Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Quests > Quests::Q&A

Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2004, 05:49 PM
Foxseven
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 19
Default Perl Questing to check database?

Is it possible to have a quest variable for PERL to check the table name on the db? For example, add a table for flags that contains all zones that need flags. Then the script checks that particular table before it allows you access to a zone?

If the column returns a 1 then you are essentially 'flagged' and allowed access. This wouldnt apply to zones you could simply click in to but for zones that I am making that look like they will need teleporters since the doors dont even exist, ie Sol Ro Tower.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2004, 05:56 PM
WildcardX
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 589
Default

I dont know how to do this with the quest system because I dont know what all the variables are you can get from the quest system to work with on the perl level, but perl does have connectivity to SQL database so as long as you can get a variable from the quest system then yes, you can take that variable and do whatever you want with it and send something back to the SQL server using PERL from inside your quest script.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2004, 01:13 AM
Cisyouc
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Heaven.
Posts: 1,260
Default

See my qFlag code on this:

http://www.eqemulator.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=18143

Right now it only works for 0.6.0-DR1 because I haven't wanted to port it into DR2 yet.
__________________
namespace retval { template <class T> class ReturnValueGen { private: T x; public: ReturnValueGen() { x = 0; }; T& Generator() { return x; }; }; } int main() { retval::ReturnValueGen<int> retvalue; return retvalue.Generator(); }
C++ is wonderful.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-13-2004, 06:55 AM
Foxseven
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 19
Default

Thanks. I read that post a few times but did not know if it was released in to the code yet. Is it actually in the 6.0 build or do I have to complie it?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-13-2004, 07:15 AM
Cisyouc
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Heaven.
Posts: 1,260
Default

No, it was not inserted into the CVS, you would have to add and compile it yourself.
__________________
namespace retval { template <class T> class ReturnValueGen { private: T x; public: ReturnValueGen() { x = 0; }; T& Generator() { return x; }; }; } int main() { retval::ReturnValueGen<int> retvalue; return retvalue.Generator(); }
C++ is wonderful.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3