Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2022, 11:58 AM
lymontyme
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 20
Default How do I set up a Magelo?

I'm on a Windows server and need help getting started setting up a magelo, using the files in https://github.com/maudigan/charbrowser. I am an absolute beginner, so comments like "Set it up in Apache Spark" would be way over my head. I am used to seeing an .exe or .html file and voila it is done.

The instructions in the readme are basically to copy the files to a directory and modify the config. I think I can handle that part, but how do I even let my server "know" that the magelo files are even there? I have no idea how to get from the file copying/modifying part, to having full character search and view capability in a web browser. Can someone provide some guidance? I do have a standalone installation of PHP that I use to create evil Twitter bots, as well as a bare minimum knowledge of HTML. No idea if either of those is relevant. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2022, 05:57 PM
Scorpius
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 20
Default

I have never set up a magelo site, but looking at the instruction file, its just a matter of setting the config to connect to your sql database

Am guessing it will pull the character information direct from there, the server needs to know nothing about it

But it's probabley best to contact maudigan himself (http://mqemulator.net)
I am sure he will get you up and running
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2022, 07:10 PM
lymontyme
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 20
Default

EDIT: Giving up on this. It does require some kind of Apache thing, as I feared. Tried installing the simplest version out there (XAMPP) but it doesn't like the existing MariaDB install that comes with EQemu, and keeps bugging me about "ports" which has not meant anything to me since the days of Windows 3.1. I will just play on existing EQ servers while they last and use the magelo features there. Or I can export character data from the database and program an Excel macro to come up with a fake magelo sheet for each character. I guess I'm just old school.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2022, 08:52 PM
Huppy's Avatar
Huppy
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Luclin.Net
Posts: 1,244
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lymontyme View Post
It does require some kind of Apache thing,
Apache is a web server app, which is what you would be doing, hosting magelo pages. Hence - php, etc. I know it might seem like an overwhelming brain freeze, but it's just a matter of getting all the resources hooked in and figuring out the configuration. But sitting down with patience to read and learn is your best asset.

XAMPP - Throw it in the garbage. Apache is open-source and you can download it by itself.
__________________
Ever Luclin Server - LUCLIN.NET
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:33 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3