PDA

View Full Version : HOWTO : Fix if world.exe rejects your MySQL User/pword


molimo140
03-28-2004, 05:29 AM
If you run world.exe and you get something that says :

Runtime errors:

MySQL Error #1405 or #2001 means your mysql server rejected the username and password you presented it. For more information on this error, visit http://www.eqemu.net/eqemuerror.php?id =1

Heres how i have fixed it:

note : all the mysql code that you will be typing i have italicized to better distinguish it from the rest. dont enter the code italicized in mysql :D

First, shut off and close MySQL

Go into your harddrive:

C:\Windows\

there should be a file named my.ini

delete this file.

Re-run WinMySQLAdmin.exe
you should get to the screen that you got when you first ran it for the very first time - the screen where you choose a user/pass.

open your db.ini from c:\eqemu

use the user/pass from that file as the user/pass that you choose at this starting screen in the WinMySQLAdmin.exe

Then open mysql.exe

type :

grant all privileges on *.* to test@localhost identified by 'test' with grant option;

obviously replacing the test@localhost and 'test' with your mysql username / password that you chose.

Assuming all goes well you should get:

Query OK, 1 Rows effected (0.0 sec)

the 0.0 sec part...im not sure if it looks exactly like that (im going off memory here)

Then rerun world.exe...

if you STILL GET this problem:

go into your c:\mysql\data

delete the entire folder that your database is...example, mine is called eq, so i'd delete c:\mysql\data\eq\

shut down and close winmysqladmin.exe

delete the my.ini file from c:\windows\

re-run winmysqladmin.exe - you'll get the first screen again

use the username/pword that you have in your db.ini as the username/pword you choose here

run mysql.exe

redo the grant all privileges code that was already explained in this thread...

then remake your db:

create database eq;

(obviously call it whatever you want)

use eq;

(again, change eq to whatever you want...or leave it)


now at this point - resource from whatever DB you are using, im using MW055_Alpha_02 so id type

source MW055_Alpha_02.sql;

Buncha stuff flys by......

after its done...

re-run world.exe and this SHOULD Have fixed your problem.

If BOTH DONT WORK:

uninstall mysql, delete c:\eqemu

restart from scratch, do everything over again.

Hope that helps. [/u]

nilar
03-28-2004, 06:02 AM
Good stuff. Most of the time this error is simply a mistyped "Grant all privileges....." command.

Also

so i'd delete c:\mysql\bin\eq\

Shouldnt that be C:\mysql\data\eq :D

molimo140
03-28-2004, 07:59 AM
Hehe yeah thanks, i'll edit that....

Sometimes when you retype the grant all privileges thing it gives you this weird error...thiis is just a way to fix it.