Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Quests > Quests::Q&A

Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 03-15-2003, 11:27 AM
TheOne
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 47
Default QST command

or if You are serverOP you can use the #reloadqst command to flush are reload the quest cache.
__________________
Good, bad ... I'm the guy with the gun.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-15-2003, 11:41 AM
killspree
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 776
Default

Oh wow, didn't know that command exsisted. That'll help a lot.
__________________
Xeldan
Lead Content Designer
Shards of Dalaya
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-02-2003, 05:01 AM
Monrezz's Avatar
Monrezz
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: #loc
Posts: 745
Default

Feature Request:

Could:
$sex (Returns sex of the person that triggered event or whatever )
be added to next release? Would just make some of the says a little more personal
__________________

kRPG Profile
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-12-2003, 09:39 AM
rob348
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 10
Default

hi everyone. I am not familiar with mirc scripting. Are there any guides i can follow that will teach me how to do it? You know, something llike a for dummies book?

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-12-2003, 08:53 PM
Lurker_005
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tourist town USA
Posts: 1,671
Default

The first post in this thread is your guide.
__________________
Please read the forum rules and look at reacent messages before posting.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 04-23-2003, 07:59 AM
loudent2
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 95
Default I 'm new to EQEmu

My question is how do you bind a quest to an npc? Does one simply name the .qst file after the NPC?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-23-2003, 08:18 AM
a_Guest03
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,693
Default

It's named after the NPCID (The unique ID associated with the NPC)
__________________
It's never too late to be something great.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-25-2003, 07:32 PM
loudent2
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 95
Default What root directory

is the root directory where you have the emulator installed(world.exe etc) or mysql\bin or what? I'm assuming the emulator right now.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-25-2003, 08:11 PM
killspree
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 776
Default

emufolder\quests\zoneshortname\

OR emufolder\quests\all\

You can put the quest files in either of those folders, of course if they're put in the zonename folder, they only work in that zone, if they're in all they work for any zone that has that npc in it.
__________________
Xeldan
Lead Content Designer
Shards of Dalaya
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-27-2003, 07:37 AM
hogosha
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2
Default Would this work?

Would this work in world.qst ? This is a little quest that I think every server should have for it's staff. For 1, it can help your staff members to get the job done easier. Like if they are starting a quest, they can write the quest in there. Of coarse the code would have to be updated for the staff members unless there is a flag variable that I didn't see. But for admins, if your just starting a char over this would be a good code, especially if you program it further to give you items for that class. It's a good idea. Feel free to modify it if it works.

Code:
EVENT_SAY {
	if($name="Hogosha") {
		if($1="Hail")
			level(100)
			flag_client(300)
		}
		if($1="Rain") {
			snow(0)
			rain(1)
		}
		if($1="Snow") {
			rain(0)
			snow(1)
		}
		if($1="Weather Stop") {
			rain(0)
			snow(0)
		}
		if($1="Start Quest") {
			say("No Quests")
		}
		if($1="Despawn") {
			depop($mobid)
		}
	}
}
__________________
[three-geeks.org]
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04-28-2003, 12:33 PM
Lurker_005
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tourist town USA
Posts: 1,671
Default

world.qst? have I been sleeping and missed that or is that something you were suggesting wes add?

Actually it sounds interesting, as long as it will not be a performance problem. A thought along those lines, since it is global make it a command to access the global quest file. This might be a way to give some limited scripting capabilities to server operators.
__________________
Please read the forum rules and look at reacent messages before posting.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-28-2003, 12:44 PM
hogosha
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2
Default

ive seen some people talk about world.qst, wether it really exists or not I have no idea, but I have heard of it. Test it out.
__________________
[three-geeks.org]
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04-30-2003, 11:30 AM
just_add_water
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: //say $network
Posts: 138
Default

I'm pretty sure it goes in /quests/default.qst


Heres a debug quest


Code:
EVENT_SAY {
if( $1 =~ "debug" && $status >= "100" ) { say(" Hello $name ( USERID $userid ) with stats $status  . You are $ulevel ,class $class ,race $race . You are in guild ID $uguildid , rank $ugildrank . We are in $zoneln ( $zonesn ) . ") 
}
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-09-2003, 09:41 AM
fnemo's Avatar
fnemo
Discordant
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 354
Default

How are coded the race to check the race of the player ? jsut as the define in the source code ?
__________________
Nemo
Administrator and coder for the World Alkora Server
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-20-2003, 04:47 PM
Solx
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 35
Default Are these new Quests working in 4.4-DR1?

Are these new Quests working in 4.4-DR1?
I tried to create my own quest, and then I downloaded a bunch of quests from a thread here. And in neither case did they do anything. I even shut everything down and restarted world.exe and the zones. My equemu directory is: D:\EQEmu\EQEMu-0.4.3-Win32\quests\rivervale (Yes it is really 0.4.4-DR1). I placed the quests in D:\EQEmu\EQEMu-0.4.3-Win32\quests. Here is one quest I was testing the file is at: D:\EQEmu\EQEMu-0.4.3-Win32\quests\rivervale\11.qst, and the contents of the file are:
Code:
/*  Zone:rivervale  ID:11 -- Ace_Slighthand */
EVENT_SAY {
if($1- =~ "Hail"){
SAY("Hey. hey. hey!  Welcome to the Fool's Gold.  Don't bet more than you can afford to lose. pal!  You don't want to end up like ol' [Kevlin].")
}
}

/*END of FILE*/
I also verified npc 11 is Ace Slighthand in the npc_types database. I tried using the built in hail command (just the letter h when the npc is targeted), and I tried typing in Hail and hail, but no response at all.

I could show the text in the shell of world.exe and the zone server that loaded rivervale, but neither says anything about quests.

Could there be a different version of 4.4-DR1 that I should download that has the quests enabled?

Thanks for any help you can supply.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3