way to get them to boot up the zone before sending as in #zonestartup zoneshortname id ?
for the movepc thing...yeah you have to specify the loc
__________________
namespace retval { template <class T> class ReturnValueGen { private: T x; public: ReturnValueGen() { x = 0; }; T& Generator() { return x; }; }; } int main() { retval::ReturnValueGen<int> retvalue; return retvalue.Generator(); }
C++ is wonderful.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-17-2004, 11:17 AM
Scorpx725
Discordant
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wish I knew.
Posts: 251
Default

And for the zone bootup thing, I think you can.. at the time. It might be possible, but its not in right now.
__________________
* KingMort has left #eqemu
<Richardo> KingDrama has left #EQEMU
<Richardo> the rule my pants!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:26 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3