Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Quests > Quests::Q&A

Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2008, 02:09 PM
acepanther
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In a house
Posts: 15
Default Level problem with MovePC()

So, in my server, I want an NPC to be able to send you to dungeons you have already visited, or other areas of interest. I am going to (Eventually) use a zone flag where you have to visit the zone first, and then you can be sent there at any time. This allows for going to a dungeon, filling up on loot, gating out (with my gate amulet) to sell, get spells, etc, and going quickly back to continue adventuring.

For this, I'm using the quest::movepc command. The problem is, it doesn't always work because it thinks it's trying to send me to a high level plane. For example, to go to the Abysmal sea:

if ($text=~/abysmal/i){ quest::movepc(279,-199,0,140); }
(ZoneID: 279 from the "Zones" table in the PEQ database)

However, instead of going to abysmal sea, I get sent to the safe point in the zone and see the message (my char is level 57):

You are not yet experienced enough to pass through an inter-planar portal.

This happens for several areas, Abysmal is just one of them. For the rest, this command works just fine, even for planes. For example:

if ($text=~/fear/i) { quest::movepc(72,1282.09,-1139.03,1.67); }

And "poof!" I'm in the plane of fear. For Hate though, I get the error.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2008, 02:35 PM
cavedude's Avatar
cavedude
The PEQ Dude
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: -
Posts: 1,988
Default

If you're using a non-GM toon, then you'll need to remove the status of some zones, including Abysmal Sea to enter. They either aren't done yet, or in the case of abysmal we're not yet to a point where the zone can be opened.

A quick query to do this to abysmal is:

Code:
update zone set status = 0 where short_name = 'abysmal';
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2008, 03:47 PM
acepanther
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: In a house
Posts: 15
Default

Gotcha (I believe you meant min_status there). Once I did a search in the forums for "min_status", I got a lot of help. What confused me was that I was testing on a GM flagged char (level 255) and it all worked fine. Now I know better...

Thanks very much for pointing me in the right direction!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:59 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3